lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: The RichDiesel University Tutorial Questions Thread.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-30-2003, 07:32 AM   #921
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Erm... I'm not sure you got the same what I read a few weeks ago, but basically the solution is having a picture with the leaves. Actually a .tga file where the background is maked out in the alpha channel.

You need a shader which maps this picture with leaving out the background and scrolls it mostly horizontally and a little vertically maybe.

Then you need one or more cylinders (a little malformed ones) with this shader applied.

Hmm... I'm not sure I've made it clearer.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-01-2003, 04:32 AM   #922
Druid Bremen
 
Druid Bremen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Trolling in the Senate Chambers
Posts: 610
AGHHHHH....

Ok, I will drop this Leaf thing and there is another mind-boggling question. HOW DO YOU MAKE THE ENTIRE MAP SHAKE THROUGH A TRIGGER??? Please excuse the caps.



My signature made by IG-64! Thanks a lot man!

The *only* thing that ALL the religions get right is that ALL the other religions are wrong, excluding this fact.
Druid Bremen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2003, 12:32 AM   #923
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
I don't think it can be done

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2003, 04:14 AM   #924
Druid Bremen
 
Druid Bremen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Trolling in the Senate Chambers
Posts: 610
Ok then...

There seems to be another method. Ok, for example, I have a spinning cone. How do I make it move around?
Do I have to connect it to a origin brush with func_train applied?


Edit: Ok, forgot to add another question. How do I spawn an entity, make it move somewhere, and then disappear.
Eg. Look at the Nar Shadaa Multiplayer Map. See that weird ship zooming from 1 side of the map to the other? You do? Ok, help me then.



My signature made by IG-64! Thanks a lot man!

The *only* thing that ALL the religions get right is that ALL the other religions are wrong, excluding this fact.

Last edited by Druid Bremen; 05-08-2003 at 07:34 AM.
Druid Bremen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2003, 06:45 PM   #925
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
Re: Ok then...

Quote:
Originally posted by DarkLord
There seems to be another method. Ok, for example, I have a spinning cone. How do I make it move around?
Do I have to connect it to a origin brush with func_train applied?
well is it spinning as in it already being a func_rotating? If so you can't have it move around. But if it is spining due to a shader (just the surface apearing to spin) than u can make it a func_train.

Quote:

Edit: Ok, forgot to add another question. How do I spawn an entity, make it move somewhere, and then disappear.
Eg. Look at the Nar Shadaa Multiplayer Map. See that weird ship zooming from 1 side of the map to the other? You do? Ok, help me then.

it is a func_train that has paths outside of the map. so it makes a loop.

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-08-2003, 08:37 PM   #926
lauser
 
lauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 428
LOL!! I made shader files for some forcefields in my map.....But I have NO IDEA how to turn them off and on?
Is it fx_runner or function or? I just want to know how to make forcefields turn ON / OFF....

Thnx in advance......


My kung fu is also very weak
lauser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2003, 06:17 AM   #927
Druid Bremen
 
Druid Bremen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Trolling in the Senate Chambers
Posts: 610
Thanks for the help but......

Ok, the second is solved. What about the other? Where can I find this sort of shaders? If you really want to know, I am making a whirlwind with a path... How...



My signature made by IG-64! Thanks a lot man!

The *only* thing that ALL the religions get right is that ALL the other religions are wrong, excluding this fact.
Druid Bremen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2003, 09:49 AM   #928
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Quote:
Originally posted by lauser
LOL!! I made shader files for some forcefields in my map.....But I have NO IDEA how to turn them off and on?
Is it fx_runner or function or? I just want to know how to make forcefields turn ON / OFF....

Thnx in advance......
They should be func_wall. You can turn them on and off by triggering them.
Quote:
Originally posted by DarkLord
Ok, the second is solved. What about the other? Where can I find this sort of shaders? If you really want to know, I am making a whirlwind with a path... How...
I think the best way is what map mapker 101 mentioned: using a shader for the wirlwind effect and make the cone into a func_train which can follow a path.

