lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: The RichDiesel University Tutorial Questions Thread.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-09-2003, 03:38 PM   #961
OneWingedAngel
 
OneWingedAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally posted by AODSocrates
i use the func_door on both sides of the doors like it said and i hear the sound but the door doesn't open... and if i stay there on the vicinity of it that it would open for about 5 times for it to open it crashes my comp...
I have absolutely no idea what you are talking about... A door is made like this...

1) Make a brush the size of your door.

2)Highlight only that brush and right click. Move your cursor over func and then select func_door.

3)Press "N". Put in the variable angle, then put the angel you want for the direction the door opens.

4)If you want it to look smooth, take the brush it's going to open into and cut a hole for the door.

You don't have to do anything on both sides of the doors...


WIP: Tropical Paradise (I'll have screenies up soon)


OneWingedAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-09-2003, 05:47 PM   #962
OneWingedAngel
 
OneWingedAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 35
Lightmaps exceed max memory (9682944 > 8388608)

How do I fix this problem?


WIP: Tropical Paradise (I'll have screenies up soon)


OneWingedAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-09-2003, 08:26 PM   #963
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
Quote:
Originally posted by map maker 101
I get this error when I try to compile. It stops the compile process in the lighting section but appears in the bsp part.

MAX_ORIGINAL_EDGES <MAX_ORIGINAL_EDGES = 65536>

please help me....



after a few more bsps i found another problem which i forgot the name of but it is caused when u mave a brush with too many cuts on it. I had a brush i had cut alot so i cut it into sections then bsped and now both problems have gone away:S. Wierd how stuff happens. I would still like to know what causes the error incase i see it in the future though.

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-09-2003, 08:32 PM   #964
OneWingedAngel
 
OneWingedAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally posted by OneWingedAngel
Lightmaps exceed max memory (9682944 > 8388608)

How do I fix this problem?
Quote:
Originally posted by Leslie Judge
Did you read Kengo's thread he posted on that thread too? Here's a correct link to it: http://www.lucasforums.com/showthre...8746#post828746. Who knows, maybe you can find something useful there.

Anyway, the solution can be the bigger samplesize (default is 16) for the light process of the compile. If you use JK2Radiant and/or sof2map still then try "bsp FullVis (1/2 LMs)". That will make samplesize 32.

On the thread I mentioned they speak about changing the lightgrid size. I think it's not necessary because the error you got wan not "Exceeded max map lightgrid". So I think you can leave it as is.
Hehe, I thought I asked this question before...


WIP: Tropical Paradise (I'll have screenies up soon)



Last edited by OneWingedAngel; 06-09-2003 at 09:10 PM.
OneWingedAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-09-2003, 10:44 PM   #965
OneWingedAngel
 
OneWingedAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 35
Circular staircases and curved pipes, how do you do them?


WIP: Tropical Paradise (I'll have screenies up soon)


OneWingedAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-10-2003, 01:24 AM   #966
Obsidian-Jovani
 
Obsidian-Jovani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Onderon
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally posted by OneWingedAngel
Circular staircases and curved pipes, how do you do them?
Here are links that just lists what to do to make a spiral staircase. It doesn't have graphics though I'm afraid.

http://www.massassi.com/coffeestain/radiant2.html
http://planetquake.com/bubba/spiral1.html
http://planetquake.com/qworkshop3/tu...ral/index.html


Here is a link for curved pipes:

http://www.massassi.net/tutorials/jo_pipecurve/


Binary Sunset Studios

WIP: A SP Project entitled "Resurgence"
Obsidian-Jovani is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-11-2003, 12:42 AM   #967
OneWingedAngel
 
OneWingedAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 35
How do I put music into my level? I know how to do it in Worldspawn, but how do I put it in my pk3 so that others can listen to it?


WIP: Tropical Paradise (I'll have screenies up soon)


OneWingedAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-11-2003, 01:02 PM   #968
Obsidian-Jovani
 
Obsidian-Jovani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Onderon
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally posted by OneWingedAngel
How do I put music into my level? I know how to do it in Worldspawn, but how do I put it in my pk3 so that others can listen to it?
All you do is put your music file in a folder called music inside your pk3 file. Then in the worldspawn make sure you have the correct pathname that points to that music file within your new folder.


