lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Obj Images and Layers
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-01-2002, 10:15 PM   #1
DivineDominion
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Guetersloh, Germany
Posts: 1
Question Obj Images and Layers

Hi there!

I'm from germany, so I've got german versions of my games, including MI2. Now I want to view the images of the characters like Guybrush, the Soldier of Phatt, Largo [...] to get a clue of how they look like (using SCUMMRevisited). Now as i noticed, it doesn't work. Only thing that seems to show anything to me are the paths through the 'maps' and the background images themself. all the other things except the palettes are doing nothing right now. As i also noticed on a Screen at the SCUMMRev-HP there are the Titles of the Rooms written next do the LFLF-Thing. In my files, they aren't. I hope it's not just because I got the german version...

Then I want to know how they handled the layers. As I mentioned before, I cannot view the object images or char sets etc, so I have no clue of how the Objects are overdrawing Guybrush, so he walks behind them. If he comes closer to the Player, he can walk before those Objects. How have they handled it?

Cheers,
DivineDominion
DivineDominion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2002, 04:21 AM   #2
checkmate
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 92
Can't you just play the game?

Okay, you can't. But if you want to see costumes (that's what they're called), there's a neat program called CostRip you can get from LucasHacks! .


Blore's Razor:
Given the choice between two theories, take the one which is funnier.
checkmate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2002, 07:28 AM   #3
Anym
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austria
Posts: 16
And to get the titles for the rooms, download the Annotations from http://scummrev.mixnmojo.com/annot.shtml to you Annot directory.


I look just like Bobbin Threadbare.
Anym is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2002, 05:57 PM   #4
MadMoose
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1
The annotations on the scummrev site are for the English language versions and won't (as far as I know) work for the German version. But all the rooms should be in the same order so it shouldn't be to difficult to get them working. Just find the offsets of the rooms in your files and put them in the annotation files.

About the layers: In the same block as the background image (in monkey 1 floppy at least) are one or more z-layers. (basically a black and white image of the same dimensions as the room.) When drawing an actor, the engine looks at the actors current walkbox where a mask number is defined and doesn't draw pixels that are behind any of the layers with a lower z-value. The scripts can also set the mask number.

Movable objects and actors are probably just sorted by their y-value (the mask value is probably also used here.)

For further details you can always spend a couple of hours digging through the scummvm sourcecode --- that's what I did

MadMoose

Last edited by MadMoose; 08-03-2002 at 11:28 AM.
MadMoose is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2002, 04:25 AM   #5
checkmate
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 92
If you want to see costumes from The Dig or Full Throttle or CMI, check out my AkosView program!

I have no way of knowing whether people are actually downloading that thing, so I just thought I'd recommend it here.


Blore's Razor:
Given the choice between two theories, take the one which is funnier.
checkmate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-12-2002, 03:10 AM   #6
FoboldFKY
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cairns, Australia
Posts: 1
I tried searching google, but couldn't find any refrences to your program. I've been dying to get the Murray sprites out of CMI; can you post a link to your program's site/dl please?

Thanks in advance...
FoboldFKY is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-13-2002, 12:59 PM   #7
Anym
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austria
Posts: 16
-> http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...threadid=51181 -> http://www.gorman.btinternet.co.uk/Akosview.zip


I look just like Bobbin Threadbare.
Anym is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-13-2002, 08:39 PM   #8
checkmate
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 92
If you really want to rip the images, you'll have to wait a bit. I'm making plans for an internal GIF compressor, but I don't know much about GIF. You could take screenshots with the Print Screen key, but the colors are all wrong.


Blore's Razor:
Given the choice between two theories, take the one which is funnier.
checkmate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2002, 02:54 AM   #9
john_doe
 
john_doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The pit
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally posted by checkmate
If you really want to rip the images, you'll have to wait a bit. I'm making plans for an internal GIF compressor, but I don't know much about GIF. You could take screenshots with the Print Screen key, but the colors are all wrong.
GIF is a bad idea as parts of it (the compression algorithm) is patented and required licensing (i.e. programs that save GIF have to buy a license from Unisys, decompression apparently is free(?)).
I'd just save it as Bmp, easy to implement and no trouble with licenses. I don't know which compiler you made your tool with, but you can usually save a canvas to BMP using internal Win routines (check Win32 help for more info on this).
john_doe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2002, 04:34 AM   #10
checkmate
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 92
Ack, you're right. I'll follow your advice and do BMP, it's easier anyway. I don't know much about GDI, but I'd be happy to learn more of it. AkosView uses DirectDraw, and is written using Visual C++ 6.


Blore's Razor:
Given the choice between two theories, take the one which is funnier.
checkmate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2002, 07:45 PM   #11
moebius
 
moebius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Galicia, Spain
Posts: 53
You can get a reference to an internal GDI graphics context (GC) and then treat your DirectDraw surface with GDI functions, so it's not a problem to save a BMP from your program using GDI. If you don't want to use BMP, you can always use any other free, open image format, like PNG (that supports transparency and lossless compression). You could use the GPL'd "libpng" to treat this great file format


Moebius
Developer of the Lixoo engine
moebius is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2002, 09:31 PM   #12
checkmate
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 92
That sounds good. AkosView does the GDI device context thing to display things like "Failed to draw cel". Trouble is, if a part of that text is overlapping the cel, it may end up in your screenshot. Of course, I can just blank out the screen and rerender the image. Is there a way to treat a section of a device context like a bitmap?


Blore's Razor:
Given the choice between two theories, take the one which is funnier.
checkmate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2002, 12:22 AM   #13
checkmate
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 92
I wrote some code to save the image as a BMP file...upside down! I'll upload the new AkosView when I figure out how to flip it right side up.


Blore's Razor:
Given the choice between two theories, take the one which is funnier.
checkmate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2002, 09:42 AM   #14
john_doe
 
john_doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The pit
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally posted by checkmate
I wrote some code to save the image as a BMP file...upside down! I'll upload the new AkosView when I figure out how to flip it right side up.
IIRC you just have to set a negative height, i.e. -HEIGHT
I think this will work (not sure, though).
john_doe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2002, 03:55 PM   #15
checkmate
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 92
I've flipped the bitmap upside-down (or right-side-up), so that's cool. Sometimes (but very rarely), the saved bitmap is all screwed up. I think AkosView is in for a rewrite, but in the meantime, 0.5 has been released, with the ability to save as a BMP file. Get it here .

I took a screenshot of one of the images I found you probably never see in the game.


You may think it's the CMI interface, but look closely at that hand icon. Weird.


Blore's Razor:
Given the choice between two theories, take the one which is funnier.
checkmate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2002, 07:32 PM   #16
checkmate
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 92
You, I, and everyone must always remember some things about the BMP file format!

- The palette is stored in BGR, rather than RGB
- The rows are stored upside-down
- While the image width may not be a multiple of 4, the stored rows in the bitmap are, so you write some trash at the end of each stored row
- To compute the amount of trash you need:
trashCount = (((imgWidth + 3) & ~3) - imgWidth)

That trash thing I didn't implement in 0.5, so 0.6 will fix the screwed-up bitmap problem.


Blore's Razor:
Given the choice between two theories, take the one which is funnier.
checkmate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Mixnmojo.com > Community Discussion Forums > SCUMM > Obj Images and Layers

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:53 AM.


LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.