lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: trying to write script, and need help.(NOT cheat)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-29-2002, 03:19 AM   #1
SPY_jmr1
The Quiet, but Deadly One
 
SPY_jmr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hiding in a corner of a bar.
Posts: 2,076
trying to write script, and need help.(NOT cheat)

ok I am trying to not write a script, but modify one. I want to be able to cycle thrugh the saber colors in mp.

okok I found this :

// Rail Rainbow
// ============
set rail0 "color 0; set rrail vstr rail1"
set rail1 "color 1; set rrail vstr rail2"
set rail2 "color 2; set rrail vstr rail3"
set rail3 "color 3; set rrail vstr rail4"
set rail4 "color 4; set rrail vstr rail5"
set rail5 "color 5; set rrail vstr rail6"
set rail6 "color 6; set rrail vstr rail0"
vstr rail0
set rrail vstr rail0
bind x "weapon 7; vstr rrail"

its for the same thing for railgun in Q3.


// Saber Rainbow
// ============
set saber0 "color 0; set sabcolor vstr saber1"
set saber1 "color 1; set sabcolor vstr saber2"
set saber2 "color 2; set sabcolor vstr saber3"
set saber3 "color 3; set sabcolor vstr saber4"
set saber4 "color 4; set sabcolor vstr saber5"
set saber5 "color 5; set sabcolor vstr saber6"
set saber6 "color 6; set sabcolor vstr saber0"
vstr color0
set color vstr saber0
bind x "weapon 1; vstr color"

now i know that this cannot be right, cos the command is 'color1 X'

what i need help with is what does what in the syntax up there...

somebody who knows something about this and can help would be very nice.

TIA

SPY.
SPY_jmr1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2002, 03:37 AM   #2
SPY_jmr1
The Quiet, but Deadly One
 
SPY_jmr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hiding in a corner of a bar.
Posts: 2,076
hmm after i posted this, i found what i was looking for... ftp://newcollective.org/pub/jk2files/sabercycle.zip

heres the code :
//Cycle saber colors: Press l
set saberred "color1 0; bind l vstr saberorange"
set saberorange "color1 1; bind l vstr saberyellow"
set saberyellow "color1 2; bind l vstr sabergreen"
set sabergreen "color1 3; bind l vstr saberblue"
set saberblue "color1 4; bind l vstr saberpurple"
set saberpurple "color1 5; bind l vstr saberred"
bind l vstr saberred

hmm not so far off after all.

still looking for someone to explain this all.
SPY_jmr1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2002, 10:40 AM   #3
L'Equa Sinar
 
L'Equa Sinar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Leicester, Cloud City
Posts: 364
I wonder if thee is anywhere ot alter game code to alow the saber throw be usd as an alt fire for other weapons? I know it sound stupid, but a stromtroope rifle hittin you in the head, gotta hurt!

Also, we need th Stun baton in MP!


Away with your weapon! I mean you no harm!
L'Equa Sinar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2002, 11:33 AM   #4
power_ed
 
power_ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Copenhagen .. .. .. [HEY, YOU THERE!]
Posts: 733
I want the fists back.. i mean kickin r0x! but theres nothing like finishing your oponent off with a punch




or is it just me?


HEY, YOU THERE!
power_ed is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2002, 02:20 PM   #5
SPY_jmr1
The Quiet, but Deadly One
 
SPY_jmr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hiding in a corner of a bar.
Posts: 2,076
huh? I mean i want fists as much as the next guy..... but you hit the wrong topic or somthing?


edit: hmm power_ed i see you have 400 posts... WELCOME TO THE WILD WORLD OF GUNGANDUM!!!!!
SPY_jmr1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2002, 07:43 PM   #6
Hutchca
 
Hutchca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Santa Rosa, California
Posts: 31
I use the following commands added to autoexec.cfg

bind c "vstr colorRE"
set colorRE "color1 0;bind c vstr colorOR"
set colorOR "color1 1;bind c vstr colorYE"
set colorYE "color1 2;bind c vstr colorGR"
set colorGR "color1 3;bind c vstr colorBL"
set colorBL "color1 4;bind c vstr colorPU"
set colorPU "color1 5;bind c vstr colorRE"

Very Similar to what you posted above.

The set command creates a new "variable" equal to whatever is in the quotes. So after the above commands are run, the variable colorRE equals "color1 0;bind c vstr colorOR"

The vstr command tells the engine to execute the contents of the variable as a command.

The RailGun config in your original post was changing a variable at each press rather than changing the binding.

autoexec.cfg if it exists is executed at startup for both single player and multiplayer. Commands in autoexec.cfg should be entered just as you'd type them into the console. (don't prefix with seta) Also some commands don't work until your actually in an active game so those commands won't work in autoexec.cfg.

An easy way to change your config on the fly once a game is loaded is to bind a key to execute your custom config(s).
You can create a config file called anyname.cfg and bind a key to run it "bind x exec anyname.cfg"
I have several configs I can cycle through depending on the type of map, type of game etc...

Last edited by Hutchca; 04-29-2002 at 07:57 PM.
Hutchca is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2002, 09:11 PM   #7
SPY_jmr1
The Quiet, but Deadly One
 
SPY_jmr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hiding in a corner of a bar.
Posts: 2,076
hmm thanks alot dude.

looks like the 2nd one i posted should have worked, but it would not no matter what i tryed.

maybe trying it at 2 am was not a good idea

edit: looking at both of them, the only change is your bind is at the top of the script, and one set of quotes.

do the quotes matter that much?(with my luck they do... )
SPY_jmr1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-30-2002, 06:10 AM   #8
RiverWalker
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 121
if you don't put any points into saber skills, you will only get the stun baton...
RiverWalker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-30-2002, 01:14 PM   #9
Krash
 
Krash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 55
The quotes are helpful when you have more than 1 action set to a variable. For example,

bind k +kill
that is acceptable, but for more than 1 action like:
bind k "+kill; +attack"
I would probably put in quotes


-V- Krash
Team Valar
Krash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > trying to write script, and need help.(NOT cheat)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:09 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.