lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: The RichDiesel University Tutorial Questions Thread.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-07-2002, 06:30 PM   #641
Shadriss
 
Shadriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangor, WA
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally posted by Marth
How come i can't hear a door when it opens, whats the key & value in jk2 radiant? for a door sound?
Sound is done slightly differently, depending on SP or MP.

The SP method is easy - Key : soundset, value : (insert soundset here). The soundsets are all listed in a txt document in your JK2 folder somewhere... cant remember where off hand. If you do a search through windows for "Sound" you'll find it.

For MP it's a little more difficult. Each part of a door movement (opening, ,closing, not moving, moving, etc) has a different key. They are all listed in the properties area for that brush. Now, the sounds that are avaliable are the same as for SP, ,but you cant use the soundset option. Fortunetely, the soundsets also list the individual sounds that make up the set. So, just plug them in and there you go.


Shadriss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-07-2002, 06:36 PM   #642
Shadriss
 
Shadriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangor, WA
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally posted by Fettt-Disorder
Heres a couple more questions(since im learning more here than anywhere else)

1. can someone explain to me how to make a portal?

2. In the system shaders, there are some shaders like hint, mirror,vidoe, slick etc.. what exactly do they do?

thats it for now, but im sure i will have more eventually
I assume you are talking AreaPortals here. Making one is easy - PLACING them is a bit more difficult. To make one, ,just make a brush and cover all sides with the "system/areaportal" texture. They should be placed ENTIRELY inside a door. The idea is to cause a split in the VIS process during compile, so that when the doors are closed, the game doesn't draw what's beyond them.

Since a func_door isn't considered structural for the purposes of VIS, the areaportal essentially takes its place. But ONLY if it is placed INSIDE the door, and only touches TWO areas. For more on this, check out Rich's Tuts.

As for all the system shaders, they only ones you should really worry about for now are the caulk, caulk_nonsolid, clip, physics_clip, trigger, and areaportal. Those are the ones you are going to use the most by FAR.

If you need more information on those textures, ask specific questions.

Hope that helped.


Shadriss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-07-2002, 09:13 PM   #643
Marth
 
Marth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The man in the plane about to crash
Posts: 333
I can't create Npcs by triggering Rich Diesel's tut was confusining and hard to understand on triggering NPCs. can anyone help?
Marth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2002, 11:35 AM   #644
Marth
 
Marth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The man in the plane about to crash
Posts: 333
Why do my waypoints and point combats dissapera when i de-select, duplicte and try to link them?
Marth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2002, 05:21 PM   #645
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
how do i trigger a light and can i do it in mp?

I tryed rich's tutorials and got lost at the end

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2002, 02:50 PM   #646
Darth Saul
 
Darth Saul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: I live....Geez, I forget
Posts: 14
Hmm....

101, all you have to do, is make a switch and then select your switch then your light and press Shift + K at the same time. Then everytime you press the switch, the light comes on.

But now for my question, my skies aren't working. Ya know how is displays them in the texture winder below the 3d camera? Well it just has the pic over and over again. There's no sky...

And How do you make elevators? I wouldn't mind knowing that for my level...

and lastly, I don't get how you make glass, I got lost in the tutorial really fast.

Anyway, thanks


A wise man once said, "What is worth anything? Who's presence is valued? The answer to any question is only true in the eye of the confutator." So next time, why stop because it's "uncool", if no one can define what cool really is...




Last edited by Darth Saul; 12-11-2002 at 03:09 PM.
Darth Saul is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2002, 04:28 PM   #647
Shadriss
 
Shadriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangor, WA
Posts: 740
Re: Hmm....

Quote:
Originally posted by Darth Saul
But now for my question, my skies aren't working. Ya know how is displays them in the texture winder below the 3d camera? Well it just has the pic over and over again. There's no sky...

And How do you make elevators? I wouldn't mind knowing that for my level...

and lastly, I don't get how you make glass, I got lost in the tutorial really fast.

Anyway, thanks
Okies - first the skies. With one exception (the "Space" shader) All of the skies use a shader. Given. THere is going to be a texture that is white and has the word "sky" on it. It's name will be similar to the sky you are trying to implement. Locate and use that.

