lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Cut-scenes in ICARUS
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-13-2002, 11:07 PM   #1
JavaGuy
 
JavaGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 141
Cut-scenes in ICARUS

Some questions...

I read in a tutorial that a cut-scene should use an NPC_Kyle for the player in camera mode, with a spawnscript that makes it invisible and nonsolid until the appropriate time. That's what I did, and it works, but I'm wondering if there's any reason why that's preferable to simply not spawning the NPC_Kyle at all until it's needed.

How do I end a scenario from an ICARUS script? I tried the SET_MISSIONFAILED, but it didn't seem to do anything.

How do mission objectives work? The ICARUS manual isn't especially clear on this?

Lastly, is it possible to move the player in a script? I'm trying this:

affect ( "kyle", /*@AFFECT_TYPE*/ FLUSH )
{
set ( "SET_ORIGIN", $tag( "point1", ORIGIN)$ );
set ( "SET_ANGLES", $tag( "point1", ANGLES)$ );
}


...but nothing seems to happen. This happens at a point in the script where it's in camera mode, incidently, if that makes any difference. And yes, I want to move the actual player, not just the NPC_kyle.
JavaGuy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2002, 06:32 AM   #2
UltimateZeus
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 100
You have to use NPC_kyle as the player does not show up in camera mode.

Use camera_Disable to disable the camera

You have the right method of moving the character

Zeus
UltimateZeus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2002, 09:34 AM   #3
Catscratch
 
Catscratch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: istanbul, Türkiye
Posts: 171
There's no ending level command in Icarus scripting. You keep completing the objectives and under some circumstances, the map loads the next one. At the end of the last mission, it gives the credits which you can with icarus. There should've been a command like closing the map and returning to the main menu.


This cat scratches free.
Catscratch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2002, 10:23 AM   #4
MilesTeg
 
MilesTeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 227
The last commands of the sp game ( from the last script "cinematic37.txt"):

set ( /*@SET_TYPES*/ "SET_END_SCREENDISSOLVE ", /*@BOOL_TYPES*/ "true" );
use ( "endcredit_music" );
wait ( 1000.000 );
set ( /*@SET_TYPES*/ "SET_CLOSINGCREDITS", /*@BOOL_TYPES*/ "true" );

I think that´s how you can get back to the menu


MilesTeg
kinda Ex-Mapper
Each day, each moment brings it´s change. One learns by recognizing the moments.
Ghanima, Children of Dune
MilesTeg is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2002, 10:24 AM   #5
JavaGuy
 
JavaGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 141
I don't want to move NPC_Kyle; I know how to do that. What I want is for the player to be in the same position after I disable the camera that NPC_Kyle was in at that time. The tutorial at http://www.geocities.com/rellenbroek...utorial_4.html does precisely that, except I can't get it to work for me.

Concerning ending the level, in the SP there's a part where you try to sneak past a bunch of guys undetected. If you get caught there's a cinematic of Kyle getting captured, and the mission failed screen comes up while it is still in camera mode. How is that done? And what is SET_MISSIONFAILED for anyway?

I'm still not clear on how the different SET_OBJECTIVE_ commands work. How do I create objectives?
JavaGuy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2002, 05:24 AM   #6
idontlikegeorge
 
idontlikegeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Striking fear into the hearts of Demolicans and Republicrats.
Posts: 951
Quote:
I'm still not clear on how the different SET_OBJECTIVE_ commands work. How do I create objectives?
you cant create new objectives, you have to change existing ones, and reference the regular tags

like say KEJIM_POST_OBJ1 is "Investigate the abandoned Imperial outpost.", just change the string in the objectives.sp file to read "blah blah", then in spawn script put a line like:
set ( /*@SET_TYPES*/ "SET_OBJECTIVE_SHOW", /*@OBJECTIVES*/ "KEJIM_POST_OBJ1" );
and when you start your map blah blah will appear as an objective


Quote:
And what is SET_MISSIONFAILED for anyway?
set ( /*@SET_TYPES*/ "SET_MISSIONFAILED", /*@MISSIONFAILED*/ "MISSIONFAILED_KYLECAPTURE" ); thats straight outta the script; the missionfailed_kylecapture references a string in the sp_ingame.sp file

basically, it seems that you have to use the default reference tags - they seem to be defined in the SP code; but you can still change the strings to suit your needs
idontlikegeorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2002, 12:54 AM   #7
JavaGuy
 
JavaGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 141
That worked for me, thanks!

Where are you guys getting the .txt versions of the scripts that come with the game? I can only find the .ibi versions.
JavaGuy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2002, 07:02 AM   #8
idontlikegeorge
 
idontlikegeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Striking fear into the hearts of Demolicans and Republicrats.
Posts: 951
jkeditingtools2 came with a SP_scripts.zip, which has them all in .txt format
idontlikegeorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2002, 09:24 AM   #9
JavaGuy
 
JavaGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 141
Awesome! Thanks again.
JavaGuy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2002, 01:46 PM   #10
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Hmm... idontlikegeorge, where are those files you mentioned? I mean objectives.sp and sp_ingame.sp? I was looking them for half an hour.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2002, 05:08 PM   #11
idontlikegeorge
 
idontlikegeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Striking fear into the hearts of Demolicans and Republicrats.
Posts: 951
their in base/strip, if you extracted all the assests paks
idontlikegeorge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-19-2002, 11:58 AM   #12
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Err... actually, I did not.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Cut-scenes in ICARUS

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:51 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.