lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar
View Poll Results: Add ability to pull items in MP?
Yes 10 52.63%
No 4 21.05%
Server option 5 26.32%
Voters: 19. You may not vote on this poll


Thread: Why can't we pull items in MP?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-11-2002, 11:37 PM   #1
CoreyGH
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 57
Question Why can't we pull items in MP?

Why can't force pull be used on items in multiplayer like in Dark Forces 2?
CoreyGH is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-12-2002, 01:21 AM   #2
Rocketman
 
Rocketman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 134
because they have to respawn, and if you move it and don't take it ppl may not be able to find items.
Rocketman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-12-2002, 01:35 AM   #3
Kyth'emos
 
Kyth'emos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 962
well, when put that way it makes sense, thats why I voed for server option, it would be cool in some cases but a bitch in others.
Kyth'emos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-12-2002, 01:51 AM   #4
Dark_One
 
Dark_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 289
Uhm in jedi vs mercs mode those jedi keep pulling my weapons out of my hands. So it's possible in MP but i think it's only possible in that mode
Dark_One is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-12-2002, 01:56 AM   #5
Darksider
 
Darksider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 344
he means pulling items/weapons/healthpacks from the level, not weapons from hands
Darksider is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-12-2002, 03:35 AM   #6
CoreyGH
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 57
Respawning isn't a problem, remember that you could do what I'm suggesting in the first Jedi Knight. If you pulled an item from it's respawn point and DIDN'T pick it up, eventually it would disappear and return to its respawn point.
CoreyGH is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-12-2002, 04:01 AM   #7
Borf
 
Borf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 135
you can pull
Borf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-12-2002, 04:42 AM   #8
striderx2048
 
striderx2048's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 339
you cant pull item that are floating at the spawn point.

Vote YES for pull items, or push away from someone trying to it
striderx2048 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-12-2002, 06:11 AM   #9
Brodieman
 
Brodieman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Getting professionally beaten by freelance police
Posts: 97
I think there is plenty of pulling in MP at the moment
Brodieman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-12-2002, 07:30 AM   #10
HertogJan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I don't know why Raven didnt do that in the first place... And yes, it would be nice if they would move back to their spawn if nobody picked it up. Buy why not leave it there and wait for it to respawn again? Yeah then there 2 shield boosters, so what? I can't imagine it would be possible to stock pile it, it would be noticed anyway, respawning takes time...
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-12-2002, 09:11 AM   #11
Dark_One
 
Dark_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 289
Ah sorry didn't quite knew what you meant. But is it possible in every mode?
Dark_One is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2002, 09:43 PM   #12
CoreyGH
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 57
I think the items would need to dissapear before respawning. One extra shield booster wouldn't be a problem but the cumulative effect of many items being duplicated would be tough on your performance eventually. I mean, people are pushing and pulling constantly and even if they are only pointing at other players plenty of items are going to be caught in the crossfire, or "crossforce" as it were.
CoreyGH is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > Why can't we pull items in MP?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:04 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.