You will need a semi transparent texture which looks like the wirlwind if you would flatten it, and a shader code wich scrolls it very fast horizontally. Something like:
Code:
textures/mymap/wirlwind
{
  q3map_nolightmap
  cull disable
  {
    map textures/mymap/wirlwind.tga
    blendFunc GL_SRC_ALPHA GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA
    tcMod scroll 100 0
  }
}
This is just an example.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2003, 02:42 PM   #929
lauser
 
lauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 428
Leslie, since func_wall is NOT in the entities window, I made a func_wall KEY and NO value then tried to target it-----Didn't work.

Please explain further.....thanks


My kung fu is also very weak
lauser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2003, 08:52 PM   #930
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
My bad, sorry. I was at work. The entitiy is func_static.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-10-2003, 04:08 AM   #931
Druid Bremen
 
Druid Bremen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Trolling in the Senate Chambers
Posts: 610
AGHHHHH....

Cannot find a suitable shader for it... Can anyone please direct me to the website with such a shader?



My signature made by IG-64! Thanks a lot man!

The *only* thing that ALL the religions get right is that ALL the other religions are wrong, excluding this fact.
Druid Bremen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-10-2003, 04:13 AM   #932
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
http://quake3.qeradiant.com/q3afiles/leaves.htm

read the whole thing and u should be able to understand wat he says at the bottom which is what u want to do.

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-10-2003, 08:37 AM   #933
Druid Bremen
 
Druid Bremen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Trolling in the Senate Chambers
Posts: 610
Ahhhh.... This I have read before. But, I am certainly not competent enough to do such stuff. And anyway, I also need to find such a shader, not how to make one. Can any shader expert please please help me?



My signature made by IG-64! Thanks a lot man!

The *only* thing that ALL the religions get right is that ALL the other religions are wrong, excluding this fact.
Druid Bremen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2003, 12:16 AM   #934
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
I can make the shader just draw the stuff for me and send it to me at austinm316@hotmail.com.

Also I expect full credit for creating the shader portion in the readme if u decide to go with this plan.

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2003, 02:05 AM   #935
Druid Bremen
 
Druid Bremen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Trolling in the Senate Chambers
Posts: 610
well, stuff??

But I cant draw! Could you help me with that too? Dont worry, just make the shader, and I will open it up and direct the path to my map file. Just make it for me please. And, you will get FULL credit for the shader AND the whirlwind stuff. Thank you.



My signature made by IG-64! Thanks a lot man!

The *only* thing that ALL the religions get right is that ALL the other religions are wrong, excluding this fact.

Last edited by Druid Bremen; 05-11-2003 at 03:22 AM.
Druid Bremen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2003, 08:11 PM   #936
OneWingedAngel
 
OneWingedAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 35
I downloaded GTK, but can't find brush cleanup...


WIP: Tropical Paradise (I'll have screenies up soon)


OneWingedAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2003, 10:07 PM   #937
Obsidian-Jovani
 
Obsidian-Jovani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Onderon
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally posted by OneWingedAngel
I downloaded GTK, but can't find brush cleanup...
Goto "Plugins" then "bobToolz" then "Brush Cleanup"


Binary Sunset Studios

WIP: A SP Project entitled "Resurgence"
Obsidian-Jovani is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2003, 06:15 AM   #938
Druid Bremen
 
Druid Bremen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Trolling in the Senate Chambers
Posts: 610
Hmmm...

Beginning to get a bit worried about my " Shader " Lol... Wonder when it will be ready...



My signature made by IG-64! Thanks a lot man!

The *only* thing that ALL the religions get right is that ALL the other religions are wrong, excluding this fact.
Druid Bremen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-25-2003, 11:13 PM   #939
BongoBob
Good Eye, Sniper
 
BongoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Camper Velourium
Posts: 6,391
Current Game: BC2, FFXIII
The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran 
Don't understand

I'm completely lost, I'm on the models in a level, and I put in the bespin bench, but I don't know how to apply the clip brush, please help me sum1?I click on it, but then it wont let me apply it. I dont know whats wrong, I Shift click it in 3d view, a red outline of a box forms around it, and I go to click on the clip, and nutin happens, and it's pissin me off.


