lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: SP Saber Colour: The Definitive Guide!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-16-2002, 10:42 AM   #41
GoldenFrog
 
GoldenFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Usa, North America, Earth
Posts: 69
(I am new)

Is it possible to have a Black light saber??
GoldenFrog is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-29-2002, 04:10 PM   #42
AKPiggott
 
AKPiggott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 581
Quote:
Originally posted by Emon
I think I found a big problem with this technique. If you die and hit fire to respawn, your saber is blue again...
Yeah.. I noticed that.. can be easily fixed by adding a "save" console command in the gamestart.cfg...


Enter the Dark Lord, coming soon. Watch the Teaser Trailer.
AKPiggott is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-31-2002, 07:21 PM   #43
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
Yeah, but when you hit fire to continue it still does that, however you can hit quickload to fix it.


Clarionet, n. An instrument of torture operated by a person with cotton in his ears. There are two instruments that are worse than a clarionet -- two clarionets.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2002, 08:45 AM   #44
AKPiggott
 
AKPiggott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 581
Maybe adding a checkpoint at the start of the level can fix it.

Is there anyway you can overwrite the autosave by saving through the console?


Enter the Dark Lord, coming soon. Watch the Teaser Trailer.
AKPiggott is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2002, 02:31 PM   #45
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
I think the best solution would be a starting checkpoint, so when you click it loads from that checkpoint save. Also what you could do is put this in the gamestart.cfg

seta saberfix "HelpUsObi 1; Sabercolor Color; HelpUsObi 0;"

Then in the readme point out that if your saber ever gets messed up, you can just enter vstr saberfix in the console and it fixes it for you. *Shrug* Checkpoints are better... both would be good.


Clarionet, n. An instrument of torture operated by a person with cotton in his ears. There are two instruments that are worse than a clarionet -- two clarionets.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2002, 07:19 PM   #46
AKPiggott
 
AKPiggott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 581
Nice one Emon... I think we've pretty much got the system nailed.


Enter the Dark Lord, coming soon. Watch the Teaser Trailer.
AKPiggott is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2002, 07:26 PM   #47
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
Yup!

Also, the two MENU files for ingame and out of game options have a remmed out feature for dismember probabilities. I re-added it, and placed it in the correct spot. All it does is cycle the g_dismemberprobability cvar. 2 is none, 1 is normal, 0 is excessive. Excessive gets you decapitation and gut splitters, too. I'll e-mail you the MENU files if you'd like.

Oh, I also have an autoexec.cfg (gamestart works too) for seta g_dismemberprobabilities 0 so it defaults.


Clarionet, n. An instrument of torture operated by a person with cotton in his ears. There are two instruments that are worse than a clarionet -- two clarionets.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2002, 11:06 PM   #48
Osanagokoro
 
Osanagokoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2
Okay... um.. forgive me if this sounds like a total n00b question (since it probably is but this seemed like the best place to find out reliable information).

First off, does changing lightsaber color effect the outcome of the game? Like, if I beat the game with a purple lightsaber, is the ending going to come out different? I know it is kind of considered cheating...
Osanagokoro is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-06-2002, 01:27 AM   #49
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
Erm, no... But if you're making a new SP level or episode with a character other than a blue lightsaber you'll want to be able to change it to something besides blue...


Clarionet, n. An instrument of torture operated by a person with cotton in his ears. There are two instruments that are worse than a clarionet -- two clarionets.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-10-2002, 07:45 PM   #50
Darth Osiris
 
Darth Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Own room
Posts: 10
Why don't you just put
bind 1 "helpusobi 1; sabercolor red; weapon 1; helpusobi 0"
into autoexec.cfg? Then saber always go to red (or whatever color) when you press 1.
Darth Osiris is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-12-2002, 01:46 AM   #51
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
Because it will screw up any custom key configs the user may have.


Clarionet, n. An instrument of torture operated by a person with cotton in his ears. There are two instruments that are worse than a clarionet -- two clarionets.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-13-2002, 06:32 AM   #52
Pvt_Ryan
 
Pvt_Ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9
Is it possible to make a mod that would change the SP lightsaber into a double bladed one, if so could someone ?
Pvt_Ryan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2002, 02:30 PM   #53
Helkara
 
Helkara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 14
???

How the hell do i extract files from assets.1 pk3? when i try to load it also says "This Program Is Not Responding", plus, how do i turn dismemberment on?

Helkara


The Sith Are Coming.......
And They Shall Rise Again......




