lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: The RichDiesel University Tutorial Questions Thread.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-08-2002, 11:22 PM   #121
Shadriss
 
Shadriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangor, WA
Posts: 740
Thanks much for that specifics link, there Spoon. As for the numbers for Force Jumping, just multiply it by the force ranks. IE, at Jump Lv. 1, I think it's 4X the norm, Lv 2 is 8X, and 3 is 16X. I'll check those numbers, but I think they're right.

Now, onto other issues. I STILL can't get music to play with my levels. I've got a file (emperor.mp3) in my base folder. In the worldspawn, i've set the key Music to three different values (emperor.mp3, base\emperor.mp3, & \gamedata\bas\emperor.mp3) and none of them has actually worked. So what should the value line read then? What is the actual syntax for that line?

Thanks much, peeps, this has been a great help.


Shadriss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-09-2002, 01:23 AM   #122
RichDiesal
Pointfile of DOOM
 
RichDiesal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,362
Quote:
In fact, I get only about ten of the availiable 30 or so textures when I use that library. In GTK, I see them all. Can you shed some light on what's up here?
This seems to be a common problem. Unfortunately, no one actually seems to stick with it long enough to fix it, so no one has figured out how to fix it. I would first suggest to extract the shaders/ directory from the assets0 archive and see if that helps.

Quote:
Now, onto other issues. I STILL can't get music to play with my levels. I've got a file (emperor.mp3) in my base folder.
Generally speaking, it's a bad idea to put any file on the basepath - jk2 generally doesn't like that. If you had an MP3 and called it (for example) music.mp3, I would place it as music/levelname/music.mp3... then in worldspawn, reference that as music/levelname/music.mp3


There are three things that I paricularly hate: kids, animals, and women with attitudes.

http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com - Map Showcase and Tutorials!
RichDiesal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-09-2002, 03:16 AM   #123
Wes Marrakesh
Resident Cynic
 
Wes Marrakesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: I think this is "imagination"
Posts: 1,435
ok...
spoon, you damn traitor! ! all you had to do was unzip mapextras.pk3.
All units, attack!
x 1000000000000000000000000000000000000000 Yes!
Wes Marrakesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-09-2002, 03:46 AM   #124
Shadriss
 
Shadriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangor, WA
Posts: 740
Will that pathing still work once I place it into the PK3 file, Rich? After all, that's where it's gotta go when I release it...


Shadriss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-09-2002, 03:54 AM   #125
RichDiesal
Pointfile of DOOM
 
RichDiesal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,362
As long as you path it the same.

For example, if you reference "music/levelname/music.mp3", you would need to place it in "music/levelname/" within your PK3.

EDIT: PK3s, MP3s, all the same thing.


There are three things that I paricularly hate: kids, animals, and women with attitudes.

http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com - Map Showcase and Tutorials!

Last edited by RichDiesal; 07-09-2002 at 12:09 PM.
RichDiesal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-09-2002, 04:08 AM   #126
Anakin
 
Anakin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 738
Dont you haveto use \ instead of / in JKRadient Rich? 007 Tuts told me so


Now Iam the Master
Anakin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-09-2002, 04:27 AM   #127
Shadriss
 
Shadriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangor, WA
Posts: 740
I'll just assume you meant PK3 instead of MP3, Rich.

BTW - How IS your new level coming anyway? After seeing Kamino, I think we ALL are kinda curious. Got any screenshots or somesuch?


Shadriss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-09-2002, 07:43 AM   #128
XeNN
 
XeNN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 15
How do you make it so NPC's cannot see your character? even when there looking straight at you? Is there some brush/shader I can use for it?
XeNN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-09-2002, 08:18 AM   #129
Wes Marrakesh
Resident Cynic
 
Wes Marrakesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: I think this is "imagination"
Posts: 1,435
those jump statistics are wrong i think.
lvl 1 is 3x
lvl 2 is 6x
and 3 is 10x
Wes Marrakesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-09-2002, 11:16 AM   #130
StrSk8er
 
StrSk8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 166
maybe someone can help me with my compiling errors. when i do a bsp fullvis i get the dos screen to pop up, then a error box pops up and says that there was an error with the kernel32.dll. i dont know what to do
StrSk8er is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-09-2002, 12:12 PM   #131
RichDiesal
Pointfile of DOOM
 
RichDiesal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,362
Quote:
Dont you haveto use \ instead of / in JKRadient Rich? 007 Tuts told me so
Nope. Maybe in GTKRadiant... Kamino's music was referenced as "sound/duel_kamino/music.mp3" You hear music in that, don't you?

