lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Play your music in-game
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-02-2002, 08:25 AM   #1
Elegy
 
Elegy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 355
Play your music in-game

I've been toying with the music command. I finally figured out how you can play your mp3s in this game. First, create a zip file with a bunch of your favorite mp3s that you have downloaded. Call it music.zip or whatever the hell you want. Place this zip file in the base directory of the game and rename it from music.zip to music.pk3. Apparently zip files and pk3 files are exactly the same damn thing. This works, trust me. Now inside of the game, you can use the music command to change the background music to one of your mp3 files. For example, one of my files is lordsofacid-outcomestheevil.mp3. To play this I'd open up my console and type music lordsofacid-outcomestheevil.mp3 and the song will begin to play. Now you can whoop some ass to some awesome music rather than just the stuff the game came with.

EDIT - eh, bloody hell. I just now realized that on pure servers it won't load your music.pk3 file so you can only do this on your own server or an unpure server.
Elegy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-02-2002, 09:16 PM   #2
SeraphimII
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: L33t Fruit Stalker...I mean Stocker...No Really I do.
Posts: 443
Does it work in Single play?

/me goes and finds out...
SeraphimII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-02-2002, 09:21 PM   #3
Blamer
 
Blamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally posted by SeraphimII
Does it work in Single play?
yes


Surrender or die!
(Typically found in saber servers as Toxotes Antares or Major Beatdown.)
Blamer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-02-2002, 11:04 PM   #4
Enslaver22
 
Enslaver22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yavin 4, Jedi Academy
Posts: 37
Dude, way cool. Thanks alot for the info. May the Force be woith you!!!


Matery of the force, requires that all unnecessary activities be purged from daily life!!
Enslaver22 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-02-2002, 11:06 PM   #5
BlackDove
Resident Jackass
 
BlackDove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denial
Posts: 3,643
Quote:
Originally posted by Enslaver22
May the Force be woith you!!!
Something is horribly wrong there.....


There are only two constants in this world.
1. I kill you.
2. You cry for a lightsabre damage nerf.
BlackDove is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-02-2002, 11:40 PM   #6
Enslaver22
 
Enslaver22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yavin 4, Jedi Academy
Posts: 37
oops, miner spelling error,lol


Matery of the force, requires that all unnecessary activities be purged from daily life!!
Enslaver22 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-02-2002, 11:59 PM   #7
Dark Galaxy
 
Dark Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 6
doesn't work


Good luck, you're gonna need it
Dark Galaxy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2002, 12:02 AM   #8
Cracked
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 24
or...you could just take the quick and easy path and load up winamp, then turn the in-game music off.
Cracked is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2002, 12:04 AM   #9
BlackDove
Resident Jackass
 
BlackDove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denial
Posts: 3,643
.....like I did...


There are only two constants in this world.
1. I kill you.
2. You cry for a lightsabre damage nerf.
BlackDove is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2002, 01:03 PM   #10
TheMadDoofer
You gonna make biscuits?
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Not likely anywhere near you.
Posts: 1,613
What program did you use to zip the files? I need it!



"700 years old, and still **** you up I can" -Yoda
http://www.gaijindesign.com/lawriemalen/jedi/yoda.jpg


Aresen, where sanity is abnormal.
JK.com, where you can wax nostalgic about a great game
GB.com, where people are more normal, but still fun to hang around with

TheMadDoofer on WoW (Bloodscalp server), Call of Duty:UO, Battlefield 2,
JKA, and Republic Commando. If you see me, then shoot me or whatever.
TheMadDoofer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2002, 01:44 PM   #11
The Truthful Liar
In-Transit
 
The Truthful Liar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Blasting out of trajectory in a suit of terracotta
Posts: 3,548
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
I don't even use Winzip, or any other 'zipping' program for my Pk3's. I use PakScape its a great tool.


"Whatever action is performed by a great man, common men follow in his footsteps. And whatever standards he sets by exemplary acts, all the world pursues."
The Truthful Liar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2002, 01:51 PM   #12
BlackDove
Resident Jackass
 
BlackDove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denial
Posts: 3,643
Just do as Cracked said...easyest way, and no pain...


There are only two constants in this world.
1. I kill you.
2. You cry for a lightsabre damage nerf.
BlackDove is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2002, 01:51 PM   #13
TheMadDoofer
You gonna make biscuits?
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Not likely anywhere near you.
Posts: 1,613
Ok, I've done everything that it says to do, but it says that it can't find the file.



"700 years old, and still **** you up I can" -Yoda
http://www.gaijindesign.com/lawriemalen/jedi/yoda.jpg


Aresen, where sanity is abnormal.
JK.com, where you can wax nostalgic about a great game
GB.com, where people are more normal, but still fun to hang around with

TheMadDoofer on WoW (Bloodscalp server), Call of Duty:UO, Battlefield 2,
JKA, and Republic Commando. If you see me, then shoot me or whatever.
TheMadDoofer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2002, 02:22 PM   #14
eXactScienceLJK
 
eXactScienceLJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4
i'd prefer the winamp option personally but...

in game music off... how do you do that???

and are we talking multiplayer here . .. and will it work..
i.e. can you still here the announcer saying blue team got the flag.... etc. ???

thnx in advance for reply

exact
out
eXactScienceLJK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2002, 12:50 AM   #15
AB_Fazer
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
WinAmp and WinZip kick ass!

... so just shoot me!


Why can't DOS ever say "EXCELLENT COMMAND OR FILE NAME" ?
AB_Fazer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2002, 01:03 AM   #16
Elegy
 
Elegy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 355
PakScape, eh? I should look for that instead of using winzip. I suppose you could use winamp, but won't that override all the in-game sounds? Whenever I run winamp that program overrides everything for me. With this method you still hear the saber swings and gunshots and footsteps of someone coming up behind your ass and the announcements, etc.

Quote:
Ok, I've done everything that it says to do, but it says that it can't find the file.
Hmm...two things. I found out earlier that the little drawback to this is that if you're connecting to a pure server then it won't let you use any of the files in your music.pk3 file. Which kinda sucks because my favorite server happens to be a pure one. But I'd make your own game first just to test this out because then it'll let you load all your files for sure. Make sure you rename your zip file to a .pk3 file, and make sure it's in your base directory. Then just type the music command and the song's name.
Elegy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2002, 04:24 AM   #17
Bar_Tender
 
Bar_Tender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally posted by eXactScienceLJK
i'd prefer the winamp option personally but...

in game music off... how do you do that???

and are we talking multiplayer here . .. and will it work..
i.e. can you still here the announcer saying blue team got the flag.... etc. ???

thnx in advance for reply

exact
out
Go to Setup: Sound, and just slide the music volume all the way to the left
Bar_Tender is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2002, 02:52 PM   #18
Aoshi
 
Aoshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 224
oh if you wanna do that winamp thing i'd suggest you be kinda careful, cause i played songs in winamp while i was playing diablo 2 and it messed up my computer. made my cd-drive malfunction and caused alot of skippiness and what not. and if you think my computer is a pos or something then you're dead wrong. it is a dell dimension 8100 with a pentium 4 ect ect that was brand new (got it like a month before as a college gift) so if you wanna play games and use winamp at the same time just dont overdo it with the whole multiple programs thing or your computer will begin to hate you like mine does now


I will be the strongest
~Shinomori Aoshi
Aoshi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > Play your music in-game

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:36 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.