BongoBob is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-26-2003, 12:49 AM   #940
Obsidian-Jovani
 
Obsidian-Jovani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Onderon
Posts: 223
Re: Don't understand

Quote:
Originally posted by BongoBob
I don't know how to apply the clip brush, please help me sum1?I click on it, but then it wont let me apply it.
Well the clip brush is a shader. Here's what you do. Just make a brush surronding your bench and with that entire brush selected click on the CLIP shader. That'll make the bench solid.

But the problem here will be that you'll be able to stand in mid air. So with a bench you'll want to be precise. Place a clip brush over the seat and the back and side rail (if any).

Not that hard to do eh...


Binary Sunset Studios

WIP: A SP Project entitled "Resurgence"
Obsidian-Jovani is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-27-2003, 09:14 PM   #941
BongoBob
Good Eye, Sniper
 
BongoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Camper Velourium
Posts: 6,391
Current Game: BC2, FFXIII
The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran 
Ty! I didn't undrstand to make a brush around it, then apply the clip shader to it. Now working on General Concepts 102 Class Project

Cheers mate!


BongoBob is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-27-2003, 10:17 PM   #942
OneWingedAngel
 
OneWingedAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally posted by Obsidian-Jovani
Goto "Plugins" then "bobToolz" then "Brush Cleanup"
It's not there


WIP: Tropical Paradise (I'll have screenies up soon)


OneWingedAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-27-2003, 10:25 PM   #943
Obsidian-Jovani
 
Obsidian-Jovani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Onderon
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally posted by OneWingedAngel
It's not there
What version of GTKRadiant are you using? I believe versions 1.2.12 and later have this plugin already in there.


Binary Sunset Studios

WIP: A SP Project entitled "Resurgence"
Obsidian-Jovani is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2003, 07:12 AM   #944
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
The earlier versions of GtkRadiant have it too. JK2Radiant doesn't.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2003, 11:53 AM   #945
Patrick_H
 
Patrick_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 85
Great Tutorial

Thanks to Rich for a great Tutorial. I reformatted the HTML and printed it out. I kept it in a binder while I learned Radiant. I now feel like I know Radiant almost like the back of my hand.

However...

The biggest thing on my clarification wishlist is: worldspawn options!
I realize that it is used to make global changes to a map, but I can't seem to be able to find an appendix of all the worldspawn options and their parameters. Anyone know where to find this?

Also, I have been using JK2 Radiant for compiling, with BSP FullVIS extra.
I tried compiling with GTK, since so many here seem to heavily tout its compiling, but it gave me a whole host of errors and a stunted BSP file.
C'mon, is there really, really a worthwhile difference to compiling with some more complicated lighting options in GTK?

I can't stand fudging around over technical nits.
Patrick_H is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2003, 02:09 PM   #946
Obsidian-Jovani
 
Obsidian-Jovani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Onderon
Posts: 223
Re: Great Tutorial

Quote:
Originally posted by Patrick_H
The biggest thing on my clarification wishlist is: worldspawn options! I realize that it is used to make global changes to a map, but I can't seem to be able to find an appendix of all the worldspawn options and their parameters. Anyone know where to find this?
Well if you goto http://qeradiant.com/manual/Q3Rad_Manual/index.htm you'll find a manual for GTKRadiant. In Appendix B you'll find information on the Worldspawn.


Binary Sunset Studios

WIP: A SP Project entitled "Resurgence"
Obsidian-Jovani is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2003, 02:13 PM   #947
Patrick_H
 
Patrick_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 85
Thanks OJ. I actually have that entire manual printed out too. I saw the section on worldspawn- but are its Q3 definitions identical to JO?
Patrick_H is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2003, 02:15 PM   #948
Obsidian-Jovani
 
Obsidian-Jovani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Onderon
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally posted by Patrick_H
I saw the section on worldspawn- but are its Q3 definitions identical to JO?
JO is based on the Q3 engine so it should all be the same.