Binary Sunset Studios

WIP: A SP Project entitled "Resurgence"
Obsidian-Jovani is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-20-2003, 08:47 PM   #969
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
At the start, when I get to General Concepts 101: Lesson 4, I get stuck. After I make the "room," I try to play it. However, even though I tried to place it where it was to be, I can't move. When I start it, I get stuck at the top of the room. How do I get passed this?

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-21-2003, 07:10 PM   #970
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Move the info_player_start downwards until it's bottom touches the top of the floor brush.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-21-2003, 09:55 PM   #971
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
Nope, I'm still stuck. It's probably something simple, but I can't figure it out.

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-22-2003, 01:13 PM   #972
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
This is a stupid question but... Is that room tall enough?


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-25-2003, 08:47 PM   #973
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
Yes, it is. My room is much brighter than the one on the screenshot. Why is it, and could it help with the answer?

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-26-2003, 11:56 AM   #974
Louis
 
Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 87
Follow what Leslie said...is the info_player_start touching the floor?

Louis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-28-2003, 07:13 PM   #975
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
Quote:
Originally posted by Obsidian-Jovani
Here are links that just lists what to do to make a spiral staircase. It doesn't have graphics though I'm afraid.

http://www.massassi.com/coffeestain/radiant2.html
http://planetquake.com/bubba/spiral1.html
http://planetquake.com/qworkshop3/tu...ral/index.html
Those are all really cheap ways to do spiral staircases. The best looking methods involve heavy patchwork.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2003, 05:17 PM   #976
RoxStar
Moderator
 
RoxStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,411
Current Game: Everything Zelda
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Such as?

RoxStar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-30-2003, 09:39 PM   #977
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
Yes, it is on the ground.

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2003, 03:40 AM   #978
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
Quote:
Originally posted by Eldritch
Those are all really cheap ways to do spiral staircases. The best looking methods involve heavy patchwork.

I must agree but for all the people out there who may not be very good with patch meshes (not me i think i am starting to become quite good with them) the one where u take the square brush and cop it up in a lot o' pieces has been the best and easiet for me.

P.S. that one that buba does it the ****z!

~Lil Killa

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-01-2003, 05:42 AM   #979
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
mknote: sorry, no idea. Maybe a few screenshots from the editor could help where we could see how it is looking.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-08-2003, 04:09 PM   #980
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
[IMG]C:\Matthew\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\Tools\screen 1.bmp[/IMG]

[IMG]C:\Matthew\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\Tools\screen 2.bmp[/IMG]

[IMG]C:\Matthew\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\Tools\screen 3.bmp[/IMG]

[IMG]C:\Matthew\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\Tools\shot0349.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]C:\Matthew\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\Tools\shot0350.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]C:\Matthew\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\Tools\shot0351.jpg[/IMG]



I hope these come through.

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-08-2003, 06:15 PM   #981
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
Never mind. I compleatly restarted the map and now it works. Now the lighting is the main issue. I tried the spotlights in General Concepts 101: Lesson 6, but I just get the same, bland, too bright room. What is wrong? I also can't post pictures, as I just proved.

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-08-2003, 07:05 PM   #982
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
well we can't see the pics unless u upload them to a website.

but for the spot light make a light and an info null or not_null and then deselect everything. then select the light and then the null entity and press ctrl-k. then it should work. plus make sure your doing a bsp fullvis

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-08-2003, 07:33 PM   #983
eeky
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1
omg RichDiesel lmao

lol man......firstly i like to say thnx 2 u richdiesel guy lol......ur tutorials kix ass an now i no how 2 map HAHA ...lmao

also.......visit pcgamemods.com and d/l a map called Matrix Reloaded .......its made by a friend of mine that is a fantastic mapper.......his map is amazing......an guess wot u taught him 2 map 2 .......honestly man go d/l u will b proud of wot u hav made possible......

anyways nuff of tha....

am making a large clan map at the moment and i am making a games section.....one of the games i want to do is kinda a cross between ctf and paintballing....(ill explain)

2 bases.....no forces.....lotsa guns......2 teams.....but:

am havin the followin problems:

1) can i make one room different from the rest of the map....by this i mean a different gametype....