Elevators - This is more complicated, but here's how I make mine. First, create your elevator itself. The actual structure. Now, at the top and bottom, make the buttons for it. Now, with that done, select all the brushes that make up your elevator, and turn them into a func_plat. Select the button ITSELF from the button setups and turn them into a func_button. Create a target_delay and place it in the map near one of the buttons. Select your first button, and have it target the target_delay. Repeat for the second button. Now, target the delay at the elevaotr itself, then assign sounds, ,distances, speeds as described in Rich's Tuts. Viola.

Glass - Extremely simple. First, make the brush that's going to be glass. Load up the Common texture set. You'll see several choices of glass types, but for simplicity, ,just use "glass" Apply it to the surfaces that your player will be able to see through. Generally, this is only two sides. Now, make the glass brush a "detail" brush by selecting it and hitting ctrl-m. Done. If you want it to be breakable, you can also turn it into a func_glass.

Hope that helps. NOW GET BACK TO WORK!


Shadriss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-12-2002, 10:37 AM   #648
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
I think there is a simpler way to make elevators, if all you want is a platform that starts at the bottom, goes up when you step on it, and goes down again, but also comes up to the top if someone goes to the elevator shaft at the top.

Make an elevator brush and make it a func_plat, assign speed and a delay value for how long to wait at the top.

Then, make two trigger brushes: one goes at the bottom of the elevator shaft, IN the elevator shaft, so that the player triggers it when they step on the elevator at the bottom. The second goes at the top of the elevator shaft, just OUTSIDE the shaft, so that the player triggers it when they come near the top of the elevator wanting to get down. Select BOTH trigger brushes and make them into a trigger_multiple. Set the delay on the single dismembered trigger to be about 1-2 seconds longer than it takes the elevator to complete its movement (up, wait, down), and target it at the elevator.

That way, if you're at the bottom and want to go up, you just step onto the platform and it will take you, wait a little to let you get off, and go back down. If you're at the top wanting to go down, the elevator will come up to get you, wait a little to pick you up, take you down, and then wait a bit before taking you up again if you're still standing on it. Like the old elevators in JK.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-12-2002, 12:03 PM   #649
Shadriss
 
Shadriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangor, WA
Posts: 740
That works too... I just usually add in buttons cause they make a level seem a little more thought out and well... pretty.


Shadriss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-12-2002, 02:48 PM   #650
Marth
 
Marth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The man in the plane about to crash
Posts: 333
wedge what did you mean by "dismembered"
Marth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-12-2002, 09:51 PM   #651
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
uuummmmm no

dark i already triedthat and it didn't work

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-12-2002, 10:19 PM   #652
Darth Saul
 
Darth Saul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: I live....Geez, I forget
Posts: 14
I'm still not sure I understand how to make skies...

But now I have another question. How do I make water?

CHris, thanks already


A wise man once said, "What is worth anything? Who's presence is valued? The answer to any question is only true in the eye of the confutator." So next time, why stop because it's "uncool", if no one can define what cool really is...



Darth Saul is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2002, 04:41 AM   #653
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Darth Saul: http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...threadid=86484


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2002, 04:32 PM   #654
Darth Saul
 
Darth Saul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: I live....Geez, I forget
Posts: 14
I tried that...

But the one thing is. I can't get in it...


A wise man once said, "What is worth anything? Who's presence is valued? The answer to any question is only true in the eye of the confutator." So next time, why stop because it's "uncool", if no one can define what cool really is...



Darth Saul is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2002, 06:46 PM   #655
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
You know that's not enough info to help us figure out what's wrong.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2002, 07:31 PM   #656
Darth Saul
 
Darth Saul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: I live....Geez, I forget
Posts: 14
Sorry,

I fixed it on my own however, and now after doing all of this extensive work, my BSP process isn't working. When I use BSP fullvis, it says 0second (That's how long it took) but the BSP never shows up, and normally it take like 4 minutes. My map was permanently screwed up already and I can't let it happen again! PLEASE HELP!!!!!


A wise man once said, "What is worth anything? Who's presence is valued? The answer to any question is only true in the eye of the confutator." So next time, why stop because it's "uncool", if no one can define what cool really is...



Darth Saul is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2002, 03:01 AM   #657
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Isn't there a leak in your map after the changes? Look in junk.txt for the info.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2002, 11:29 AM   #658
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Try reinstalling Radiant...

