lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: What about physics and accuracy?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-21-2002, 09:00 PM   #1
I.M.H.D.
 
I.M.H.D.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 18
Question What about physics and accuracy?

Hey, guys, I was just wondering what you were going to do about the differences in physics and enemy A.I. in the original Dark Forces. Jumping physics especially are important-- in Jedi Outcast, it takes a while to get up speed, where as in Dark Forces, hitting the shift button and pressing foreward means that you are instantly going as fast as you can. Many of the jumps in Dark Forces depend on this. The falling physics are also quite different in Dark Forces, and jumps are both higher and longer than in Jedi Outcast. There is also the fact that running tended to be much faster in Dark Forces. Can you actually edit the physics in Jedi Outcast enough to simulate the original experience? The other important thing to consider is the enemy A.I.-- Dark Forces could have huge numbers of enemies not simply because sprites are easier to manipulate (although this is true), but because the enemies were considerebly easier. If you play Dark Forces, you will note that almost NOBODY can hit you with their first shot; and if you're running, you're pretty much safe. Also, enemies tend to wander around for a little bit in between shots. Will you edit the A.I.s to make them truer to the original game? Thanks-- I'm interested in this because I tried to convert the Secret Base Dark Forces level to a Jedi Knight level, got as far as the textruing (which looked really good), and discovered that the differences in physics and enemy A.I. made the game pretty much unplayable. So your input would be very much appreciated, Mod Team! Thank You!
I.M.H.D. is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-21-2002, 11:54 PM   #2
Darth_Linux
 
Darth_Linux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Longview, WA
Posts: 525
I'm kind of in favor of leaving the physics and enemy AI as they appear in Jedi Outcast. You can edit some of the physics like amount of gravity, but you'll never get the "feel" correct so I don't think it's even worth trying - you'll mess things up and the purists still won't be happy . . .


Producer - The Dark Forces MOD for Jedi Academy
http://darkforces.jediknight.net/
Darth_Linux is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2002, 11:26 PM   #3
Alex_P47
 
Alex_P47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Raliegh NC USA
Posts: 107
darth - this may be a problem. Some of the jumps in my lvl(robotics) prob cant be done by forceless kyle from JO

I can always shorten the distance i guess


- Alex P
Alex_P47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2002, 11:31 AM   #4
Darth_Linux
 
Darth_Linux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Longview, WA
Posts: 525
or we could adjust the gravity or cl_speed or z_yaw values so he naturally goes a little higher or faster or farther . . . let's make the map to scale first, and then adjust the physics to make those types of issues workable, rather than try and use features that shouldn't be in the game.


Producer - The Dark Forces MOD for Jedi Academy
http://darkforces.jediknight.net/
Darth_Linux is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2002, 03:52 PM   #5
I.M.H.D.
 
I.M.H.D.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 18
Thanks, guys!

Thanks! All I really wanted was to make sure you guys were thinking about these issues... the game could be REALLY tough if you've got a billion smart stormtroopers bearing down on you, or if you miss a jump because you don't have room to get up to speed. My conscience is satisfied now...
I.M.H.D. is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2002, 11:31 PM   #6
Jeff 42
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 177
I wonder about these issues too. Another thing is that the stormtrooper rifle in DF is a much more effective weapon than the stormtrooper rifle in JO, which is practically useless in many situations. If these factors aren't modified the game could be nearly impossible.
Jeff 42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-07-2002, 07:15 PM   #7
Katarn07
Joxer the Mighty
 
Katarn07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: No clue
Posts: 4,250
"The Force is strong with Katarn..." -Darth Vader, Dark Forces

You can make Kyle jump a little higher and further, as well as run a bit faster. He obviously has the Force with him, but only Rahn, Morgan and Vader know it. Kyle can't "control" his powers, so these are the only abilities he can use.



Like to read? Like fantasy stories? Like doing people you've never met in person favors? Then read and review my original movie screenplay! You will, you must. It is your destiny....

Check out the best shots of all of my collections along with some of my better attempts at artwork here.
Katarn07 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-09-2002, 02:32 PM   #8
Alex_P47
 
Alex_P47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Raliegh NC USA
Posts: 107
I dont think at the time DF was made they forsaw that they would make kyle a jedi.not sure. anyone know for sure?

Yes, Kyle does jump a large amount further in DF but I think they minimized his forceless jump in JK to leave room for the force jump.

anyone else think the forceless jump in JO is pitifull?


- Alex P
Alex_P47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-09-2002, 06:05 PM   #9
Katarn07
Joxer the Mighty
 
Katarn07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: No clue
Posts: 4,250
But that was the line that did indeed inspire the story for the sequel (Did you know in DF you were supposed to play as Luke with a lightsaber and force powers, but they ran into story clashes and lack of resources... It's TRUE, check out Kyle Katarn's databank entry at StarWars. com!!!) They still wanted to implement the Jedi idea into their game, so they added Vader's line in there so it could back up the possible sequel. That possiblity became a reality with DFII.



Like to read? Like fantasy stories? Like doing people you've never met in person favors? Then read and review my original movie screenplay! You will, you must. It is your destiny....

Check out the best shots of all of my collections along with some of my better attempts at artwork here.
Katarn07 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Hosted Forums > Dark Forces Mod > What about physics and accuracy?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:48 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.