2) once in the room the players participating would need to respwn into that room and not the ordinary spawn point on the other side of the map.....possible?

3)Like the changing of gametype in question 1 is there a way of disabling the force powers in just 1 room so forces can be used on the rest of the map?

kinda long sry nice 2 meet u diesel..
eeky is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-08-2003, 07:47 PM   #984
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
make the map a tffa (team free for all) in the blue base add a team_ctf_blue player spawn and a red one in the red base. that should work for your 2 teams blasting the hel out of each other.

you can't make two areas of a map have diff game types and rich diesal has retired from the mapping biz so.............

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2003, 02:12 PM   #985
OneWingedAngel
 
OneWingedAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 35
Couple questions...

1.LIGHT SPOTS!!!! My map is completely covered with them and I dont' know how to solve this problem...

2.How do I make a trigger that is usable multiple times?

3.If you've played GriffenClaw's JediCouncil map, you know what I'm talking about... How did he make a door not open until an elevator reaches it's peak?

4. My water still just looks like blue, I can give you a screenie... But it doesn't have the texture I gave it, all it has is balue.


WIP: Tropical Paradise (I'll have screenies up soon)


OneWingedAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2003, 02:58 AM   #986
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
Quote:
Originally posted by OneWingedAngel
Couple questions...

1.LIGHT SPOTS!!!! My map is completely covered with them and I dont' know how to solve this problem...

2.How do I make a trigger that is usable multiple times?

3.If you've played GriffenClaw's JediCouncil map, you know what I'm talking about... How did he make a door not open until an elevator reaches it's peak?

4. My water still just looks like blue, I can give you a screenie... But it doesn't have the texture I gave it, all it has is balue.
1. For large open areas use fewer lights with bigger light values, and for smaller areas use more lights with a lower light value.

2. Make a brush, cover it in the trigger texture then rightclick it and make it a trigger_multiple.

3. he ussed a target dalay. he had it so when u steped in the elivater or when u pressed the button at the bottom (dunno cause i never played the map) he triggered a target delay that had a wait equaling(sp?) the time it took the elivater to get to the top of it's travel so that once the elivater reached the top the door opened.

4. are sure you changed the texture? if so is the whole thing made of caulk_nonsolid and then has the top and bottom covered in the water shader? if non of that works send me a pic over msn.

If u nned any more help angle than just contact me on msn I won't bite You might have to wait a day or two cause i'm trying to fix my comp at the moment so plz be patient

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-23-2003, 08:35 PM   #987
OneWingedAngel
 
OneWingedAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 35
What I need to do is make a bunch of brushes function as a group elevator, but I don't know how. You can't make a brush have two functions, so I can't make it a func_group and a func_plat.


WIP: Tropical Paradise (I'll have screenies up soon)


OneWingedAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2003, 05:47 AM   #988
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
If u make a group of brushes into any type of intity than they will be grouped together so there is no nead to make a func_plat a func_group at the same time

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2003, 03:35 PM   #989
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally posted by OneWingedAngel
4. My water still just looks like blue, I can give you a screenie... But it doesn't have the texture I gave it, all it has is balue.
Check this out... it explains what to do if your liquids are failing compile for seemingly random reasons.
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-31-2003, 02:19 PM   #990
RalKon
 
RalKon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 85
YIKES!!!! what happened to Rich Diesel!!!! His site dont come up anymore... was the best resource I had for mapping
RalKon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-31-2003, 05:48 PM   #991
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
Doesn't really surprise me that it's gone (if it is gone, that is). It hadn't been updated for a reeeeeealy long time.

@rgoer - Interesting stuff, bro. I've never had the water problem you described, but I'll keep that in mind in case I ever do.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2003, 12:07 AM   #992
RichDiesal
Pointfile of DOOM
 
RichDiesal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,362
I'm afraid even I don't know what happened to the site. I have, however, contacted my site host (the most gracious Sergio of pcgamemods.com) and had him look into the problem and repair it. The site should now be up again for all of your tutorial needs.


