lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Sky Light
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-21-2002, 05:06 AM   #1
pizzaknymp
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2
Red face Sky Light

Hello, how do I use the sky light? In a map?


-pizzaknymp
pizzaknymp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-21-2002, 05:46 AM   #2
DukeSkywalker
 
DukeSkywalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Theed, Naboo
Posts: 194
A sky light???? no... i think you mean an ambient light, right???

add the key ambient to the worldspawn entity and a value like 200...

Next, you have to add the key _color and a color of your choice... for a normal white light, add the value 1.0000000 1.0000000 1.0000000...

hmm... i think with an ambient light, your map looks really unrealistic...


"I have a bad feeling about this..."
DukeSkywalker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-21-2002, 06:59 AM   #3
NITEMARE
 
NITEMARE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 413
well sadly thats impossible in q3 engine games for what i know sofar. in q2 and hl it is a very nice feature to let rad render gi. u just had to put one light in a room and have brushes relfect the light on others emiting even in their textures color! but thats not going to be in the next games and is certainly not in q3. but look at my map http://64.246.44.70/~lucasforums.com...threadid=70555
there it looks like gi but isnt! the sky light was made with the shader ed. i couldnt find the yavin sky light emiting sky so i made one myself. look into the pk3 file and the shaders. its prety simple. but only skylight is not good since it produces hard shadows. use this ambient thing like me (70)...
NITEMARE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-21-2002, 07:00 AM   #4
NITEMARE
 
NITEMARE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 413
wtf? why i my post apearing 2 posts backwards?
NITEMARE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-21-2002, 07:17 AM   #5
idontlikegeorge
 
idontlikegeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Striking fear into the hearts of Demolicans and Republicrats.
Posts: 951
Question

um, what?
idontlikegeorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-21-2002, 07:21 AM   #6
pizzaknymp
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2
like ya know,

have the sky shine light down onto the map, instead of having all these invididual lights. Have just one main light. If you're familiar with the Brazil renderer for 3d Studio Max, it's called Global Illumination. I'd like to know how to do it in Jedi Knight : Outcast maps.
pizzaknymp is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-21-2002, 07:22 AM   #7
pakmannen
 
pakmannen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: sweden
Posts: 142
just put a sky shader as a sky.
and make sure it has the name x_light
like:
arturus_light
platform_light
pakmannen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Sky Light

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:54 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.