Quote:
How do you make it so NPC's cannot see your character? even when there looking straight at you?
Check the "CINEMATIC" checkbox and they won't do anything except what your custom scripts command them to.

Quote:
maybe someone can help me with my compiling errors. when i do a bsp fullvis i get the dos screen to pop up, then a error box pops up and says that there was an error with the kernel32.dll. i dont know what to do
Reinstall Radiant. If that doesn't work, install GTKRadiant and try that. If that doesn't work, get a new operating system.


There are three things that I paricularly hate: kids, animals, and women with attitudes.

http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com - Map Showcase and Tutorials!
RichDiesal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-09-2002, 11:11 PM   #132
Spoon_Gouge
 
Spoon_Gouge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 45
Question

Quote:
Originally posted by Wes Marrakesh
ok...
spoon, you damn traitor! ! all you had to do was unzip mapextras.pk3.
All units, attack!
x 1000000000000000000000000000000000000000 Yes!
Is this directed at me?
If so, about what?
Spoon_Gouge


Spoon_Gouge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-09-2002, 11:54 PM   #133
Wes Marrakesh
Resident Cynic
 
Wes Marrakesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: I think this is "imagination"
Posts: 1,435
just a joke, i guess i should lighten up a little and think up better ones. Let me rephrase:
Spoon, you didn't have to move to GTK. Alll you had to do was extract mapextras.pk3.
Better?
sorry
This was about your post about missing textures.
Wes Marrakesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2002, 03:09 AM   #134
Shadriss
 
Shadriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangor, WA
Posts: 740
I got the music working, Rich. The whole question about Kamino wasn't even related to that - It's related to the one you are working on NOW. I'm just curious about how it looks at present. You know... kinda like a status report (Not to mention a countdown to the completion of the rest of the tuts... ). If you dont have'em that's fine... but I, and probably everyone else who so loves your work, are curious.

In other news, yes, I had the jump heights wrong. I just checked the manual, and they are 2X, 4X, and 8X.

Now, I'm looking for an MP3 of the "Duel of the Fates" (the battle background from EP1 for those who don't know...) If anyone has this or can find a link to it for me, I'd appriciate it.


Shadriss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2002, 03:44 AM   #135
Wes Marrakesh
Resident Cynic
 
Wes Marrakesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: I think this is "imagination"
Posts: 1,435
the full version or the one in the duelofthefates map?
and true or kinda wierd?
Wes Marrakesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2002, 03:47 AM   #136
Shadriss
 
Shadriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangor, WA
Posts: 740
Full version. I didn't know there WAS a duelofthefates map. And what do you mean by "true or wierd"? I'd PREFER to have the version from the actual soundtrack (in otherwords, the parts of it that were background to the saber battle) But I'll take the whole scene's background if I must.


Shadriss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2002, 03:48 AM   #137
RichDiesal
Pointfile of DOOM
 
RichDiesal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,362
I nearly have the architecture complete, but it will be a while. I have many textures and shaders to come up with. And in any case, this isn't a WIP/request for mp3s thread, so get out of here!


There are three things that I paricularly hate: kids, animals, and women with attitudes.

http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com - Map Showcase and Tutorials!
RichDiesal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2002, 03:50 AM   #138
Shadriss
 
Shadriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangor, WA
Posts: 740
Sorry about that...


Shadriss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2002, 04:25 AM   #139
Wes Marrakesh
Resident Cynic
 
Wes Marrakesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: I think this is "imagination"
Posts: 1,435
i haev 2 versions:
the true one form the Duel of the Fates map (dunno if it is the full one, don't think so)
and a modified version from ym clan's site
they are both good
Wes Marrakesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-11-2002, 03:49 AM   #140
superdude201
 
superdude201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: England
Posts: 465
Sky

I don't know if anyone else has asked but in your tutorial u say you don't need to put a massive room if it is outside so how would you do it if you wanted to make kind of buildings which are separate and you can go outside cause then you can't put the sky on because there is no brush please help.
superdude201 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-11-2002, 03:57 AM   #141
RichDiesal
Pointfile of DOOM
 
RichDiesal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,362
You need to make enclosed brushes wherever you want the player to actually be able to go. If you just want him to be able to see (and not go) to other buildings up high, then that is fine... you will be able to see through the sky shader to whatever is behind it.


There are three things that I paricularly hate: kids, animals, and women with attitudes.

http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com - Map Showcase and Tutorials!
RichDiesal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-11-2002, 03:58 AM   #142
superdude201
 
superdude201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: England
Posts: 465
Are enclosed brushes just normal brushes or something different
superdude201 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-11-2002, 04:16 AM   #143
Painreliever
 
Painreliever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 25
Couple questions

I was working on my first map which I am trying to make a fairly accurate version of the Throne room. It is my first experience with Radient so I am having to figure some things out, but your tutorials are great. So here are some questions...

