lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: (Kyle Sound-a-like)Voice Actor needed
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-01-2002, 07:22 PM   #1
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
(Kyle Sound-a-like)Voice Actor needed

I'm fairly near the end of Prison, and there is a shortish cinematic at the end, I'm trying to increase the importance plot plays in my maps. I could do with a voice actor who can do a good Kyle voice for this map, and hopefully more in future that follow the storyline. If anyone is interested please send a few samples of you doing kyle impressions to kengo10@lycos.com and I'll send a reply, and some lines if I think the voice sounds right

Please send the files in mp3 or wav format if possible.

blueblas1
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2002, 11:13 PM   #2
Karshaddii
 
Karshaddii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Castella
Posts: 357
I wouldn't in wave...it would be HUGE--1 minute is about 4 megs on decent quality.


Today isn't your lucky day....tommorrow isn't looking good either...
Karshaddii is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2002, 02:13 AM   #3
Darkblade
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hiisi,Pertteli, Finland
Posts: 56
Better to encode those wave files with Microsoft ACM (you can do this with Goldwave, Cool Edit etc.). They go in much smaller space.

And I could try to do those voices for you... my accent is a lot different than with Kyle's though.

edit: Forgot to mention, I can't do 'em until monday.


Mauri "Darkblade" Majanoja

"If you strike me down I will become more powerful than you can ever imagine..."
-Obi Wan in New Hope

Mission designer for Freespace 2 : The Babylon Project
Darkblade is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2002, 10:36 AM   #4
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
Thanks for the advice, wav files are very big, I guess MP3s are more suitable then?

I will be looking for other voice actors, maybe at a later stage with this map, definately in later maps, but I really need someone who does sound a lot like Kyle if possible, I just think it will seem odd to have a very different sounding voice for the same character. Feel free to send samples if you don't sound much like Kyle all the same, as I may feel the voice will go well for another character at a later date
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2002, 02:40 PM   #5
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
I forgot to mention...you DONT get paid and I reserve the right to use your voice samples to frame you for a crime you didn't commit.

What?
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2002, 04:28 PM   #6
ZBomber
Octavarium
 
ZBomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,916
Forum Veteran 
LOL. I would, but I can't get my voice in my PC...


Last.FM - Ow, give up the funk
Let the truth of love be lighted
Let the love of truth shine clear
Sensibility
Armed with sense and liberty
With the heart and mind united
In a single perfect sphere
ZBomber is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2002, 06:03 AM   #7
EffJi
 
EffJi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 191
Intrested in having a swedish speaking character?
Like an alien jedi or something?
EffJi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2002, 09:44 AM   #8
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
It's interesting that in the films people from completely different places often speak the same language...I dunno if this is supposed to be some sort of universal translator or something? Then other times alines speak a totally different language.... anyone know the Star Wars explanation behind all that...?
Send me some voice samples if you want, in Swedish, English, or both, and I'll be happy to consider them for parts in later maps
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2002, 09:51 AM   #9
Ah Boon
 
Ah Boon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Home
Posts: 375
off i go recording now! it would be in .wav file tho


Hello. I told you I'll be back.
Ah Boon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2002, 01:51 PM   #10
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
Could you convert those files to mp3 somehow, just its a lot smaller and also it what jk2 used I think. Two good programs to use to record sounds are I believe CoolEdit and Goldwave, I've tried em both and they're fairly easy to use, and you can save as a multitude of filetypes including mp3. If you can't record mp3s at all then still feel free to go ahead and send me some wavs, just as long as they aren't more than 3 or 4 megs in size....
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2002, 06:20 PM   #11
Karshaddii
 
Karshaddii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Castella
Posts: 357
It's called "basic"

It's the universal language.


