lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: DF MP Maps
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-05-2002, 10:37 AM   #1
Katarn07
Joxer the Mighty
 
Katarn07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: No clue
Posts: 4,250
DF MP Maps

I know there weren't any MP games in the original, but will you be adding some bots into the game, like Mohc, Rebus, BOBA FETT! etc. I don't care about the maps because I understand how much time and resources something like this takes up. Oh yeah, Iforgot. Will you be replacing the JO weapons in MP maps with DF ones to use. And can you still use the force in MP?



Like to read? Like fantasy stories? Like doing people you've never met in person favors? Then read and review my original movie screenplay! You will, you must. It is your destiny....

Check out the best shots of all of my collections along with some of my better attempts at artwork here.
Katarn07 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2002, 06:52 PM   #2
Alex_P47
 
Alex_P47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Raliegh NC USA
Posts: 107
not sure if there will be MP. well see how long it takes for the SP. Though if and when we do have MP there probably wont be force since we may have the engine modified for no force use.
an MP possibility would be a coop mode.


- Alex P
Alex_P47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2002, 07:54 PM   #3
Skovdaddy
 
Skovdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Peachtree City, Georgia
Posts: 8
YAY!!! Coop!!!
Skovdaddy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2002, 08:09 PM   #4
The Count
Banned
 
The Count's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester University and London United Kingdom.
Posts: 1,061
What about the model limit?
The Count is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-05-2002, 09:56 PM   #5
Alex_P47
 
Alex_P47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Raliegh NC USA
Posts: 107
all I know in is that wired lamp studios made coop possible in theirs. and we may use that.


- Alex P
Alex_P47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-06-2002, 05:09 AM   #6
MilesTeg
 
MilesTeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 227
We want to use the Coop source files because itīs the only way to make this mod a real conversion (changing weapons etc.).

If it wonīt be too complicated we could include some actual coop features in the maps but thatīs future music.
The current gamecode from Snerd lacks AI completely! We would have to recode complete AI of all enemies to get a somehow working version...


MilesTeg
kinda Ex-Mapper
Each day, each moment brings itīs change. One learns by recognizing the moments.
Ghanima, Children of Dune
MilesTeg is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-06-2002, 10:50 AM   #7
Katarn07
Joxer the Mighty
 
Katarn07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: No clue
Posts: 4,250
What's coop? Is that where you play single player missions with humans aiding you (or trying to stop you) from completing the objectives or something like that? I was just curious about bots, my Internet connection is WAY TOO SLOW for online play with JO.



Like to read? Like fantasy stories? Like doing people you've never met in person favors? Then read and review my original movie screenplay! You will, you must. It is your destiny....

Check out the best shots of all of my collections along with some of my better attempts at artwork here.
Katarn07 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-06-2002, 11:39 AM   #8
Alex_P47
 
Alex_P47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Raliegh NC USA
Posts: 107
Coop or (COoperative) is playing through a level with a "team mate" possibly over a network or internet. Dont think we would have a human playing against a human in coop mode. i guess one would have to be imperial and wouldent be very strong. I think I remeber playing like that in the N64 game perfect dark though.


- Alex P
Alex_P47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-07-2002, 09:09 AM   #9
The Count
Banned
 
The Count's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester University and London United Kingdom.
Posts: 1,061
What about the model limit you can't do Co Op unless there is less than a certain amount of models that's why Wired Lamp had to give up.
The Count is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-07-2002, 09:24 AM   #10
MilesTeg
 
MilesTeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 227
+WLS (WiredLampStudios) had to give up their project because they wanted a mod that make it possible to play the original JO maps in Coop style. That was impossible because nearly all of those maps used more models than the model limit (that is in multiplayer) allows. And (of course) they couldnīt get the .map files from raven to adjust the amount of models...

We will not exceed the model limit (250 ?) with our levels. When thereīs a level that has more models we can split it up in several bsp files.
The model limit includes all entities that use md3īs (tie fighters, plants, enemies etc).
For secbase I have made a very rough calculation:
(about) 60 enemies and 60 items in the original level. Shouldnīt be too much...


MilesTeg
kinda Ex-Mapper
Each day, each moment brings itīs change. One learns by recognizing the moments.
Ghanima, Children of Dune
MilesTeg is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Hosted Forums > Dark Forces Mod > DF MP Maps

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:48 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.