When I go to check out the progress on my map, check scale, frame rate and stuff...how do I check to see how many polys I am seeing and all that good stuff...I have only found frame rate and a few others but nothing really helpful. What is the max polys that should be in view at any time specifically for a single player and multiplayer map?

Also I was working on the large circular windows that appear behind the emperor's throne and on the sides of the room. I created a cyllinder and squashed it down, then went to vertex edit mode and moved the one sides vertices so that the radius was smaller. I capped the cyllinder and deleted the the cap that covered the wider end, then reversed the matrices where necessary to make the textures face the right direction. Then I went and made a bevel that was as wide as the radius of the large end of the cyllinder, I created inverted bevel endcaps and deleted the bevel and the opposite endcap so I was left with only the endcap facing inward. I made copies and rotated it to fit the other 3 corners. I think it turned out okay, but I get some "sparklies" or very small Hall of mirrors effect at the edge of the smaller endcap where it meets the smaller end of the edited cyllinder. Now I have read the solution to this is caulk behind the offending part, but there is no geometry behind it, it is just an endcap, and I would like to make it into a masked texture that lets you see into a starry skybox but I haven't got that far. Am I doing things the right way or should I do them differently, and how do I fix the small HOM effect? If I knew for sure how to do that and how to check for polys I could determine how detailed I can get or how I need to design the level to make it playable.

Something along the same lines, there is a spot in the throne room where the walkway where Luke Cuts off Vaders hand runs into the circular walkway surrounding the elevator. Knowing you are not supposed ot overlap brushes, should I end the rectangle brush of the walkway before the path surrounding the elevator, and the use a set of inverted capped bevels to bridge the gap between the walkway and the circular pathway around the elevator? And will this cause an HOM effect at that edge?

Hope you can understand what I am talking about...if not let me know and I can post some pics...I gotta run to class or I would do it now. Let me know, thanks for the help!

Painreliever
Painreliever is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-11-2002, 06:51 AM   #144
Shadriss
 
Shadriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangor, WA
Posts: 740
Hello again all you peeps. Todays mapping question is probobly another easy sone for Map-Meister Rich... but it ain't for me!

Ok, in MANY places in the SP game, you see what are basically glass displays that are clear, with the exception that they have a symbol or a readout or some such in it. So, I'm thinking "How can I put those nifty things in MY levels? They would be great to break and relieve some frustration!"

I hope I've described them such that you know what I'm talking about. Thanks to all, in advancee, for all your help.


Shadriss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-11-2002, 08:42 AM   #145
Wes Marrakesh
Resident Cynic
 
Wes Marrakesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: I think this is "imagination"
Posts: 1,435
hmm... good question!
and how do i get the funky imperial windows that appear in the throne room in the deathstar mp to be seen through?
Wes Marrakesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-11-2002, 11:26 AM   #146
RichDiesal
Pointfile of DOOM
 
RichDiesal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,362
[quote]Are enclosed brushes just normal brushes or something different[quote]
I mean enclosed brushes in that it's an area surrounded completely by brushes. There should always be brushes between the player and the void.

Quote:
how do I check to see how many polys I am seeing and all that good stuff
You're not actually looking for polygon count, but instead triangle count (the number of tris drawn on all visible faces of all visible polygons). The command for this is "r_speeds 1". The number to pay attention to is the one directly in front of "tris". In SP, with ALL NPCs present, this should never go above 25,000 or so. Inall MP modes except duel, try to keep it at 12,000 or below. In duels, you can have it as high as 15,000ish. But do try to keep it as low as possible.

Quote:
but there is no geometry behind it, it is just an endcap
That's not possible. You should never have a curve blocking off a hole to the void, so there MUST be geometry behind it. If you're going to place a sky shader back there, all the better. Place a flat brush in the hole directly behind the endcap to seal off the hole and texture the front panel with your sky shader.

Quote:
should I end the rectangle brush of the walkway before the path surrounding the elevator, and the use a set of inverted capped bevels to bridge the gap between the walkway and the circular pathway around the elevator?
If I understand you correctly, yes, but you would probably find using a patch mesh easier.

Quote:
So, I'm thinking "How can I put those nifty things in MY levels?
Haven't actually tried myself, but I have a feeling it's just a brush with that clear shader on either side of it, then made into func_glass...

Quote:
and how do i get the funky imperial windows that appear in the throne room in the deathstar mp to be seen through?
It's just a shader.


