lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: I am freacking tired of bad bot support!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-23-2002, 12:53 PM   #1
darthfergie
Q-38 Modulator
 
darthfergie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,254
LFN Staff Member 
Angry I am freacking tired of bad bot support!

Every freacking level I d/load has horrid bot support. They just jump of cliffs and such. It really sucks when you can't find anyone online and want to play a bot game on your favorite level BU CAN'T because it's screwed up!

Is Raven going to release a bot editor or something to allow decent bots in user created map or something because I'm going crazy!

Also when someone does find out how to get decent bot support put it in the report at the bottom in big bold letters because I'm not d/loading maps until a decent bot map is released.


darthfergie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2002, 01:13 PM   #2
Master Rooster
 
Master Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 79
I have to agree, and not just about bots on custom maps. They run away at every possible opportunity, and are highly predictable and cant avoid certain attacks. I was really dissapointedw ith the bots, especially since they wee advertised as a major feature on the box.

As far as I know, the only solution at the moment is playing against people, but its hard if you're on dial up and have poor ping or an expensive ISP.
Master Rooster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2002, 01:23 PM   #3
D.L.
 
D.L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 598
Add your own bot support then.

Go searching for the bot waypoint tutorial. It's not that hard.


Star Wars, General Chat and Games. Join if you want!
http://lounge.proboards5.com

The NJO Mod Website
D.L. is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2002, 01:25 PM   #4
darthfergie
Q-38 Modulator
 
darthfergie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,254
LFN Staff Member 
Yeah. The regular bots are a bit wierd...they really like to jump...alot...but don't jump very high and sometimes get into jumping duels when there is two of them.

Also some bots like Lando are just insanely accurate with a blaster...one shot to the head with a charges up Byror and your gone...

The bots also like to move...ALOT. If in duel you look from one of their perspectives they are ALLWAYS moving in a very jerky fashon moving back an forth back and forth and SHOTING perfectly while doing it...or if they have a lightsaber...well...they just pointlessly move even if your all the way across the map with a lightsaber too.

But all this aside...I would rather have wierd bots than NO bots. User created maps just arn't working with bots for some strange reason. Did this ever happen with QuakeIII??? Or is it just some wierd scripting error Raven hasn't worked out???


darthfergie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2002, 11:24 AM   #5
darthfergie
Q-38 Modulator
 
darthfergie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,254
LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally posted by D.L.
Add your own bot support then.

Go searching for the bot waypoint tutorial. It's not that hard.
sure...I've seen maps with "bot" support. User created and all. They still jump really high and off the cliffs.


darthfergie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2002, 11:28 AM   #6
UniKorn
Mysterious Mapper
 
UniKorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,282
You can add your own bot support, unpack the pk3file, remove the wnt file, and add your own bot support.

Tutorial here :
http://jk2ed.jediknightii.net


Mapcenter:
http://www.map-center.com
UniKorn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2002, 11:39 AM   #7
D.L.
 
D.L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 598
Gah!

The tutorial Chang sent me had the wrong info.

It's
+set bot_wp_edit 1 +devmap mymapname

not

+devmap mymapname +set bot_wp_edit 1

Thank God. It was irritating me


Star Wars, General Chat and Games. Join if you want!
http://lounge.proboards5.com

The NJO Mod Website
D.L. is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2002, 11:49 AM   #8
darthfergie
Q-38 Modulator
 
darthfergie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,254
LFN Staff Member 


geez...why can't they just add this bot info into their freacking levels

BTW, do you have to do this EVERY time?

Also...do you have to type out the '+'


darthfergie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2002, 04:55 PM   #9
Nanodagiardino
 
Nanodagiardino's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 271
Hehehe even in SP the AI is patchy. The infamous "get behind him" stormtrooper assault tactic is too often plain stupid. I bet that at the imperial academy they don't teach stormtroopers to jump behind lighsabering jedis in 2mx2m corridors...... or do they?

Half-Life still remains my number1 has far has Ai goes...
Nanodagiardino is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2002, 06:20 PM   #10
Zek
 
Zek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 504
The bots are boring and easy either way...
Zek is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2002, 10:29 PM   #11
DannyJAllTheWay
Banned
 
DannyJAllTheWay's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In a galaxy far, far away...
Posts: 978
I would like to see more bot support too. Just replied showing that I support you.
DannyJAllTheWay is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2002, 11:18 PM   #12
striderx2048
 
striderx2048's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 339
only real solution is create your own waypoint for the bots
submit to the map author and hope it becomes part of the main distribution.
striderx2048 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2002, 11:21 PM   #13
NerfYoda
Grumpy Old Man
 
NerfYoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: WTF?
Posts: 1,258
Quote:
Originally posted by striderx2048
only real solution is create your own waypoint for the bots
submit to the map author and hope it becomes part of the main distribution.
COMPLETELY off topic... Strider: Are you the StriderX that was once in the clan GS back in the JK days? If so hey buddy, it's DJ. If not then never mind... hehe
NerfYoda is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2002, 11:33 PM   #14
Chastan
 
Chastan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Isla Vista, CA
Posts: 412
I've found that JK2 has the best bots out there in any game. As for custom levels not working too well, I think that's the fault of the level designer, even if it says it has "bot support" it doesn't mean it was done well.
Chastan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-25-2002, 09:11 PM   #15
darthfergie
Q-38 Modulator
 
darthfergie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,254
LFN Staff Member 
Yeah I kind of wish the ones that did have decent bot support would advertise it.

Well back to the wonderful world of waypoint editing.
THANKS LEVEL DESIGNERS!


darthfergie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > I am freacking tired of bad bot support!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:07 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.