lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: What keyboard setup do you use to play jk2?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-16-2002, 06:52 AM   #1
zaguria
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 34
What keyboard setup do you use to play jk2?

I was wondering what the best keyboard setup was so if you all post what key you bind to what then that'd be appreciated.

At the moment I use WSAD for movement and the numbers 1-7 as force powers but it's pretty inconvenient so there's gotta be a better way.
zaguria is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2002, 09:12 AM   #2
d3vin
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 40
This isnt bad. I have been using a form of this since early April. I was a WASD style player for a few years (Q2, Unreal, HLDM) but needed to moves to ESDF to get access to more keys.

Autoexec.cfg
//******************* Miscellaneous cvars ****************************
seta sensitivity "10.0"
bind ~ "toggleconsole"
seta cg_dynamicCrosshair "1" //default
seta cg_saberAutoThird "1" // 0 doesnt work in mp
seta cg_gunAutoFirst "1"
seta cg_drawFPS "1" // draw fps on screen
seta r_allowExtensions "0" //fixes freeze bug in some cases

//****************** Miscellaneous controls ****************************
bind MOUSE1 "+attack"
bind MOUSE2 "+altattack"
bind TAB "+scores"
bind b "+use"
bind a "saberAttackCycle" //cycles between 3 stances
bind y "" // blank bind
bind F1 "engage_duel"
bind F2 "" // blank bind
bind F3 "" // blank bind
bind F4 "weapon 10" //
bind F5 "exec light.cfg"
bind F6 "exec dark.cfg"
bind F7 "exec autoexec.cfg"
bind F8 "exec jacob.cfg"
bind F9 "screenshot"
bind F10 "echo ^1one ^2two ^3three ^4four ^5five ^6six ^7seven ^8eight ^9nine ^10ten"// color check
bind F12 "quit"
//bind ALT ""

//****************** Weapons **************************************
bind x "weapon 1; bind 2 vstr weap2a; bind 3 vstr weap3a; bind 4 vstr weap4a; bind c vstr inveca" // 1 lightsaber +reset keys 2, 3, and 4
bind q "echo ****^3THROWABLE; weapon 10; bind 2 vstr weap2a; bind 3 vstr weap3a; bind 4 vstr weap4a; bind c vstr inveca" // 0 throwable +reset keys 2, 3, and 4
// 2 bryar blaster
// 3 blaster rifle
// 4 Tenloss Disruptor Rifle
// 5 wookie bowcaster
// 6 heavy repeater
// 7 demp 2
// 8 flachette
// 9 Rocket launcher

// script for key 2 --- 8 flachette, 5 bowcaster
set weap2a "echo ****^3FLACHETTE; weapon 8; bind 2 vstr weap2b; bind 3 vstr weap3a; bind 4 vstr weap4a; bind c vstr inveca"
set weap2b "echo ****^3BOW; weapon 5; bind 2 vstr weap2a"
bind 2 "vstr weap2a"

// script for key 3 --- 6 repeater, 3 blaster rifle, 2 bryar blaster
set weap3a "echo ****^3REPEATER; weapon 6; bind 3 vstr weap3b; bind 2 vstr weap2a; bind 4 vstr weap4a; bind c vstr inveca"
set weap3b "echo ****^3BLASTER ^4RIFLE; weapon 3; bind 3 vstr weap3c"
set weap3c "echo ****^3BRYAR ^4BLASTER; weapon 2; bind 3 vstr weap3a"
bind 3 "vstr weap3a"

// script for key 4 --- 9 Rocket, , 4 disruptor, 7 demp2
set weap4a "echo ****^3ROCKETS; weapon 9; bind 4 vstr weap4b; bind 2 vstr weap2a; bind 3 vstr weap3a; bind c vstr inveca"
set weap4b "echo ****^3DISRUPTOR; weapon 4; bind 4 vstr weap4c"
set weap4c "echo ****^3DEMP2; weapon 7; bind 4 vstr weap4a"
bind 4 "vstr weap4a"

//****************** Inventory ************************************
set inveca "echo ^3BACTA; bind MOUSE3 use_bacta; bind c vstr invecb" // heals
set invecb "echo ^3SENTRY; bind MOUSE3 use_sentry; bind c vstr invecc" // stationary gun
set invecc "echo ^3SEEKER; bind MOUSE3 use_seeker; bind c vstr invecd" // floating attack droid
set invecd "echo ^3FIELD; bind MOUSE3 use_field; bind c vstr inveca" // forcefield
bind c "vstr inveca"

