lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Use 5.1 or 4.1 sound with OpenAL?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-28-2002, 05:08 AM   #1
jpinard
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 21
Smile Use 5.1 or 4.1 sound with OpenAL?

I just got 5.1 Klipsch speakers, and was wondering if I should run the speakers 4.1 or 5.1?

Is the OPenAL protocol for 4 point surround or do you think it includes the center channel too?

Thanks!
jpinard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-28-2002, 09:01 PM   #2
jpinard
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 21
anyone?
jpinard is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-28-2002, 09:09 PM   #3
Ae0N
 
Ae0N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Washington, Pa
Posts: 120
Re: Use 5.1 or 4.1 sound with OpenAL?

Quote:
Originally posted by jpinard
I just got 5.1 Klipsch speakers, and was wondering if I should run the speakers 4.1 or 5.1?

Is the OPenAL protocol for 4 point surround or do you think it includes the center channel too?

Thanks!

Sure, why not.






What do I know.
Ae0N is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-28-2002, 10:11 PM   #4
Lord_FinnSon
 
Lord_FinnSon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Finland
Posts: 733
I guess you'll only see the difference by enabling EAX(not supported at this time, because it wasn't tested) and then trying to play with either 5.1 or 4.1. So, bring down console (SHIFT + ~[tilde]), write "HelpUsObi 1"(minus the quotes) and then "s_UseOpenAL 1"(once again minus quotes). I heard that speaker setup you have there is THX certificated, so hopefully you'll get a little bit more out of JK2's sound system using these codes.


Remember, the Force will be with you... always!

Last edited by Lord_FinnSon; 04-28-2002 at 10:32 PM.
Lord_FinnSon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-28-2002, 10:55 PM   #5
PsiSilverthorn
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 99
Actually you don't need the helpusobi 1 command....That is to enable cheat mode...The s_UseOpenAL 1 command is not a cheat...Also you only need to enter it once...It will load up everytime you start the game from then on.
PsiSilverthorn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > Use 5.1 or 4.1 sound with OpenAL?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.