lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: AMD Athlon
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-14-2000, 12:12 PM   #1
Darth Pie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
AMD Athlon

I am getting a new computer and it will have a AMD Athlon processor instead of a Pentium III. I was wondering if this will affect any of my Star Wars Games. I'm especially worried about JK & MotS because JK is over three years old and I wasn't sure if it is compatible. If anyone can, please tell me what LucasArts games are compatible with my new AMD and which ones aren't if there are any. Thanks

------------------
" If you only knew the POWER of pie! "

[This message has been edited by Darth Pie (edited June 15, 2000).]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-14-2000, 12:55 PM   #2
Ikhnaton
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

wont' affect it in any noticeable way. I have an Athlon 700 and I dont' see any difference. But it really is the video card that makes the most difference.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-14-2000, 01:32 PM   #3
Darth Pie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Well I am kinda torn between some, I know I'm gonna get a nVidia but I wasn't sure if I should get a Riva TNT2 or Geforce256, any suggestions??

[This message has been edited by Darth Pie (edited June 14, 2000).]

[This message has been edited by Darth Pie (edited June 14, 2000).]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-14-2000, 03:00 PM   #4
Kurgan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Arrow

This really shouldn't have any bearing on your decision, but I was planning on getting a GeForce2, at least by the time I upgrade my hardware (in time for ObiWan). ; )

Yeah as far as video is concerned, I know JK/MOTS uses Direct3D, not Glide, so it should be compatible with nVidia cards.

Btw, can anybody give me their expert opinion.. which is better for your money, an Athlon, or a Celron? Or are they about the same?

Kurgan
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-14-2000, 05:48 PM   #5
Darth Pie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Mybe i will go with the Geforce2 instead. Thanks for the advice Kurgan

------------------
" If you only knew the POWER of pie! "
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2000, 04:50 AM   #6
Argath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Athlons are a lot faster than Celerons. The new Celerons (566+) are crippled Coppermines that don't perform very well, so I would suggest staying away from them. Generally, an Athlon would wind up being a better bang for the buck.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2000, 12:52 PM   #7
JaledDur
 
JaledDur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Behind you, with a lightsaber.
Posts: 260
GeForce and Athlon mobos don't mix. I have heard nothing but bad reviews of that combo. Haven't really heard anything about problems with a TNT2/K7 combo though.
JaledDur is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2000, 12:57 PM   #8
JaledDur
 
JaledDur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Behind you, with a lightsaber.
Posts: 260
Post

Oh yeah, and for the record, Celerons SUCK, for the lack of a better term... I just rid myslef of my old Celeron 400 and upgraded to Athlon 700 3 days ago. Athlon is on the Pentium III level, not the Celeron, and even there I think it whips Intel in stability. If you are getting an Athlon, I highly reccomend the Asus K7V mobo too. I haven't had a single hang, freeze, or crash since I got it, and its got great safety features -- its pretty hard to screw up (great for people like me that tend to do that while fiddling around with it). Plus, if you like to overclock, it is THE board, it supports change of the vcore and core speed in the BIOS. And it uses the KX133 chipset and supports 4x AGP. No ISA slots though, so if you have one of those stone age cards, your outta luck.

[This message has been edited by JaledDur (edited June 15, 2000).]

[This message has been edited by JaledDur (edited June 15, 2000).]
JaledDur is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2000, 01:02 PM   #9
JaledDur
 
JaledDur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Behind you, with a lightsaber.
Posts: 260
Lightbulb

Grrr.... Thought of something else too. If you want more info go to www.SlotA.com
JaledDur is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2000, 03:27 PM   #10
Argath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

The old Celerons are excellent CPU's. They perform equivalently to Intel's high end offerings at a fraction of the price, and overclock extremely well. I don't see how they can "suck", considering they were the best value CPU for over a year. The newer Celerons, however, don't perform nearly as well as the PIII, which is probably due in part to the longer pipeline of the CuMine combined with a smaller amount of L2 cache, which makes a cache miss much more time consuming.

Athlons aren't more stable than PIII's. If anything, chipset problems would make an Athlon system a bit less stable, though with a decent motherboard you shouldn't have problems with either CPU.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2000, 06:07 PM   #11
Darth Pie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

So your sayin that an AMD Athlon isn't very compatible with most 3D chipsets? Man that really sucks, are there any that do have a high compatibility with an AMD?

------------------
" If you only knew the POWER of pie! "
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2000, 06:17 PM   #12
Argath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

There were a few compatiblity issues with the GeForce and some Athlon motherboards, but the GeForce 2 and most other cards should work fine.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2000, 06:24 PM   #13
Darth Pie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
ok ok, I guess I'm gonna decide to go with the Geforce2, mostly everyone around here seems to like it. Anyway so an Amd Athlon 750 should work fine with my games and my 3D card? I sure hope so because I've already ordered it!!

------------------
" If you only knew the POWER of pie! "

[This message has been edited by Darth Pie (edited June 15, 2000).]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2000, 07:05 PM   #14
Darth Pie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

About the topic of Intel vs. AMD, I just bought this new book called the Computer Gamer's Bible and it says this about the two processors. I am quoting them. " AMD has upped the ante for computer gamers with 3D-Now! 3D-Now! was introduced witht he K6-2 processor, and was designed with gamers in mind. Games that use DX 6 or higher or use routines that support 3D-Now! running on an AMD PC can see a significant increase in 3D performance over the same game running on an Pentium III of the same speed. " en quote. Now that is there opinion about the two processors. Some people might disagree with the book on that which they have a right to.


------------------
" If you only knew the POWER of pie! "

[This message has been edited by Darth Pie (edited June 15, 2000).]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2000, 07:26 PM   #15
Argath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Whoa, that book is way off. In theory, the K6-2 could outperform a Pentium II in a heavily 3DNow! optimized situtation, but in actual practice, the only game this happened on was Quake II, which AMD themselves optimized. In general use, the non-pipelined FPU of the K6-2 kills its performance in games, so you'll very rarely see a K6-2 performing even equivalently to a PII, let alone beating it.

The book also conveniently left out any mention of SSE for the Pentium III. A PIII with SSE would wipe the floor with a K6-2 using 3DNow!

The Athlon is a different story, however, but claiming the K6-2 is superior to a Pentium III is ridiculous. If anything, the book should equally represent Intel's side of the situtation rather than insinuating that any AMD PC will beat a Pentium III.

[This message has been edited by Argath (edited June 15, 2000).]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-15-2000, 08:07 PM   #16
Darth Pie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

I know, I'm not saying I agree with everything the book says I was just giving it's opinion. Also I think your right about how it should have given Intel it's side of the story instead of just blatantly stating that AMD Rules and Intel just plain sucks. Which in my opinion is definetely not the case at all.

------------------
" If you only knew the POWER of pie! "

[This message has been edited by Darth Pie (edited June 15, 2000).]
  you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars Classic Gaming > 1. The HuB > The Cantina! > AMD Athlon

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:01 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.