Today isn't your lucky day....tommorrow isn't looking good either...
Karshaddii is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2002, 06:31 PM   #12
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
Oh right, I see, so it's a bit like Esperanto except lots of people speak it? And the people who speak with other languages in the films just aren't speaking basic. It makes sense
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2002, 10:06 PM   #13
idontlikegeorge
 
idontlikegeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Striking fear into the hearts of Demolicans and Republicrats.
Posts: 951
"english" is "basic" for the earth, becuase the british empire basically set up shop everywhere on earth, so alot of international trade and diplomacy communication was in english; "basic" is the same way in the galactic empire/republic

anyway, on the topic, do you HAVE to use kyle as the main character? why? why always kyle? if you are going to so far as to do cutscenes for your episode, why not make your own jedi adept character?

i mean, the more stories there are about one particular character, the more breaks in continuity there are, and the less believable the stories get; i mean it doesnt really matter on maps like the emperors villa, and other big brawl maps - but if you have a good storyline, you might as well introduce a new character
idontlikegeorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2002, 01:56 AM   #14
Ah Boon
 
Ah Boon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Home
Posts: 375
i dont think i have the time these days to do the recording tho so, good luck


Hello. I told you I'll be back.
Ah Boon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2002, 02:12 AM   #15
Takeoffyouhoser
 
Takeoffyouhoser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 527
The only voice I can do REALLY well is the voice of the peasant lady in Monty Python and The Holy Grail. This is the character played by terry gilliam i believe who says , " Dennis, there's some lovely filth down here" ! lol

Its also the same character type/voice used in the Spam sketch along with the Penguin on top of the Tv sketch......


will Imperial Brewery ever be finished? The odds are 2 to the power of 276,709 to 1 against, and rising!" -- Me
Takeoffyouhoser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2002, 04:09 AM   #16
Karshaddii
 
Karshaddii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Castella
Posts: 357
No, thats not what I meant, in the Star Wars Universe there is a universal language----its called basic--same with several other worlds...


Today isn't your lucky day....tommorrow isn't looking good either...
Karshaddii is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2002, 11:07 AM   #17
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
Quote:
Originally posted by idontlikegeorge
"anyway, on the topic, do you HAVE to use kyle as the main character? why? why always kyle? if you are going to so far as to do cutscenes for your episode, why not make your own jedi adept character?

i mean, the more stories there are about one particular character, the more breaks in continuity there are, and the less believable the stories get; i mean it doesnt really matter on maps like the emperors villa, and other big brawl maps - but if you have a good storyline, you might as well introduce a new character
That's an interesting point. I can see that Kyle as the main character is fairly unoriginal, fairly predictable. I also know that in some quarters he isn't a particularly popular character in the main game. I read a guide to game scripting (albeit for jk1) about avoiding the "clichéd" main characters. Personally though I quite like Kyle as a character, I don't think he's nearly as much of a cliché as many of the main characters in First Person Shooters, and at least he does have a decent backstory, he isn't nearly anonymous (ala Half Life). I know that was kinda intentional in Half Life but all the same....
There are also practical problems, changing the main character is gonna take some kind of mod, which will add a couple of megs onto the final dload I'd imagine. Aside from this, I either have to use someone elses model, or ask someone to make on specifically for the map. There's no way I'm gonna be able to model one myself, I got no real ability in that area, and not enough time to learn that too anyway.
I was thinking of trying to include some new models for NPCS in the game (eg as the baddie) but that's proved fairly complicated so far (btw - any help on that welcome). I have to say it's proving fairly difficult to find a voice actor for Kyle..I toyed with the idea of using excerpts from bits he says throughout the game to get him to talk, but this is obviously fairly limited. For now, I'm gonna hope a good voice actor for Kyle comes along
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2002, 11:09 AM   #18
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
Quote:
Originally posted by Takeoffyouhoser
The only voice I can do REALLY well is the voice of the peasant lady in Monty Python and The Holy Grail. This is the character played by terry gilliam i believe who says , " Dennis, there's some lovely filth down here" ! lol