There are three things that I paricularly hate: kids, animals, and women with attitudes.

http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com - Map Showcase and Tutorials!
RichDiesal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-11-2002, 07:24 PM   #147
Painreliever
 
Painreliever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 25
To clarify

Here are some shots of what I have done...please ignore the texturing it is just to preview the level.

http://www.painreliever.org/images/windows.jpg
http://www.painreliever.org/images/windows2.jpg
http://www.painreliever.org/images/walkway.jpg

Couple questions on your answers...Regarding having no geometry behind the endcap, you said that is impossible. If you you look at my editor shot, windows2.jpg, I hope you can see what I have done...I basically made a square hole in the wall, created a cyllinder as big as the hole, resized one end and capped the cyllinder, after deleting the cap that is created at the plane of the wall, I created a bevel like you talk about in the tutorial, "Circular hole in the floor/ceiling" Except I deleted the outer bevel cap and the inner box portion leaving just the the endcap that was on the plain of the wall. Now when I FullVis my level I get a leak, but I can still play everything normally and the HOM only appears at the edge of the endcap of the cyllinder where the vertices are manipulated, almost as if the vertices didn't line up from being manipulated, but since I capped it after manipulating the vertices I don't see why it shouldn't work.

So if I understand what your saying right, anytime you close a gap to the void with a patch it will leak, is that right? So then would the correct way to build the windows be to create the circular section like your "Circular hole in the floor" tutorial and vertex edit the far side of the bevel to make the window seem to collapse and then add an inverted endcap to the bevel(before copying it of course) and a rectangular block of geometry to block off the hole where the end of the cyllinder is now?

The other question is this, if I use a patch to seal the gap in the walkway is it going to cause an HOM effect there if the vertices don't line up precisely with the verts of the circular walkway?

Thanks for your help...I really appreciate it... hopefully I am making sense.

Painreliever
Painreliever is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2002, 12:25 AM   #148
Wes Marrakesh
Resident Cynic
 
Wes Marrakesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: I think this is "imagination"
Posts: 1,435
Rich I know it is a shader, it was ment more as how do i use the shader to make it see-through??
Wes Marrakesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2002, 02:25 AM   #149
Anakin
 
Anakin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 738
Alpha Channel it, Im about to release a tut about it soon.


Now Iam the Master
Anakin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2002, 02:29 AM   #150
RichDiesal
Pointfile of DOOM
 
RichDiesal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,362
Quote:
Regarding having no geometry behind the endcap, you said that is impossible. If you you look at my editor shot, windows2.jpg, I hope you can see what I have done
I say impossible in that if you have a curve blocking off the void, you create a leak in your level and VIS won't function. It is technically possible, yes, but it is something you should not have in the final compile of your map.

Quote:
So if I understand what your saying right, anytime you close a gap to the void with a patch it will leak, is that right? So then would the correct way to build the windows be to create the circular section like your "Circular hole in the floor" tutorial and vertex edit the far side of the bevel to make the window seem to collapse and then add an inverted endcap to the bevel(before copying it of course) and a rectangular block of geometry to block off the hole where the end of the cyllinder is now?
....yes, though the much easier way to explain it is "always have structural brushes block off the void." The easiest way to figure out if you have everything blocked off right is to (first) click the button to view all patches as wireframe and (second) hide all detail brushes. From inside your level, with those two options set, you should not be able to see out to the void in the 3D View anywhere.

Quote:
The other question is this, if I use a patch to seal the gap in the walkway is it going to cause an HOM effect there if the vertices don't line up precisely with the verts of the circular walkway?
You only create a HOM when the void is visible - no other occasion. You will however create sparklies, yes. The vertices must line up perfectly.

Quote:
Rich I know it is a shader, it was ment more as how do i use the shader to make it see-through??
Weeell... this is a bix complex, but I'll go over it in short... I'll be writing a tutorial over it later if you want more information. If the shader isn't already see-through, you'll need to make a shader with transparency layers. My advice to you would be to find a shader in the game (like a grate) and copy that shader script into your own shaderfile. You'll notice it references two files - the first is the texture itself, while the second is the alpha channel. Copy the reference from the shader you're already looking at for the texture itself... then you'll need to make an alpha channel. To do THAT, copy the first texture into another file and make all the parts you want visible solid white and all the invisible parts solid black (I may have that backwards, I'm not sure all of a sudden. )

That should be about it.


There are three things that I paricularly hate: kids, animals, and women with attitudes.

http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com - Map Showcase and Tutorials!
RichDiesal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2002, 03:20 AM   #151
Shadriss
 
Shadriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangor, WA
Posts: 740
Rich, I think that answer you just gave Wes may have answered my question about the glass displays...

