lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: MOTS secret level(?)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-25-2001, 12:23 AM   #1
Bonfire
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question MOTS secret level(?)

ok, i have read and followed the posted intructions to make the secret level to work, but yet, it still refuses to....
why? oh why can't i play Bespin.....

how do i get this to work, all the files have been made into the .goo format and all that other stuff,

please help!!!!!

your friendly neighbour hood Bonfire
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2001, 12:44 AM   #2
Boba Rhett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb

You put the goo files in the MotS Episode folder. Are you sure you did everything correctly? BTW the secret level is awsome
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2001, 02:59 PM   #3
Garindan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

I keep 4getting to check out that level!!! *goes off to check out the secret level*

oh, rhett, i checked out the level you made, pretty neat! I liked the stargate thing you did, it'd look better in blue though.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2001, 03:24 PM   #4
Garindan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

ok, i tried the secret level, and i too can't get it to come up in the new level select thing. maybe i accidentally made it a gob...
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2001, 04:10 PM   #5
Garindan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

oh well, it didn't work 4 me either. I did everything it said!

  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2001, 05:30 PM   #6
Kurgan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Arrow

Try Zorton's page, it gives a pretty good explanation:

http://zortron_2.tripod.com/index.html

Kurgan
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2001, 05:41 PM   #7
Garindan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

LOL I did that already! It didn't work. I gave up. Can you show me how to make the view distance away from the player in 3rd person view? I need it for my AT-ST level...
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2001, 12:42 PM   #8
Zortron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Holy Smokes!
Hi There,
I thought my instructions were actually pretty good, you might have to slow down a bit and actually take time to read them. Follow each step carefully and don't skip any. If you are still having probs, just fire me an e-mail and I'll get the thing working for you...that's a promise.

Take Care,
Gary (Zortron)
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2001, 03:02 PM   #9
Garindan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

hey, i know you, aren't you that guy from swrebellion.net???

I'll figure it out eventually. I've been busilty working on my some nice things 4 the level pack...
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2001, 09:13 PM   #10
Bonfire
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb

ok, thanks for your help thus far, i'm slowly figuring this out, now here we go....

1)i assume that the episode.jkl file has to be "outside" (if you will) of the goo file as well as within it? i find that the game dose not recognize that anything is there, but if the episode file is "exposed", it will disply BESPIN on the episode menu in the game....i am so lost....

and 2) i think i am missing this extention.cog file, what ever that may be, so were would i find that?

thanks all,

your friendly neighbourhood Bonfire
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2001, 10:04 PM   #11
Kurgan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

I swear I've gotten it to work. But of course I didn't place any of the files into a Goo, just put them in a directory loose. However there is no reason why it should NOT work in Goo format.. did you try it with Patch Commander?

Kurgan
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2001, 01:52 AM   #12
Boba Rhett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Maybe I should upload the level. Anyone want me to?
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2001, 03:28 AM   #13
Bonfire
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb

patch commander? very intreging, but i don't see how that would work.
and i have never thought of trying them lose...

hmmm. i wonder...

thanks all..

your friendly neighbourhood Bonfire
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2001, 07:13 AM   #14
Kurgan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Arrow

Scratch that.. actually all PC would do is say "this is a level, it should go in episode" and then it will ask you if you want to put it in the episode folder.

But you can run it in a command line.. like so:

Put the Goo file into its own sub folder in the MotS directory. Then in a DOS box or at the run command prompt, type:

c:\MOTSFolderName\jkm.exe -path SecretLevel

Where "SecretLevel" is the name of the directory you put the Goo in.

Then it should load up with the file. If that doesn't work, then I don't know.. you shouldn't have to do that, it should be selectable from the menu after you select "Single Player" if you installed it correctly.

Btw, go ahead and upload the level and post a link.. if not, I will tomorrow when I get a chance.