//***************** Chat ***********************************
bind i "messagemode" //regular chat
bind u "messagemode2" //team chat

//***************** Movement **********************************
bind s "+moveleft"
bind e "+forward"
bind d "+back"
bind f "+moveright"
bind SPACE "+moveup"
bind z "+movedown"
bind SHIFT "+speed"


//**************** Force Powers --- Neutral **********************
bind v "force_seeing" //toggle
bind g "force_speed" //toggle
bind MWHEELUP "bind MOUSE3 force_throw; bind c vstr inveca"
bind MWHEELDOWN "bind MOUSE3 force_pull; bind c vstr inveca"

the following are in either my light.cfg or dark.cfg
//Force Powers --- Dark
// note: the bind x vstr inxeca is to reset a key that affects MOUSE3 from autoexec.cfg
bind w "bind MOUSE3 +force_drain; bind c vstr inveca"
bind r "bind MOUSE3 +force_lightning; bind c vstr inveca"
bind t "bind MOUSE3 +force_grip; bind c vstr inveca"
bind h "force_rage"
bind n "force_forcepowerother" // Team Energize

//Force Powers --- Light
bind w "force_absorb"
bind r "force_heal"
bind h "force_protect"
bind t "force_distract"
bind n "force_healother" // Heal Teammate
d3vin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2002, 04:58 PM   #3
Cracked
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 24
hmm, that looks interesting...i think i may try that setup when i get home. Thx for sharing
Cracked is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2002, 06:22 PM   #4
shipz
 
shipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 4
This is what I use...

Up Arrow: Move Forward
Down Arrow: Backpedal
Left Arrow: Strafe Left
Right Arrow: Strafe Right
Mouse Button 1 (Left): Primary Fire
Mouse Button 2 (Right): Secondary Fire
Mouse Button 3 (Middle): Jump
Mouse Wheel Up: Previous Weapon
Mouse Wheel Down: Next Weapon
Control: Crouch
Right Shift: Use

That's basically the only keys I use except to switch between first and third person view, I use the "P" key for that, which is the default.

These are the settings I use for all FPS games.


<Blank Signature>
shipz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2002, 10:38 PM   #5
xSauronx
 
xSauronx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 19
WSAD for movement
X jump
C crouch
SPACEBAR use
F use selected Force
Z and V to switch force powers in game


i can hit F1 - F5 easily enough while moving, so using Z and V to switch powers gets me by pretty good in a game.
xSauronx is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2002, 11:05 PM   #6
Hemi-Cuda
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 32
Forward: a
Backward: z
Strafe left: ctrl
Strafe right: alt
Attack: Mouse1
Jump: Mouse2
Duck: Mouse3

as for force powers, i have use the same buttons for each side, and i just use a toggle for em. script for it looks like this:

set darkforce "bind s +force_lightning; bind x +force_grip; bind d force_rage; bind c +force_drain; bind f force_forcepowerother; echo ^1Dark ^1Force ^1Powers"

set lightforce "bind s force_absorb; bind x force_heal; bind d force_distract; bind c force_protect; bind f force_healother; echo ^5Light ^5Force ^5Powers"
Hemi-Cuda is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2002, 11:05 PM   #7
Madcow
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 182
mines original

normal arrow keys for movment
numpad 0 for jump, numpad 1 for crouch, numpad 4 for push and numpad 5 for pull. K for duel, ctrl for taunt, and delete to cycle left, page down to cycle right, and end to use force power.

AND IT WOOOORKS!!! AHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!





Quoting me in any way is strictly illegal due to my posts being my copyrighted intellectual property
Madcow is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-17-2002, 10:45 PM   #8
Aoshi
 
Aoshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 224
this is the setup i use and it works pretty well i think
esdf=movement
a=speed
q=seeing
w=weapon back
r=most used secondary force power
t=second most used secondary force power
g=change lightsaber style
v=saber duel
1=sentry
2=floating orb thingie
b=bacta
shift=stationary shield
mouse3=draw lightsaber
mouse3up=push
mouse3down=pull
(using the rolling mouse button for push pull is a definite must)
890=3 most used weapons

i generally only use 2 secondary force powers but if you use more you can switch g to another force power and use h to change lightsaber style


I will be the strongest
~Shinomori Aoshi
Aoshi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > What keyboard setup do you use to play jk2?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:32 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.