lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: new level on the way :)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-26-2002, 03:19 AM   #1
=JediKnight05=
@=JediKnight05=
 
=JediKnight05='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nar Shadda
Posts: 25
Post new level on the way :)

Hi heres a duel level im makeing I got a pic of it erlier today and my pic when I finished working on it for the day!

before - http://amclan.8m.net/images/slime_pit.jpg

after - http://amclan.8m.net/images/temple_duel1.jpg


for some reason the pics are darker then the actual level so it looks better when your in it ill release it soon but I could also use ideas and stuff
=JediKnight05= is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 03:24 AM   #2
Guardian Omega
@Guardian Omega
 
Guardian Omega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Overlord of the Paranoia
Posts: 882
Add some pits where you can die, assuming that green stuff doesn't kill...........


Sue, it's the American way!- I forgot.
Guardian Omega is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 03:28 AM   #3
=JediKnight05=
@=JediKnight05=
 
=JediKnight05='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nar Shadda
Posts: 25
yeah I figured that out in a test I made it to were when you fall in the pit though you will die just like if you fell down a very long cliff altough my pit is not that big
=JediKnight05= is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 03:40 AM   #4
Saa-Tom Tah
@Saa-Tom Tah
 
Saa-Tom Tah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 14
Hey =JediKnight05=, I'm a n00b with JKradiant, so could you explain me how did you make that sweet looking "natural" lightning? I know it has to come from the skybox, but how? Thanks.
Saa-Tom Tah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 04:09 AM   #5
=JediKnight05=
@=JediKnight05=
 
=JediKnight05='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nar Shadda
Posts: 25
yet another modifyed ver.. http://amclan.8m.net/images/temple_duel4.jpg


sorry the pics are on the dark side they are not that dark in the game

and Saa-Tom Tah half of it is the sky but I also added alot of lights in there too if you right click you can add stuff like lights and once you got a light made you can select it and press n to change its settings like making it birghter or darker but of coarse youll need more than one light, I hope that helps
=JediKnight05= is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 07:46 AM   #6
Saa-Tom Tah
@Saa-Tom Tah
 
Saa-Tom Tah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 14
Yeah I know the light entities, and I have used them, but how did you make the light come from the skybox brush? I've heard that it's possible.
Saa-Tom Tah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 08:35 AM   #7
mapmaker
@mapmaker
 
mapmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 198
Ohhhh....

I like it, nice design. Good job.

P.S I like the statues in the last picture. I noticed one of them looks like it's turned in a different direction then the other, could you possibly tell me how to do that? I can't seem to be able to rotate models.
mapmaker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 12:51 PM   #8
=JediKnight05=
@=JediKnight05=
 
=JediKnight05='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nar Shadda
Posts: 25
lol honestly I dont know how I got light to come from the sky! but I can tell how to rotate statues ok first you select your model... then you press n to get its properties and then youll see a bunch of buttons with numbers on them these buttons can changes its direction here ill post a pic so you can see what they look like

-- http://amclan.8m.net/images/buttons.jpg

hope that helped
=JediKnight05= is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 01:08 PM   #9
kanehart
@kanehart
 
kanehart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: C-A-N-A-D-A
Posts: 211
Great work. 2 things. How did you get the items. I want to have items too. And the light can you show me a screen on where you can change the bighttness of the light. Big thing is I want to know how you got the items like the statue.
kanehart is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 02:09 PM   #10
=JediKnight05=
@=JediKnight05=
 
=JediKnight05='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nar Shadda
Posts: 25
well if you look at the example pic were you move the statues by pressing n you can change the brightness of lights if you have a light selected and you press n and the statues for instance first you make a misc_model then select that press n and type firs in the key field and do this key : Model, and
value as models/map_objects/cinematics/statue
id show you a pic of it but you can see the pic just above to see were the stuff is hope that helped btw thats just the path to the statue for the vally of the jedi there are alot more models you can use I know how but im to lazy to post it all so Ill post it later or email you it lol good luck
=JediKnight05= is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 03:26 PM   #11
kanehart
@kanehart
 
kanehart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: C-A-N-A-D-A
Posts: 211
yeah be nice to get that info. Where can i get more items. And how do i add them to the game is the big question
kanehart is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 03:40 PM   #12
=JediKnight05=
@=JediKnight05=
 
