lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Is there a way to communicate privately in MP FFA?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-21-2002, 01:00 AM   #1
Aerys
 
Aerys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 196
Is there a way to communicate privately in MP FFA?

I see the console TELL command but I can't figure out how to use it...
Aerys is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-21-2002, 03:09 PM   #2
Aerys
 
Aerys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 196
Does no one know the answer to this??
Aerys is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2002, 02:26 AM   #3
Monkers
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 26
You can private chat in MP FFA by pointing the cursor at someone, and pressing 'u' ... you will notice you're message is in purple, which means private :)
Monkers is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2002, 04:22 AM   #4
Aerys
 
Aerys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 196
Does anyone have a serious answer to this?
Aerys is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2002, 09:29 AM   #5
Darth Anabolic
 
Darth Anabolic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 33
Aerys: What is the matter? Why would Monkers answer inseriously...
Just do as he says, when ur sabers are down and ur "calming down" point ur cursor at somebody and his name will show up, and then press the Team chat key and u can privately chat with him that way. In FFA that is.
Darth Anabolic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2002, 09:54 AM   #6
tempest8008
 
tempest8008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 275
So THAT's what purple means....

I now know that I've been terribly rude to people who've been trying to chat with me...

What if you're not pointing at anyone and hit team chat? Who does that message go to?
tempest8008 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2002, 08:37 PM   #7
Aerys
 
Aerys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 196
Well, I apologize. I don't have a team chat key bound so it never worked for me.
Aerys is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-25-2002, 03:46 PM   #8
Monkers
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 26
team chat is bound by default to 't' ... private chat is bound by default to 'u' - seriously :)
Monkers is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-26-2002, 03:24 AM   #9
Aerys
 
Aerys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 196
...private chat??

I must be a moron. I can't find a setting for that anywhere and now I have team chat bound to U...
Aerys is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-26-2002, 07:01 AM   #10
Catharsis
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 7
Go to the console, and type "tell_target <message>" while facing a player.
Catharsis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-27-2002, 04:48 AM   #11
Aerys
 
Aerys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 196
Thank you, the Tell_Target thing worked.

Now if I could only figure out how to get /tell to work.

Supposedly I type /tell <name> <message> but it never seems to work.

I tried

/tell Joe Schmoe Whatta ya know?

But I always seem to end up either sending to myself or to the last person to enter the game (I can see me talking on the server console, just not to the right person).
Aerys is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2002, 12:48 AM   #12
Aerys
 
Aerys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 196
Anyone?

I promise I'll go away when I get this working.

Aerys is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2002, 10:33 AM   #13
Father Time
 
Father Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Inside of your worst imagination
Posts: 31
Isn't it on

"Say" ?

Because I bound like /bind say "Bla Bla Bla Bla""

BTW The Bound is great flick.

LOL



Proud mod of TJS TIPS/TACTICS
<link url="http://www.3dactionplanet.com/jediknight/">The Jedi Sancutuary</link>
Father Time is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-29-2002, 04:07 PM   #14
Aerys
 
Aerys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 196
Actually I just want an example of the proper formatting for the /tell command.

/tell Aerys Targaryen This is a test.

Isn't working.

Nor is

/tell Aerys Targaryen, This is a test.
Aerys is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Strategy Shack > Is there a way to communicate privately in MP FFA?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:12 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.