lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: help with inserting models
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-27-2002, 12:38 AM   #1
Locke101
 
Locke101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 211
Question help with inserting models

I have put models into my game using the misc_model however, when i compile the map and try it out. I can go through the model. Anyone know how to fix that?
Locke101 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2002, 12:42 AM   #2
DaviJade
 
DaviJade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Korriban
Posts: 107
Collision box

Well I have the same problem, but I've looked around in the forums and seen what to do about it (but I haven't done it yet). I believe you should:

To begin with the models are entities and there for they are not solid.
To make your models solid follow these steps:

Step 1: Make a brush that is nearly the same size as your model
Step 2: Put it over the model
Step 3: With that brush selected goto "Textures" on the menu and select "system"
Step 4: Assign the clip-texture onto it
Step 5: Go and test it out!

DaviJade is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2002, 02:35 AM   #3
Tantalus
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 46
You've got the right idea, but according to raven, the texture to use is system/physics_clip. Also, if you have problems with lighting the model, it was also suggested that we use the misc_model_breakable. Don't worry about it being breakable though, it's not by default.
Tantalus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2002, 09:35 PM   #4
Tigris
 
Tigris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Here
Posts: 392
Dumb question, but whenever I try to include a model I only get a message saying that I cannot be opened... Anyone experienced the same problem?

Tigris is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2002, 09:45 PM   #5
FEXX
 
FEXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 144
I got that error but fixed it. After you pick your misc_model, it will give an error it cannot find it. Then pass message and change (in the Value field) the / before 'base' to //. Then press enter, and the model will appear. Angle it as you want.

Next, there is a bug in the path still, if you leave as is, the model will not appear in the map I found. So change the path as in this example: models\map_objects\kejim\generator_big.md3
So delete everything in the Value field before the word 'models'

Then place another brush that encloses the misc_model, very tight around it too. Then assign the 'system' texture clip to that brush (so a player cannot pass through it).

Last edited by FEXX; 04-27-2002 at 10:13 PM.
FEXX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2002, 09:53 PM   #6
TalRasha
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 54
what are the models names?
where can i see that?
TalRasha is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2002, 10:09 PM   #7
Tigris
 
Tigris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Here
Posts: 392
Thanks about the model things Fexx... *Me grumbles something that could be swearing in the direction of JK2Radiant* No wonder they don't want to support it


Tigris is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2002, 10:31 PM   #8
FEXX
 
FEXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 144
To see a list of misc_models to add to a map, use misc_model entity. Right-click to add the entity misc_model it will request a path to a model file, .md3. Look in your ../base/models folder and bring them in to view.

There is a bug with the path for the misc_model Value, so be sure to change the Value to this example:
models\map_objects\kejim\generator_big.md3

After you change the path the model should appear in the map and also if you play the map.
FEXX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-28-2002, 08:11 AM   #9
DigitalVapor
 
DigitalVapor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 163
Personaly, in spite of all its flaws, I love radiant. I could NEVER figure out JED and thus gave up on editing totaly. but radiant is SOOOOO easy to learn, I have been working on 2 different map designs. A place I was at in a star wars themed dream I had looked like a great place for saber duels so I drew what I saw in the dream and started building it. The second is a BIG sith temple hidden within a yavin themed ffa/duel that APPEARS to be quite small and unimpressive, but with the help of one of our primary force skills, and an eye for minor details, we can find the entrance to a much larger and more elaborate area. Remember, the sith are secretive and well hidden hehe.


Im just a guy with a lightsaber and a few questions. ....Oh wait, I dont have a lightsaber. Uhhh...I dont really have any questions either. Ya know I think I'm in the wrong cantina too. Oh well, give me a shot of blue milk.
DigitalVapor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-28-2002, 08:13 AM   #10
TalRasha
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally posted by FEXX
To see a list of misc_models to add to a map, use misc_model entity. Right-click to add the entity misc_model it will request a path to a model file, .md3. Look in your ../base/models folder and bring them in to view.

There is no model inside!!!
(must i unpack the pak* file first?)
TalRasha is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-28-2002, 10:57 AM   #11
VE_Corran
 
VE_Corran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 23
Still doesn't work

Yay, it worked.

Thank you all.


CWO Corran
Vast Empire
www.vastempire.com
VE_Corran is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > help with inserting models

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:20 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.