lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Truly a newbie
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-06-2000, 07:09 AM   #1
bc1nurse
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Truly a newbie

I just got Dark Forces II and am having some trouble. I can't seem to open any of the doors. For instance, in level one there is a red door. I've tried punching the panel next to it, blasting away at it, etc. I know that this is probably really a dumb question, but I didn't receive a manual (bundled software).
I've tried Trail's Guide, where it told me to activate it. But what is activating? (I tried typing "activate " on the command line
and the program just exits.

Thank you for your help.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-06-2000, 11:29 AM   #2
solo_anakin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

There is a button that opens doors on your keyboard, if that does not work you need a key, if the door is red you probably need the red key in order to open it.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-06-2000, 02:29 PM   #3
WeedSmoker
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
We were all newbies once. ; L~

He's right, get right up next to it, then "look" at the part of the door to open (the door itself or the panel if it has one) and hit "activate" key (space bar by default I believe). And it'll say "locked" or something if you need a key, etc, like he said.

"the grass is always greener"

[This message has been edited by WeedSmoker (edited March 06, 2000).]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-07-2000, 07:27 PM   #4
LDB_modeski
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

yup, it's a red key you need alright. I'd tell you where to get it, but that would spoil the fun.

------------------
visit the Lucky Despot Boyz Jedi Knight Clan site www.ldb.org.uk
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2000, 05:56 AM   #5
Darth Kurgan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Arrow

He said the first door in level one.. you don't need a key to open that door, red or not.

If the door says "locked" or "I need a key" or something similar then you need that color key. If it says "jammed" or something, you might need to blast it with explosives or hack it with your saber. Some doors won't open unless you throw a remote switch.

In this case, it just looks like you're not getting close enough and hitting the "activate" key. Punching it or "using" a key item (in your inventory) won't do anything.

Kurgan
  you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Knight / MotS > Truly a newbie

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:03 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.