lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Cant compile
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-01-2002, 08:24 PM   #1
rabidsnail
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 20
Cant compile

I am using JK2 radient to learn how to begin mapping. I used the tutorial by Rich Diesal and everthing went well until it was time to compile.

I go to compile using FullVis and as it opens the dos box it has a bunch of error messages, like 3 in a row, and this happens twice, and then it goes to lighting and stops, and the top box says finished. Its confusing ...if the exact error message would help, tell me.

BTW: I am using a rather old P3 500, could it be that my comp is too ####ty?
rabidsnail is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2002, 11:03 PM   #2
Karshaddii
 
Karshaddii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Castella
Posts: 357
Are you sure there error messages??

It should pop up three messages

First it compiles the .bsp

then the VIS

and then the lighting


Test your map and then tell me if it don't work.

If it doesn't then I will give you more steps on finding the problem.


Today isn't your lucky day....tommorrow isn't looking good either...
Karshaddii is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2002, 02:30 PM   #3
rabidsnail
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 20
I attempted to get it to work but nothing happened. Any Ideas?

And yes, they are error boxes, not popups.
rabidsnail is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2002, 05:16 PM   #4
rabidsnail
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 20
Cmon, someone help me out, I really want to do some mapping but cant if I cant compile my maps. Are there any seperate programs to compile maps? If you know of one tell me where I can get it.
rabidsnail is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2002, 06:09 PM   #5
Wes Marrakesh
Resident Cynic
 
Wes Marrakesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: I think this is "imagination"
Posts: 1,435
we can't help if we don't know anything. Tell us what happens. And give us specific error messages, only way to help.
Wes Marrakesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2002, 07:39 PM   #6
ToN1C
 
ToN1C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3
I know your problem, I had the same, too!

Check at Project Settings the path directories. My fault was that there were two \\ before "base" and not only one \.


every day without a smile is a lost day
ToN1C is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2002, 07:44 PM   #7
rabidsnail
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 20
I did have two //, but when I changed it it still happened.

Here is the error meesage.

SOF2MAP caused an invalid page fault in
module KERNEL32.DLL at 0197:bff7b9a6.
Registers:
EAX=00000000 CS=0197 EIP=bff7b9a6 EFLGS=00000246
EBX=0cb80000 SS=019f ESP=0cf8fdd0 EBP=0cf8fde0
ECX=0cf8fe28 DS=019f ESI=0ca5c0a0 FS=6537
EDX=819315b4 ES=019f EDI=00000000 GS=0000
Bytes at CS:EIP:
ff 76 04 e8 13 89 ff ff 5e c2 04 00 56 8b 74 24
Stack dump:
0045ea24 004422d7 0ca5c0a0 81931494 0cf8fe38 0043d754 0000000d 0043d6ae 00000000 0043d675 ffffffff 00000000 00000000 0043ed1c ffffffff 00000000
rabidsnail is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2002, 07:47 PM   #8
rabidsnail
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 20
Edit: forget it. I try to compile and all it does is compiles bsp and stops, and jk2 cant find the bsp...

Last edited by rabidsnail; 08-02-2002 at 07:57 PM.
rabidsnail is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2002, 08:07 PM   #9
rabidsnail
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 20
Sorry about that. I thank you all for your time and owe you all. Its working now, so if you want I can delete this thread or something.
rabidsnail is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2002, 10:28 PM   #10
Yun the Sith
 
Yun the Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: The boonies of NC
Posts: 112
What! How in the crap did you fix it? I'm having the EXACT same problm!!
Yun the Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2002, 10:39 PM   #11
rabidsnail
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 20
Under project setting I got rid of all the extra /s in the file location thingy (technical term). I also did this for each type of compile. (I went to one, like Full Vis Extra and clicked adjust or edit or whatever and got rid of that also) I also made sure to save the map in the maps folder, and it helped.
rabidsnail is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2002, 12:10 PM   #12
ProjectFusion
 
ProjectFusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4
Unhappy ARRR I'm not getting a .BSP!

Hi,
This is driving me insane. I'm new to mapping jk2raidiant (not maping altogether), and made a map and compiled with bspfullvis. no errors, perfect.

But it didnt make a .bsp, and therfore cant be played in jk2.

I am also using the tutorials by rich diesal.
plz help me so i can continue to map


Battle me on the MSN zone, my zone name is: Project_Fusion.
ProjectFusion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Cant compile

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:45 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.