Marth, by "dismembered," i meant that there are TWO trigger brushes in different locations, that aren't touching each other, but they are made into ONE trigger_multiple.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2002, 03:29 PM   #659
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
I have a few questions:

1. How do i trigger light? (darth saul your previous answer didn't work)

2. I can scale objects up but is there a way to scale them down?

3. I get an error that says CM InlightModel: Bad Number when I try to open my map in-game. How do i fix this?

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2002, 03:43 PM   #660
Marth
 
Marth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The man in the plane about to crash
Posts: 333
OK i got 4 questions here


1. I too want to triggers lights, but so far i can only trigger them off.

2.How do you trigger an NPC after you kill another NPC meaning :
Kyle kills a reborn and a shoadow trooper os triggered after the reborn is killed.

3. How do you toggle between action & explore music in appropriate spots. Ex: empty room, reborn enters action music, reborn dies explore music.

4. Why do my waypoints & point combats dissapear after I de-select them?
Marth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2002, 04:59 PM   #661
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
map maker 101:

3. That means you have too many brushes in brush based entities if I remember.

Marth:

2. Target the NPC_Reborn to NPC_ShadowTrooper.

3. You can do that probably with the modification of the dms.dat file wich is in the ext_data folder (or in assets0.pk3 in the same folder).

4. Check the View menu of Radiant. Those things might be filtered out.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2002, 05:33 PM   #662
Marth
 
Marth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The man in the plane about to crash
Posts: 333
what do i open dms.dat with? notepad?
Marth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2002, 06:12 PM   #663
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Notepad is good such as any text editor.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2002, 09:42 PM   #664
Marth
 
Marth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The man in the plane about to crash
Posts: 333
ill take that as a yes, ill give it a shot



Leslie Judge.........


when i linked an NPC to an NPC that was triggered they all just created at once, what did i do wrong?



Also...................
Whats a good key & value for a function plat sound?

Last edited by Marth; 12-15-2002 at 11:44 AM.
Marth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2002, 01:03 PM   #665
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Quote:
Originally posted by Marth
Leslie Judge.........


when i linked an NPC to an NPC that was triggered they all just created at once, what did i do wrong?
So, you trigger your reborn first, right? So you have a trigger_anythink targeted to the NPC_Reborn. I wrote, target the Reborn to the ShadowTrooper not reverse. That means select Reborn first then the ShadowTrooper and press CTRL+K.

If this doesn't work then someone gave me false infos.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2002, 01:19 PM   #666
Marth
 
Marth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The man in the plane about to crash
Posts: 333
looks like someone gave you false info unless you mis-interperated it
Marth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2002, 06:30 PM   #667
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
Question

I have two questions:

1. HOW do i trigger lights??? just making a trigger multiple ang linking it to the light doesn't work.

2. How do i scale objects down???????? I can scale them up but not down


Last edited by Lil Killa; 12-16-2002 at 11:30 PM.
Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2002, 05:24 PM   #668
Darth Saul
 
Darth Saul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: I live....Geez, I forget
Posts: 14
Umm....

Once again, I fixed all of my problems, although I'm still having some.

#1- My skies are not working!!! It just shows up as the pic in the texture window. And that's not good.

#2- How do I make my map bot-supported? The Rich-Diesal site says that I should if I want to release it.

#3- How do I make my level downloadable on my own site? What's the code in html?

Thanks in advance...


A wise man once said, "What is worth anything? Who's presence is valued? The answer to any question is only true in the eye of the confutator." So next time, why stop because it's "uncool", if no one can define what cool really is...



Darth Saul is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2002, 05:26 PM   #669
Marth
 
Marth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The man in the plane about to crash
Posts: 333
Mapmaker 101

3. Use info nulls, however don't put too many lights on one info_null. Make sure you target them with ctrl+k
Marth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-19-2002, 05:33 PM   #670
DigitalVapor
 
DigitalVapor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 163
uno problemo senior!

Rich, I love your tutorials. That flame jet tut made my map concept possible but I have a couple problems. The most prominent being ...The flames dont last long enough! I need the flame jets to fire for at least 5 seconds before turning off again. I have tried the toggle method but this sucks because they dont turn off again unless you trigger them again. How do i fix them so they last longer (like the combustion chamber on the Bespin_undercity map) Oh and this is an MP map I am making.