Leader Of Caldera Squadron (Callsign: Caldera One)

Death To The Jedi!!!
Helkara is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2002, 03:40 PM   #54
Darth Osiris
 
Darth Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Own room
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Pvt_Ryan
Is it possible to make a mod that would change the SP lightsaber into a double bladed one, if so could someone ?
no
Darth Osiris is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2002, 01:37 PM   #55
idontlikegeorge
 
idontlikegeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Striking fear into the hearts of Demolicans and Republicrats.
Posts: 951
helkara, what program are you using to load the assests pak? you can use any good zip utility program to do so

hey, can you add multiple checkpoints into a single map?

emon, could you send me those .menu files? email, thanks
idontlikegeorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2002, 03:16 PM   #56
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
I don't know this will help or not, and probably everybody knows, but here is an other command to turn on dismemberment: g_saberrealisticcombat 1. Of course this works in cheat mode.

With this enabled you always cut something off of your enemy.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2002, 12:38 PM   #57
SuckyModderDave
 
SuckyModderDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 59
hey, how do you make it so that the saber color changes on a later level. in my mod my character is going to lose his saber in the first part of the game (battling Desann) and get a new one (jedi temple). does anyone know how i could go about doing this?
SuckyModderDave is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2002, 12:42 PM   #58
SuckyModderDave
 
SuckyModderDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 59
also, i used the first idea in this post, and when i set it up for kejim post, and hit begin game, it skips the whole star wars scrolling story and goes strait to the ****pit conversation. anyone know what gives????
SuckyModderDave is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 02:03 AM   #59
Avitor
 
Avitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 63
Saber color changes

I've tried to change yellow to another color by swapping out the textures**, but the new saber color still casts a yellow glow inpsite of the new color. How can that glow be changed?

**yellow_glow.tga, yellow_glow2.jpg, and yellow_line.jpg in the gfx\effects\sabers\ folder of asset0.pk3


"He was a wise man who invented beer." - Plato
Avitor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2002, 02:27 PM   #60
AKPiggott
 
AKPiggott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 581
The glow is hard-coded... the only way to change your saber colour for a single player level is the method that I've talked about.


Enter the Dark Lord, coming soon. Watch the Teaser Trailer.
AKPiggott is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-08-2002, 06:20 PM   #61
jimclare1
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 45
ok, Hi all (SP related)
i read the postings on this page about making the ingame keys to make the saber color change with the tip of a key

i was wondering would it be possible to use a command to activet not target for 30 seconds & possible play a sound aswell

im guess it would look something like this

bind l devmapall; notarget; play wav1; wait 3000; notarget;

also, could i bind a key to load a new skin for the player simular to MP although it need not be so complex
jimclare1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2002, 01:22 PM   #62
_NinjaGaiden_
 
_NinjaGaiden_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 139
AKPiggott could you possibly make a sp purple saber(for Mace Model) for use the main game with it shown in cutscenes? Toonces doesnt really know how to do it....he aint sure and it sounds like you know


The Ninja Dragon
_NinjaGaiden_ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2002, 11:06 PM   #63
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
If you mean the blades of the saber, I already made some new blades for my SP level, and I gave them to AK for his Mace Windu: Party Crasher level.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2002, 05:57 AM   #64
_NinjaGaiden_
 
_NinjaGaiden_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 139
i just want the purple as the default color of the saber i dont need new blades


The Ninja Dragon
_NinjaGaiden_ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2002, 08:59 PM   #65
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
Just do sabercolor purple to make your saber purple, and for the cutscene, edit npcs.cfg and edit the Kyle NPC so he has a purple lightsaber.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2002, 01:23 PM   #66
brigand1138
 
brigand1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Swansea
Posts: 92
Angry GGGGRRRRRRRRRR!!!!

Guys, most of these posts either relate to player made SP levels or using a key to toggle the lightsaber colours.

All I want to know, is how to change the default colour of the saber to orange for THE WHOLE single player game, so that every time a new level starts and I use my lightsaber, it's orange, not blue and without having to press a key.

Also, I've tried going into the console and typing

helpusobi 1
sabercolor orange
helpusobi 0

When I use my lightsaber it's still blue, I've tried leaving the cheat mode on too (as in not typing the last line helpusobi 0) nothing, no matter which colour I type in, it stays blue!!

I'm at my wits end trying to change it!!


Mal Brigand
"In the dark, see past our eyes"
brigand1138 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2003, 03:19 AM   #67
JediLoaf
 
JediLoaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 76
try biding them to a key like I do. I have each color (except orange and yellow) binded to my bottom row keys (m,n,b,v) etc....