=JediKnight05='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nar Shadda
Posts: 25
ok heres what some one told me to do to get all the model names and I did I backuped my main assest0.pk3 or what ever its called renamed it to assest0.zip opend it up and extracted all the files to one folder then once I got all the files out of it I deleted the copy of assests0.pk3 leaveing the original one in the base folder and then I look were I extracted all thhose files and deleted everything sept the folder models cause they have all the names of the models in them and the correct path in the game I hope that wasent to confusing and as I sayed before you in order to get themn in your map youl need to make a misc_model by right clicking and finding the misc_model then once its made type in the key ' model and the value ' models/map_objects/name of folder/modelname.md3

the name of folder is like say yavin and the md3 is like plant so you would type in for the plant models/map_objects/yavin/plant.md3 in the value part of the properties for your misc model and once agin to get to the properties you need to select your misc model and press n now when you got the model you want you will want to carve the clip texture to fit almost over the model like a perfect skin or you will be able to walk right through the model in the game hope that helped
=JediKnight05= is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 03:47 PM   #13
kanehart
@kanehart
 
kanehart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: C-A-N-A-D-A
Posts: 211
hehe I will try that when i get home. But I like it when there is a list like

open radint
go to file
click on open

hehe im picky you dont have to if you dont want to if you have the time thats great. I'm very new at this but learning more every day.
This kind stuf you helping me with will help me for school. Becouse it's art graphic design and map making and more
kanehart is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 03:56 PM   #14
=JediKnight05=
@=JediKnight05=
 
=JediKnight05='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nar Shadda
Posts: 25
well lol a list hmm I could try and do one later but not today Im sorta wanna spend my time tweaking my map and testing it today if ya are able to host a server on the net "passworded of coarse" maybe we can play and test it together if so tell me if you got aim msn or yahoo cause I got all 3 of those
=JediKnight05= is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 03:59 PM   #15
kanehart
@kanehart
 
kanehart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: C-A-N-A-D-A
Posts: 211
Sorry man going to the cottage will my gf
kanehart is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 04:03 PM   #16
D'akt Sangwar
@D'akt Sangwar
 
D'akt Sangwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mele้ Island
Posts: 568
pretty nice map
u shud put sum things that arent needed but will make it extra cool
erm dunno what though

any eta?
D'akt Sangwar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 04:06 PM   #17
kanehart
@kanehart
 
kanehart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: C-A-N-A-D-A
Posts: 211
i think more like another 5 sections over and over top.
kanehart is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 04:07 PM   #18
mapmaker
@mapmaker
 
mapmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 198
Thanks Jedi. I can really get busy on my map now.
mapmaker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 05:20 PM   #19
=JediKnight05=
@=JediKnight05=
 
=JediKnight05='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nar Shadda
Posts: 25
your welcome, oh I have decided to add an inside temple area too so I will post a pic soon with an empty inside temple place and could use ideas to spice up the inside
=JediKnight05= is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 05:41 PM   #20
=JediKnight05=
@=JediKnight05=
 
=JediKnight05='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nar Shadda
Posts: 25
Ok I got a picture of the inside the temple

inside the temple - http://amclan.8m.net/images/temple.jpg

if you have any ideas on what to put in it please let me know cause im stumped on what I can add to make it look better thanks all
=JediKnight05= is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 06:01 PM   #21
=JediKnight05=
@=JediKnight05=
 
=JediKnight05='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nar Shadda
Posts: 25
lol any ideas?
=JediKnight05= is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2002, 06:44 PM   #22
=JediKnight05=
@=JediKnight05=
 
=JediKnight05='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nar Shadda
Posts: 25
hmmm the temple pic wont show up!!!@!@%!
O well
=JediKnight05= is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars Gamer > Community > The Star Forge > Jedi Knight series > JO Mapping > new level on the way :)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.