lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Custom textures dont show up
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-14-2002, 03:18 AM   #1
SkN
 
SkN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 26
Custom textures dont show up

Its been a while now... and I'm trying to figure out how to make my custom textures to work!!! They don't show up when I test the map...its all in gray with white lines.... Can someone gimme a list of reasons of what may be the problem?!?!


-->AzN-GoD-oF-DuEL
SkN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2002, 07:46 AM   #2
alanuk
 
alanuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: manchester
Posts: 56
hehe

thats beacuses its not power of 2 in other words u got to have it like squared number
u have to have a special program with the numbers in
best is for you to take a textuer from the game and make urs over it, it will work


:dev13: The Mapping Devil
alanuk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2002, 08:10 AM   #3
FEXX
 
FEXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 144
I ran into this problem once too.

Just be sure you export a texture map for your model with something like 512x256, 512x512, 768x512, 768x768 or 1024x768 and the custom texture should load up for the model.

If the model's texture map is in a resolution similar to this, then the texture should show up in game, and if you use it in a .pk3 file as well.
FEXX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2002, 10:27 AM   #4
Shadriss
 
Shadriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangor, WA
Posts: 740
Reasons Custom Textures do not work :

1. The afforementioned "Power-Of-2" size resrictions not being met.

2. If testing through a PK3, the textures were not included in the PK3. Solution : add them.

3. If NOT testing through a PK3, try sv_pure 0 in the console, then reload the map. If they show up at that point, then it's considering those textures to be "non-standard" or not included with the game. JKO looks for textures in PK3 files, and uses those only unless you have a non pure server.
Solution : MAKE a PK3 that includes the BSP file and the textures.

4. Have a nice day.


Shadriss is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2002, 10:50 AM   #5
Merritt
 
Merritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Leeds, England
Posts: 81
will this work in single player as well then? - if i change all of the textures to be "power of 2" and make sure they're all in the pk3 will it load correctly?


Work In Progress: Duel Of The Fates SP

:
Merritt is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2002, 12:43 PM   #6
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Yep, except that you don't have to put the textures into a pk3. However you can if you want.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2002, 03:14 PM   #7
Merritt
 
Merritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Leeds, England
Posts: 81
i have some textures that are the right size but they still dont seem to work. They use shaders though - will this be the reason or do i have to change the shader or something to make them work in SP?


Work In Progress: Duel Of The Fates SP

:
Merritt is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2002, 03:30 PM   #8
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
NOTE: if you're still in development, dont forget to go to the consol and type

sv_pure 0

then

devmap mymapname

in order for the textures to show up (assuming you've followed the advice above about sizing)

otherwise you need to put it all into a PK3 file - there are plenty of tutorials on how to do this around.
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2002, 08:35 AM   #9
Merritt
 
Merritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Leeds, England
Posts: 81
my textures are already in a pk3 file in the relavant folders. I havnt trieed sv_pure 0 though. will this command still work for single player maps or is it designed for multiplayer?


Work In Progress: Duel Of The Fates SP

:
Merritt is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2002, 08:48 AM   #10
starunner
 
starunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 46
Just another quick tip: Make sure you save your JPG's in the baseline "standard" format, (and not progressive). I did this by accident and it prevented my textures showing up in game.

As far as I know, the "sv_pure" affects multiplayer only. I think it's there for multiplayer servers who want to play the game in it's original unaltered form.
starunner is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2002, 09:06 AM   #11
Merritt
 
Merritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Leeds, England
Posts: 81
thx - if you have any more ideas post here


Work In Progress: Duel Of The Fates SP

:
Merritt is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-17-2002, 04:24 PM   #12
Merritt
 
Merritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Leeds, England
Posts: 81
all of your tips dont work. The map works fine in multiplayer but refuses to load correctly in SP. i really need help on this


Work In Progress: Duel Of The Fates SP

:
Merritt is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-17-2002, 10:37 PM   #13
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Remove ALL custom textures from the map and see if it makes a difference - if it doesn't, you may have a different problem.

NOTE: The SP and MP engines are quite different - what may work fine in one, may quite easily not work at all in the other.

Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-19-2002, 12:31 PM   #14
Merritt
 
Merritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Leeds, England
Posts: 81
thanks for the help but ive managed to solve the problem thanks to planetwolfenstein.com - they cliamed that the problem was due to a faulty shader, so i decided to remove the shaders folder in the pk3 and the map worked fine (apart from the 1 or 2 textures that used the shader) so all i have to do now is add the shaders back one by one and see which causes the problem (i think). thx anyway


Work In Progress: Duel Of The Fates SP

:
Merritt is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-19-2002, 08:33 PM   #15
teutonicknight
Morpheus
 
teutonicknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Zion (Marin, CA)
Posts: 1,447
Could someone tell me what sv_pure 0 does?

Thanks



"Unfortunatly, no one can be told what The Matrix is... you have top see it for yourself."

2003: Year of The Matrix!
teutonicknight is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 12:05 AM   #16
~Rebel_Monkey~
 
~Rebel_Monkey~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: California
Posts: 120
sv_pure 0 makes you an 'unpure' server, (in english that means you can use files that are not in the PK3)
Thats all. Nothing Fancy.


Current Project: The Opposing Fortresses
Type: Multiplayer
---
35% Completed
~Rebel_Monkey~ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-20-2002, 09:56 PM   #17
teutonicknight
Morpheus
 
teutonicknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Zion (Marin, CA)
Posts: 1,447
Quote:
Originally posted by ~Rebel_Monkey~
sv_pure 0 makes you an 'unpure' server, (in english that means you can use files that are not in the PK3)
Thats all. Nothing Fancy.
Thanks!



"Unfortunatly, no one can be told what The Matrix is... you have top see it for yourself."

2003: Year of The Matrix!
teutonicknight is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Custom textures dont show up

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:21 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.