There are three things that I paricularly hate: kids, animals, and women with attitudes.

http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com - Map Showcase and Tutorials!
RichDiesal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2003, 12:22 AM   #993
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
Wow, he returns... is this just a temporary thing, or are you really back?
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2003, 12:30 AM   #994
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
Rich,

The staff over at JK2Review.com would love to provide a mirror site to host the site on... maybe we could add some classes of our own as well. If you're interested, just drop us a line.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2003, 05:52 AM   #995
Chewie Bakker
 
Chewie Bakker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 373
Post Yay!

Quote:
Originally posted by RichDiesal
I'm afraid even I don't know what happened to the site. I have, however, contacted my site host (the most gracious Sergio of pcgamemods.com) and had him look into the problem and repair it. The site should now be up again for all of your tutorial needs.
It's back up now. Once again, thanks for the great tut, RichDiesal.

[COLOR=Royal blue]The Force will be with you, always.[/COLOR]


"Chewie" Bakker
Chewie Bakker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2003, 05:59 PM   #996
BarmyBam
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 34
Hi guys, I've just stared the section on making fog, but i don't understand where to stick the caulk (as well as which one, is it the caulk_nonsolid?) do u stick it between the fog and the wall. Then between to brushes of fog, do u stick the nodraw shader?

And also, i can't seem to find system\trigger... i can c it withought radiant, but when i load it through radiant, it can't c it

thx- BarmyBam

Last edited by BarmyBam; 08-09-2003 at 06:20 PM.
BarmyBam is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-10-2003, 12:52 AM   #997
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
To make a fog brush make a brush that will be the size of the amount of fog and cover it in caulk_nonsolid. then cover the top and bottom in your fog shader.

And i don't understand your question about the trigger texture...

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-10-2003, 02:44 PM   #998
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Quote:
Originally posted by BarmyBam
And also, i can't seem to find system\trigger... i can c it withought radiant, but when i load it through radiant, it can't c it
This happens in JK2Radiant. You still can select the brush, press S to bring up the Surface Inspector and enter system/caulk (or textures/system/caulk -- I don't remember which works in JK2Radiant) manually.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-11-2003, 10:37 AM   #999
BarmyBam
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 34
thx guys.... but now i have got another question.... i have just completed the section on func_doors and switches etc, and am now building my map.. yet as soon as i stick the trigger for my doors to open with, they don't work.... my left door reads:

angle 360
classname func_door
soundset fast_door
speed 75
targetname t2
team door_2

*right door*
angle 180
classname func_door
soundset fast_door
speed 75
target button01
targetname t2
team door_2

*trigger*
PLAYERONLY
FACING
USE_BUTTON
angle 270
classname trigger_multiple
noise sound/movers/switches/button_01.mp3
spawnflags 7
target t2
wait 3

*on Button*
STARTOFF
classname func_usable
spawnflags 1
targetname button01

*off button*
classname func_usable
targetname button01

when i go over to the switch whch has the large trigger_multiple around it and press use...nothing happens, except 4 after a few presses of use, the switches (on and off) both disappear....

thx in advance, BarmyBam


Edit: Ok, i thought i'd be clever...i completely uninstalled JK2 and all the files that went with radiant.... then i reinstalled them, but now when i clcik on a brush and turn it into a trigger, then ctrl k it to a door, i open up the entity box, and there is no check box with facing or playeronly etc instead i have red_only and blue_only...what have i done wrong...i have also noticed that trigger_once is missing from the list......

Last edited by BarmyBam; 08-11-2003 at 01:50 PM.
BarmyBam is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-11-2003, 04:54 PM   #1000
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
First of all: you run into the "Starting GtkRadiant for the first time after install" problem. Go to File \ Project settings, change mapping mode to MP, restart Radiant, change it back to SP, restart Radiant.

Secondly: you give both doors the team key and they have the same targetname. However I'm not sure this is your problem I would be. Use one of the methods but not both at the same time. So either delete the team keys or delete one of the targetnames.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > The RichDiesel University Tutorial Questions Thread.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.