lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Skirmish Mode Question
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-24-2000, 02:09 PM   #1
sheared
 
sheared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Teton Valley
Posts: 54
Post Skirmish Mode Question

Okay, I've only played a couple skimishes, but I've got a question about the enemy.
Does it cheat?

Reason I ask, is that I start out constantly bringing down nothing but troops, and searching the area for bunkers to capture. But then 4-5 minutes into the game, the enemy rushes me with at least as many troops as I've brought down PLUS many vehicles. And he doesn't seem to scout me out, it just seems to start as an all out, full frontal assault.

Another question, when your scout discovers a bunker, why doesn't it stay marked on the map? I find the bunker, but then have to spend time running around with troops to locate it again. Sure buildings can change between scout trips, but at least mark the last known locations.

Even another question. How do you hold on to bunkers? Since I can only put 2 troops in there, I try to keep several troops outside the bunker (since those inside can't seem to fire out of there) along with a couple of different vehicles, but when the enemy onslaught comes, a constant stream of troops eventually overpowers the bunker, and usually my troops outside get wiped out also. Should I assume that's going to be a strike point for the enemy and keep a constant flow of reinforcements? I'd sure like to hear how others approach this.

sheared is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2000, 05:19 PM   #2
The Rifter
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

The AI is a little goofy. I don't THINK it cheats... all that much. I think it knows where the bunkers are, and immediately goes after them. I found a little "trick" for winning. Find the enemy base just after the game starts, and capture it. (you would be surprised by the lack of Defense). Then, build up troops, while he can't bring anything in, and keep up pressure on all the new bases that will come down. (there will be a bunch). That is a little cheat I have found to win :-)

As for playing normally, I really don't think the AI cheats much. Like I said, I think it knows where the bunkers are, but that is it.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2000, 08:55 PM   #3
larylich
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

The AI does seeem to know where the the bunkers are... I have found that a good mix of defences (such as mortars) will keep the enemy at by. BUT, if you are using a tactic of waiting to get a big force, YOU WILL ALWAYS get overwhelmed. So be proactive and and strike hard.

Bunkers are lost in the fog of war. Just seems to be the way the game works.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2000, 04:54 PM   #4
TerrorMaroon
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question

Is it always just a variation of the same skirmish scenario and conditions? Other than different corners for the starting location, I'm always running the Rebels side. I would think that it would be possible to run the Empire side.
  you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars Classic Gaming > 2. Star Wars Gaming > Star Wars RTS Central > Skirmish Mode Question

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:42 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.