If You use those display shaders that have black backgrounds, they'd be see-through if I understand correctly. So, ,texture ONE side with one of those displays, the other with the glass texture, and viola! I haven't tried this yet, but it SOUNDS like it should work. All you'd have to do then is make it a func_breakable, set the chunks to be glass, ,and BOOM! Instand breakable display!

If I misunderstood any of that, let me know... GOnna try in in one of projects.

PINK ELEPHANTS ON PARADE!


Shadriss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2002, 04:35 AM   #152
RichDiesal
Pointfile of DOOM
 
RichDiesal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,362
Sorta... texture both sides with the shader and make it a func_glass - it will break on its own like that with no further fiddling.


There are three things that I paricularly hate: kids, animals, and women with attitudes.

http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com - Map Showcase and Tutorials!
RichDiesal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2002, 05:03 AM   #153
Shadriss
 
Shadriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangor, WA
Posts: 740
Well, at least it's good to see that I can put 2 and 2 together on occassion.

Now, onto a more serious issue. I've been trying to follow that BOT path routing tutorial you directed me too, , but there seems to be one overridign problem with it. THat tut says to use the commands "bot_wp_add", ,"bot_wp_rem", etc. Problem is, I went through EVERY last bot command, and those, according to my system anyway, DONT EXIST. Oh, bot_wp_edit is there, but nothing that allows me to add waypoints at all!

So... Is this outdated information, or did I luck out and get the ONE copy of this game that didn't include it?

From my point of view, this sucks, so it must be the truth, no?


Shadriss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2002, 05:25 AM   #154
RichDiesal
Pointfile of DOOM
 
RichDiesal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,362
You need to execute the wp_bot_edit command and then restart the map you're working on. It will then load the waypoint editing commands.


There are three things that I paricularly hate: kids, animals, and women with attitudes.

http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com - Map Showcase and Tutorials!
RichDiesal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2002, 06:02 AM   #155
Shadriss
 
Shadriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangor, WA
Posts: 740
AhHAH! A TRICK! I knew it had to be something simple like that... odd that it wasn't mentioned explicitly(that I saw..). THanks much!


Shadriss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2002, 07:38 AM   #156
CoolMoeD
 
CoolMoeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coming from inside the house!
Posts: 9
I need some help with sound, i made a func_train (and it moves n' all) but it wont play my sound

Key: noise

Value: sound/movers/objects/raven_hover_lp.wav

what am i doing wrong here?

also do you have a suggestion for how to make a slick hill other than using the slick shader, because it makes my cylinder more like a skate park than a pit

-thanks


www.swcombine.com
CoolMoeD is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2002, 08:39 AM   #157
Wes Marrakesh
Resident Cynic
 
Wes Marrakesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: I think this is "imagination"
Posts: 1,435
well i probably missed the obvious: texture both sides...
would that help?
and what is a patch?
Wes Marrakesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2002, 09:52 AM   #158
RichDiesal
Pointfile of DOOM
 
RichDiesal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,362
Quote:
I need some help with sound, i made a func_train (and it moves n' all) but it wont play my sound
func_train sounds don't work on MP for no real specific reason. Test it in SP and see if it works there.

In addition to that, you generally want to use a soundset and not just a noise. You can find the list of soundsets in sound/sound.txt

Quote:
also do you have a suggestion for how to make a slick hill other than using the slick shader, because it makes my cylinder more like a skate park than a pit
Why can't you use slick on the sides and not on the bottom?

Quote:
well i probably missed the obvious: texture both sides...
would that help?
Texture both sides of what? I don't know what you're talking about.

Quote:
and what is a patch?
A curve... bevels, endcaps, meshes... all patches.


There are three things that I paricularly hate: kids, animals, and women with attitudes.

http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com - Map Showcase and Tutorials!
RichDiesal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2002, 11:57 PM   #159
Wes Marrakesh
Resident Cynic
 
Wes Marrakesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: I think this is "imagination"
Posts: 1,435
Go to my website using the www button below this post...
check the photos section, and look for the photo that is
outside facing bunk side
Wes Marrakesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2002, 11:21 PM   #160
darth_micke
 
darth_micke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Wherever there is gold, I am
Posts: 200
Hello!
I just have a little, a really tiny question... With Pacth Meshes everything gets ****T up..they wont some nice hills or bumbs or anything......they are just ****ing with me.....how the ... do I make nice patch meshes???????????!!!

I really appreciate help (=

Thx in Advance


Btw, RD your tut rocks!! best tut to anything I ever wanted to learn about (=
darth_micke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > The RichDiesel University Tutorial Questions Thread.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:20 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.