Binary Sunset Studios

WIP: A SP Project entitled "Resurgence"
Obsidian-Jovani is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2003, 02:17 PM   #949
Patrick_H
 
Patrick_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 85
Thanks!
Patrick_H is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2003, 04:39 PM   #950
AODSocrates
 
AODSocrates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2
useing the richdiesel method i can't get func_door to work
and i i'd have to have a light every couple of squares for the diesired lighting.... and i can't get mirrors to work andsometimes my custom textires appear mirrored so i can't read anything.... and how would i get a song to play on my map?
any help would be greatly appriciated


AODSocrates is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2003, 08:02 PM   #951
OneWingedAngel
 
OneWingedAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally posted by AODSocrates
useing the richdiesel method i can't get func_door to work
and i i'd have to have a light every couple of squares for the diesired lighting.... and i can't get mirrors to work andsometimes my custom textires appear mirrored so i can't read anything.... and how would i get a song to play on my map?
any help would be greatly appriciated
The door-Not enough information. What's your problem?

Desired lighting- Yeah, you do need to do that.

Mirrors and Custom Textures- Don't ask me about textures cause I don't know 'em.


WIP: Tropical Paradise (I'll have screenies up soon)


OneWingedAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2003, 09:44 PM   #952
AODSocrates
 
AODSocrates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2
i use the func_door on both sides of the doors like it said and i hear the sound but the door doesn't open... and if i stay there on the vicinity of it that it would open for about 5 times for it to open it crashes my comp...


AODSocrates is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-06-2003, 03:34 AM   #953
Druid Bremen
 
Druid Bremen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Trolling in the Senate Chambers
Posts: 610
Hmmm... copy the tutorial EXACTLY as it said. Then see if it works. If not... I dont know whats wrong with your Radiant.



My signature made by IG-64! Thanks a lot man!

The *only* thing that ALL the religions get right is that ALL the other religions are wrong, excluding this fact.
Druid Bremen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-06-2003, 07:56 AM   #954
BongoBob
Good Eye, Sniper
 
BongoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Camper Velourium
Posts: 6,391
Current Game: BC2, FFXIII
The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran 
I have one BIG problem I'm currently on the brushes fog level. I've laid my brushes, caulked them, and fogged the top and bottom(exactly like the tutorial said), but when I full vis, It says,...

"WARNING: textures/fogs/fog.tga has empty alpha channel"

And when I ignored it and tried to test it, it either a)Crashes my comp to where I have to unplug and replug the comp, or, b)says it has an error and needs to close.Usually, it was the latter. Can someone help me out here???


BongoBob is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2003, 03:26 PM   #955
OneWingedAngel
 
OneWingedAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally posted by OneWingedAngel
It's not there
The only pulgin I have is model


WIP: Tropical Paradise (I'll have screenies up soon)


OneWingedAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2003, 10:55 PM   #956
AOD Socrates
 
AOD Socrates's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 2
i worked out that problem.. i hadn't set an angle for the door... but anyway do you know how i can do fire? i've been set a room thats pitch black and is going to have a path lined by fire... i wanna know how to do fire... lol i love anyhelp ya'll could give me
AOD Socrates is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2003, 10:56 PM   #957
AOD Socrates
 
AOD Socrates's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 2
i worked out that problem.. i hadn't set an angle for the door... but anyway do you know how i can do fire? i've been set a room thats pitch black and is going to have a path lined by fire... i wanna know how to do fire... lol i love anyhelp ya'll could give me
AOD Socrates is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2003, 11:28 PM   #958
Obsidian-Jovani
 
Obsidian-Jovani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Onderon
Posts: 223
You need to make a fxrunner entity. It'll be a blue box. After you place it where you want the fire add the key: fxFile and value: env/small_fire. Next add a light above your fire and change the color by pressing "k" and choosing orange. Compile and be sure to set your sv_pure to 0 (if this is a MP map). All done.


Binary Sunset Studios

WIP: A SP Project entitled "Resurgence"
Obsidian-Jovani is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-08-2003, 12:14 AM   #959
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally posted by OneWingedAngel
The only pulgin I have is model
You must be using one of the 1.3.x pre-release versions of GtkRadiant. In order to get the rest of the plugins (portal viewer, Bobz Toolz, GtkGenSurf, etc) you need to use a release from the "stable" development tree, I think 1.2.11+1.2.13patch is the most current "stable" release.
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-08-2003, 07:01 AM   #960
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
I get this error when I try to compile. It stops the compile process in the lighting section but appears in the bsp part.

MAX_ORIGINAL_EDGES <MAX_ORIGINAL_EDGES = 65536>

please help me....

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > The RichDiesel University Tutorial Questions Thread.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:49 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.