Also, I thought you'd like to know, the splashDamage key doesnt work on multiplayer fx_runners. So I improvised with a trigger_hurt entity


Im just a guy with a lightsaber and a few questions. ....Oh wait, I dont have a lightsaber. Uhhh...I dont really have any questions either. Ya know I think I'm in the wrong cantina too. Oh well, give me a shot of blue milk.
DigitalVapor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2002, 01:03 PM   #671
Darth Saul
 
Darth Saul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: I live....Geez, I forget
Posts: 14
Umm....

can someone tell me how to make my door open using a button, but not to close unless the button is pressed again?

Thanks


A wise man once said, "What is worth anything? Who's presence is valued? The answer to any question is only true in the eye of the confutator." So next time, why stop because it's "uncool", if no one can define what cool really is...



Darth Saul is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2002, 06:59 PM   #672
Father Torque
Retro KFC
 
Father Torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mercer Island,WA
Posts: 1,341
Hot Topic Starter 
HOW much does Radiant cost and if it is downloadable what is its file sze in Mb's?

Father Torque is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2002, 11:39 PM   #673
Shadriss
 
Shadriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangor, WA
Posts: 740
Re: Umm....

Quote:
Originally posted by Darth Saul
can someone tell me how to make my door open using a button, but not to close unless the button is pressed again?

Thanks
Cant be donwe in MP. IN SP it can be done using the TOGGLE checkbox.

Radient is free, dont know the size. Depends on wiether you get JK2Radient (what I use) or GTKRadient (what a lot of OTHER people use) JK@ Radient can be d-l;oadied from Rich's tut site.


Shadriss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2002, 01:35 PM   #674
Brandoise
 
Brandoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 19
Just a question:
Is it possible to include teleporters in mp maps? Thanks guys! AWESOME tutorials!!!!!
Brandoise is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2002, 05:04 PM   #675
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
Exclamation plz someone answer me

Quote:
Originally posted by map maker 101
I have two questions:

1. HOW do i trigger lights??? just making a trigger multiple ang linking it to the light doesn't work.

2. How do i scale objects down???????? I can scale them up but not down

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-29-2002, 02:04 PM   #676
Ol-Gil
 
Ol-Gil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 20
Switch Door Trouble

Hey all.

So I'm working on a Saga map, and I've added a large gate controlled by a switch.

The gate is a set of double doors, and I know all the basics are in order. My only problem with the door is that I need the "toggle" flag selected, so that it doesn't automatically begin to close once it's all the way opened. However, "toggle" is not inlcuded in the selectable checkboxes for func_door. I tried using a wait value of -1, but it did not suspend the wait period, the door began to close as soon as it was opened fully.

This is wreaking havoc with the func_useables I'm using for the switch open and closed textures, as well. The open texture never shows up, and the closed texture is never timed very well. I'm assuming this problem is just due to the funky door closing.

I guess my main problem is, I need to set the door to toggle, or get the -1 wait to work, so that they don't close on their own.

Anybody got any ideas?
Ol-Gil is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-30-2002, 02:15 AM   #677
Shadriss
 
Shadriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangor, WA
Posts: 740
Ol-Gil - as I said a few posts back, It can't be done in MP. The best you can hope for is a door with a LONG delay time. Yhe toggle switch, although mentioned in the writeup for the func_door in the entities screen, does not exist in MP mode. I'm afraid you may have to find another way to deal with that door.

Map Maker - I went loking at the dynamic lights tut in RichDiesel's tuts, and, though I'm not sure they work in MP as I havent tried it myself, there is a process listed there under the title "Entities 220: DYnamic Lighting" (http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.co...en220lsn1.html)

If it can be done - that's how to do it. Be sure to let me know if it works.

As for scaling objects up and down - what do you mean objects? MD3's? Brushes? What?


Shadriss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-30-2002, 02:50 AM   #678
Marth
 
Marth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The man in the plane about to crash
Posts: 333
How do you make locked doors to be unlocked by keys, and when you use the key to open a door it changes color?
Marth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-31-2002, 07:16 AM   #679
Johnny-Rico
 
Johnny-Rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 144
yea i was wondering how do u make door that will open only by keys.
Johnny-Rico is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-31-2002, 08:26 AM   #680
Ol-Gil
 
Ol-Gil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 20
Duhr.

Doy, my fault for not reading up a few posts.

Okay, so what if I made my double doors a couple of triggerable func_trains? That would conceivably work, wouldn't it?

Also, can the "facing" option of a trigger brush be used in MP? I can't seem to find it.

Much obliged.
Ol-Gil is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > The RichDiesel University Tutorial Questions Thread.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:26 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.