lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Can't host a game
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-25-2002, 04:23 PM   #1
C4 Radical
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 11
Can't host a game

My friend tryed to set up a private game so we could just duel over the internet on our own but apparently his game is on LAN and I can't see it online. I tried hosting one and the same thing happened. There isn't an option to change between LAN and internet games and there's nothing helpful in the manual.

HELP please!


"I have been and always shall be; your friend"

-Spock
C4 Radical is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2002, 05:13 PM   #2
Darth Seph
 
Darth Seph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In Darkness
Posts: 333
There is at the top of the MP screen at "Join Server" it says find , just click on it and it changes from Internet to Local or Favourite Im sure u'll see it then OR Run a search for his name , or his server name.


I'll Kill you and your Dreams tonight ,
embrace the Empire of the Vampire
Darth Seph is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2002, 05:20 PM   #3
Usurper
 
Usurper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 131
Go to Play -> Create Server
There are some options to choose from towards the right/middle/bottom.

Dedicated server should be set to NO,....you have the choice between NO, Internet, Lan

Tell your friend your IP address and he/she will have to enter it into thier favorites.

Load up the game and you should be fine.

I know this works because I host games for my friends all the time.
Let me know if you need any further assistance.


[Usurper]
Usurper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2002, 07:26 PM   #4
C4 Radical
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 11
Thanks guys, I'll try that!


"I have been and always shall be; your friend"

-Spock
C4 Radical is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2002, 09:08 PM   #5
Mertado
 
Mertado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California, USA
Posts: 177
Listen servers are LAN only and will not broadacast their presence to the Internet. Give your friends you IP address and have them connect manaully.


Cygnus
LANtrocity
Northern California's largest regular LAN party
Mertado is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 01:02 AM   #6
PsiSilverthorn
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 99
Re: Can't host a game

Quote:
Originally posted by C4 Radical
My friend tryed to set up a private game so we could just duel over the internet on our own but apparently his game is on LAN and I can't see it online. I tried hosting one and the same thing happened. There isn't an option to change between LAN and internet games and there's nothing helpful in the manual.

HELP please!
The official word from LucasArts is that they intended for it not to show up...Only dedicated servers broadcast their presence. If you don't like this I suggest you email tech support and ask them to change this in a patch.
PsiSilverthorn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Technical Help > Can't host a game

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:39 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.