lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: someone was right about tall rooms taking longer to compile
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-03-2002, 02:58 AM   #1
silverwest
 
silverwest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 56
someone was right about tall rooms taking longer to compile

I don't remember who had a post about this before, or even if it was on this forum. My map was taking about a minute to compile. Then I stretched a bunch of brushes down to make pits deeper. The map was about five times taller, and started taking 15 minutes to compile. Almost all the extra time was spent on lighting.
silverwest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2002, 11:31 AM   #2
RichDiesal
Pointfile of DOOM
 
RichDiesal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,362
Are you using a sky shader with a sun? Normally, adding height to a normal room won't do a whole lot, but if you have a sun in your sky shader, that will do it.


There are three things that I paricularly hate: kids, animals, and women with attitudes.

http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com - Map Showcase and Tutorials!
RichDiesal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2002, 11:46 AM   #3
fourwood
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 60
It's not necessarily the process of making the room taller, it's just that you're making much more surface area that lightmaps have to be calculated for.
fourwood is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2002, 01:19 PM   #4
silverwest
 
silverwest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 56
there's no sun, but my sky is a light-emitting shader. I think you guys explained it pretty well. My level's in the beginning stages, and right now, I just put a box around it and made only the top of the box a sky.

I guess while I'm making the level, I can put a floor really high in the pit, until I'm ready to light that part, in order to save time.
silverwest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2002, 08:52 PM   #5
idontlikegeorge
 
idontlikegeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Striking fear into the hearts of Demolicans and Republicrats.
Posts: 951
Quote:
It's not necessarily the process of making the room taller, it's just that you're making much more surface area that lightmaps have to be calculated for.
simple, but true.
idontlikegeorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > someone was right about tall rooms taking longer to compile

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:57 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.