Its also the same character type/voice used in the Spam sketch along with the Penguin on top of the Tv sketch......
I just don't think that as the baddies voice will convey quite the sense of menace I'm looking for
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2002, 02:53 AM   #19
idontlikegeorge
 
idontlikegeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Striking fear into the hearts of Demolicans and Republicrats.
Posts: 951
Quote:
There are also practical problems, changing the main character is gonna take some kind of mod, which will add a couple of megs onto the final dload I'd imagine. Aside from this, I either have to use someone elses model, or ask someone to make on specifically for the map. There's no way I'm gonna be able to model one myself, I got no real ability in that area, and not enough time to learn that too anyway.
well, you should make your single player episode a mod in its own right (loaded up from gamedata/yourepisode/ instead of base/) - and its easy to change kyle... just copy the jedi player model folder over, and change the folder name to kyle
-or- just make a models/players/kyle folder, and move the jedi's model.glm, and model_default.skin files to it; boom non-kyle player model, around 300k

for a final release, maybe just have a custom skin for the character; im sure someone would do that for ya (ill take a crack at it even - although im not a skinner)


Quote:
No, thats not what I meant, in the Star Wars Universe there is a universal language----its called basic--same with several other worlds...
who were you replying to?
idontlikegeorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2002, 03:00 AM   #20
ZBomber
Octavarium
 
ZBomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,916
Forum Veteran 
Wink

Well, anyway, good luck!


Last.FM - Ow, give up the funk
Let the truth of love be lighted
Let the love of truth shine clear
Sensibility
Armed with sense and liberty
With the heart and mind united
In a single perfect sphere
ZBomber is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2002, 06:40 AM   #21
jaybiggspr
 
jaybiggspr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 103
I have a very versatile voice. I not only own my own record label (Paradice Records) but I have also done a few audio cut-scenes myself. I can do a pretty good "Movie trailer voice guy" impression but I can do Arnold Shwartzenegger, probably an ok Kyle, and many others. If you would like me to send you some of my work, please contact me at jaybiggspr@hotmail.com . I would gladly help you with any kind of voice work I could give you. Please write back.



Thanks.


jaybiggspr is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2002, 11:56 AM   #22
Karshaddii
 
Karshaddii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Castella
Posts: 357
You, idontlikegeorge.

I am not saying that what you said was incorrect--but that is not what I meant.

= )


Today isn't your lucky day....tommorrow isn't looking good either...
Karshaddii is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2002, 04:05 PM   #23
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
Quote:
Originally posted by ZBomber
Well, anyway, good luck!
Thanks man
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2002, 04:07 PM   #24
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
I've mailed you Jay, it's an interesting offer you've made...
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2002, 04:17 PM   #25
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
Thanks for that info idontlikegeorge, interesting stuff, easier than I thought too. What would you say is the easiest way of just replacing any old model (could be one im not using in the level) with a new one for a map? eg just replacing say a gran with a new imperial officer model? I noticed its been done in a few other maps with other models, but I don't know how.
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2002, 05:13 AM   #26
idontlikegeorge
 
idontlikegeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Striking fear into the hearts of Demolicans and Republicrats.
Posts: 951
well, if you want the grans to be taken out completely, then just rename the folder with the new model to be "gran"

one thing ive noticed, is that for some reason, jk2 doesnt seem to like running player skins unless its packed (SP anyway);

like, hehe for my testing mod, i tried to set up the infamous jan skin to be the player model (dont work tho cuz surface issues); anyway, i had that **** in a pk3 file, then when i went to make the jedi model into the player, i made it in an open directory (forgot to pak it over the previous one)

so, when i loaded up my mod/map, the player was a jedi model with naked jan textures for skinning lol! crazy **** like b00bies on the back from that; then i took out the old pak, but dint repak the new model; it works, but doesnt use the textures i specify (i want the torso of jedi2); it reverts back to old ones

so, im thinking that maybe it needs the texture, or skin files to be packed in order for them to work; i havent tested it yet tho
idontlikegeorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2002, 08:07 PM   #27
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
Thanks for the help idontlikegeorge , I think I'll leave the new skins till the next map, this one is frustratingly close to completion, the map itself is basically done, and so is the end cinematic, except for the voices....offer for a voice actor who can do a good Kyle voice still open
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2002, 12:04 AM   #28
idontlikegeorge
 
idontlikegeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Striking fear into the hearts of Demolicans and Republicrats.
Posts: 951
i understand you want to get it done, but dont sell your map short
idontlikegeorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > (Kyle Sound-a-like)Voice Actor needed

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:05 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.