Kurgan

[This message has been edited by Kurgan (edited January 27, 2001).]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2001, 09:04 AM   #15
Zortron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

HI all,

Gee, you guys are having a hard time with that thing eh? Well here's a link to the secret level that I put together: http://pages.sprint.ca/3DGary/files/Bespin.zip
I have provided this file so that you can have a template to make your own. First, unzip it and stick it in your MotS/Episode directory. Run the game, select new game, select "MotS Secret Level", and have fun. All the cogs are working in this version but it hasn't been edited in Jed or anything like that (opening the file in Jed before trying to play it will ensure that it doesn't work without putting a lot of work into it ). Anyway, check it out, see where you have gone wrong, then have fun playing the game.

Take Care.
Gary (Zortron)


[This message has been edited by Zortron (edited January 27, 2001).]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2001, 06:16 PM   #16
Kurgan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

Thanks for your help Zorton. ; )

Kurgan
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2001, 08:59 PM   #17
Darth_Chaos
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Hey Bonfire you stole my Quit Message (or at least an old one)!!! ask next time please.

"your friendly neighbourhood Bonfire"
mine used to be
"Your friendly neighboorhood Sith Lord
Chaos" and now its:

Your Local Sith Lord
Chaos.



[This message has been edited by Darth_Chaos (edited January 29, 2001).]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-29-2001, 06:39 PM   #18
oninosensi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

I didn't know about the secret level untill i saw this post, but i got it up and running in about 15 minutes following Zortron's instructions.

The level is sweet, although I think Boba Fett should have been a tougher opponent. And fighting on the catwalk was cool as well.

------------------
"I see", said the blind man as he picked up his hammer and saw.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2001, 09:35 PM   #19
Bonfire
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

sorry dude i had no idea it used to be yours, i thought i was just copying everyones favorite webslinger...i'm trying to come up with a better one but till then, i hope you don't mind me using it.

your friendly neighbourhood (^Bonfire^)
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2001, 11:05 PM   #20
Garindan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

I'm dloading it right now.

it's done dloading!

i'm off to go chek it out!

YAY!
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-31-2001, 12:44 AM   #21
Garindan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

And it works!!! Thank you!!!!

It's such an awesome level!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-06-2001, 11:11 PM   #22
Scepter
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Neat level. I was getting bored and then I saw the action. Quite fun.

------------------
Jedi Master Scepter - The Other Who Brings Balance to the Force.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2001, 02:31 PM   #23
Bonfire
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy

well now i'm getting somewere....
i downloaded the level that Zortron put up, put it in the episodes and ran MOTS, to my painful displeasure the program still did not know it was there. I have no idea what to do next..perhaps i should reinstall...

your Friendly neighbourhood Bonfire
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2001, 02:44 PM   #24
Boba Rhett
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Smile

Are you sure you put it in the right folder?
The Episode one? Was the file you downloaded a gob file?
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2001, 07:58 PM   #25
Bonfire
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

the folder is the correct one and the file is deffinitly a goo file...*to those who have played the level*, does the secret level read from the cd?

your friendly neighbourhood Bonfire
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-09-2001, 10:26 PM   #26
Kurgan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Arrow

No, the Secret Level does not read from the CD. The zip file that contains the level is simply stored on it (UNSUPPORTED.ZIP).

It reads from your hard drive (Resource\Episode\ folder), just like any other addon level.

Kurgan
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-11-2001, 02:45 AM   #27
Bonfire
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy

hmm...well that limits my problems only one thing i can think of...

i don't have JK2, only MOTS, this is done (as i'm sure you know) by using a crack that fools the program into thinking that the MOTS cd is there. could this be what is hampering my ability to play this level?

your friendly neighbourhood Bonfire
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-16-2001, 03:43 PM   #28
Zortron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Hi Bonfire,
Sorry to hear you are having so much trouble with the hidden level. The only other thing I can think of (if you have already followed the posted steps very carefully), is that you might just have too much junk in your MotS directory. Do you have all kinds of add-ons and mods on your system? If you have any other files related to the hidden level in your MotS subdirectories the game might not be loading the correct (.goo 'ed) version of the file). Another thing you can try (I haven't tried this) is to download my version of the level and use the patch commander to run it. I don't know if this will work but it might be worth a try.
Anyway, let us know if you have any luck.

Take Care,
Gary (Zortron)
  you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Knight / MotS > MOTS secret level(?)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:17 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.