JediLoaf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2003, 09:21 AM   #68
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
Blasphemy! Why was this thread unstuck?? It's one of the most informative threads on the editing forum!
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2003, 06:17 PM   #69
Yun the Sith
 
Yun the Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: The boonies of NC
Posts: 112
I'm with Emon, why the heck was this thread unstuck?!
Yun the Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2003, 06:19 PM   #70
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
Especially when it's listed on JKII.net with all the other stuck threads...
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2003, 06:27 PM   #71
The Truthful Liar
In-Transit
 
The Truthful Liar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Blasting out of trajectory in a suit of terracotta
Posts: 3,548
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Strange... *sticky-fies thread* Remember PM is your friend. :-)


"Whatever action is performed by a great man, common men follow in his footsteps. And whatever standards he sets by exemplary acts, all the world pursues."
The Truthful Liar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2003, 05:34 PM   #72
MASTER Siggeman
 
MASTER Siggeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Somewhere I Belong
Posts: 50
other maps

ok AKPiggott,

but what if you want to make the saber that same color for all the JO maps? would it be the same way and you just "change the extension" after map from "map pit" to "map all" in the gamestart.cfg?

or is what u'r saying just for making mods where the indivisual level has that color saber?


And now-
You've become a part of me...
You'll always be right here!
You've become a part of me...
You'll always be my fear!
I can't separate...
Myself from what I've done!
Giving up a part of me...
I've let myself become YOU!
~FIGURE.09~
MASTER Siggeman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2003, 05:57 PM   #73
MASTER DUELER
 
MASTER DUELER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: colorado
Posts: 12
PEOPLE ALL YOU HAVE TO DO IS OPEN CONSLE AND TYPE HELPUSOBI 1 THEN TYPE'BIND R SABERCOLOR RED'THEN'BIND G SABERCOLOR GREEN' now just hit g for green and r for red simple.


BOW DOWN BEFORE ME. or just be nice
MASTER DUELER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2003, 06:07 PM   #74
MASTER DUELER
 
MASTER DUELER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: colorado
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by GoldenFrog
(I am new)

Is it possible to have a Black light saber??
no cause black is not a color of light


BOW DOWN BEFORE ME. or just be nice
MASTER DUELER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-07-2003, 11:14 PM   #75
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
Black won't work because the sabers, blasters, force fields etc., all use a screen blending mode (additive). It makes it look much more realistic instead of painted on. With additive blending, black is invisible.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2003, 05:04 PM   #76
bryan000
 
bryan000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arkansas, and i'm not a hick. :)
Posts: 6
Thumbs up Nice.

This is useful, except I have no friggin clue how to open config/pk3 files at all. I need help with that.. send me an e-mail at jordey@swbell.net. (I would really like for the poster of this info to do this) thankzz


Signatures Suck

(Bryan)
if u want my e-mail u have to message me.
bryan000 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2003, 10:34 PM   #77
Epic
 
Epic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 23
I have a problem I'm not sure if it's been solved already but I need help with it.
I can't get dismemberment to work.
I open up the console and type
devmap; saberreallisticCombat 1 (I've done 1-9 nothing works)
and I've typed
devmap; dismemberment 1 (I've also done 1-9 and again.. same result.)

Help if you Can.. thanks..
Also is it possible to change the color of the saber you seen in the cutscenes? I've seen a mod that does this but unfortunatily I don't know which one and know nothing of pk3 files or how to make anything.. Thanks again..

~Epic


<->
"Truth is just the added perceptions of the mojority. The truth is a lie.. " ~ www.forceacademy.com
~Go Shadow Jedi!~
Epic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2003, 07:22 AM   #78
Neř
 
Neř's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 24
*bump*
this thread is good and I don't think it's a sticky any more(unless I went past this thread over a million times.
Neř is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2003, 07:47 AM   #79
AKPiggott
 
AKPiggott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 581
I've just looked at this thread for the first time in a while and there's something I didn't make clear.

Unless someone can figure out a way to trigger scripts either between or during levels, there's no way to have a custom saber colour span more than one level.


Enter the Dark Lord, coming soon. Watch the Teaser Trailer.
AKPiggott is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2003, 07:53 AM   #80
Neř
 
Neř's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 24
I'll go check this out now and see if I can find a solution.
Neř is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > SP Saber Colour: The Definitive Guide!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:35 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.