lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Yes
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-05-2002, 06:17 AM   #1
Aran_Linvail
 
Aran_Linvail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Asylum
Posts: 2
Yes

Greetings,

I recently bought a new 900 mhz computer and Dark Forces doesn't work on windows. Only when i play it in dos, then it works, but then mouse and sound doesn't work... How can i play it in windows? Or can i take screenshots in dos? Thanks.


"I 've labored long and hard for bread, for the honor and for the riches. On my corns too long you tread, you fine haired sons of bitches."

-Black Bart the po-8
Aran_Linvail is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-05-2002, 02:37 PM   #2
Alex_P47
 
Alex_P47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Raliegh NC USA
Posts: 107
you should be able to run the dos executable from windows.
the sound doesnt work but the mouse should. As of why I have no idea at the moment. Ill look into it


- Alex P
Alex_P47 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-05-2002, 05:23 PM   #3
Katarn07
Joxer the Mighty
 
Katarn07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: No clue
Posts: 4,250
I had to run it through DOS on my old, worthless PC and sound didn't work. Back then I knew absolutely nothing, but fixed it. This SHOULD work to get your sound on. Go to my computer, what drive its in, what folder you installed it in and click on the setup.exe. Go to sound and keep auto testing until sounds on. If there is a mouse option in there, run it, that should get it working again.



Like to read? Like fantasy stories? Like doing people you've never met in person favors? Then read and review my original movie screenplay! You will, you must. It is your destiny....

Check out the best shots of all of my collections along with some of my better attempts at artwork here.
Katarn07 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-05-2002, 07:02 PM   #4
JorBo
 
JorBo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Middle of Nowhere
Posts: 23
http://www.df-21.net <---- search around there.


Dark Forces to Jedi Outcast mod Mapper

JorBo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-06-2002, 07:14 PM   #5
TIMMAY
 
TIMMAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 36
hmm

The Reason why your sound and mouse wont work in Dos is because you probably didn't load them in the config.sys and autoexec.bat startup files. Now im not sure about your sound card and theres next to no hope for it in Dos now, since you would be very lucky to find Dos Drivers but for the mouse, go into dos, goto C: and type :

edit autoexec.bat

once that opens go to the end of the file and type in :

lh mouse

then exit, save and reboot. Now you should have your mouse in Dos

P.S If you are using NT4, Win 2k, WinXP then this wont work as they done use DOS other than a command prompt in Windows.


http://www25.brinkster.com/timmyxwa : X-Wing Alliance LIVES!!
TIMMAY is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-06-2002, 07:29 PM   #6
michael_collins
 
michael_collins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Northern Ireland`
Posts: 218
i managed to get mine working in windows ME, but im afraid of deleting it in case i cant get it back, i jus set music to general midi player and it worked like a dream, and autodetected for the sound fx.....god forbid if i ever have to reformat my hdd. lol


Im just sittin here tryinta write this book- Bruce Springstien
michael_collins is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-06-2002, 07:36 PM   #7
michael_collins
 
michael_collins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Northern Ireland`
Posts: 218
hey jorbo, do the modders know of this site ? cos its really informative


Im just sittin here tryinta write this book- Bruce Springstien
michael_collins is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-07-2002, 06:21 AM   #8
Arcandaous
 
Arcandaous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Solving Mouse/RAM/Midi/Sound Blaster issues for dos games in winNT/2k etc

I use VDMSound

Its an emulator of everything u could possibly need for dos based games to run under windows. Its easy to config. when u have the GUI launcher (just point and click). It emulates Sound Blaster Cards and all midi cards as well as mouse, ram (expanded and extended) and video memory.

Works perfectly with Dark Forces.

get it at http://vdmsound.sourceforge.net/

To get sound and mouse working under win98/me i suggest you check out some sites regardign editing your autoexec.bat files and dos drivers for your mouse and sound if you want it to work (or just upgrade crappy ol win98/me to win2k).

Alternatively there may be similar emultors which work in win98.

Cheers
Arcandaous is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-07-2002, 11:08 AM   #9
Geoffrey S
 
Geoffrey S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Breukelen, Holland
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally posted by michael_collins:
Hey jorbo, do the modders know of this site?
I got here from DF-21, and so did a couple of the texture artists.
Jorbo's right. There are some articles on your problem, and I'm sure it's been discussed in the fora. And besides, it's got plenty of great add-ons too.
Geoffrey S is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-07-2002, 01:12 PM   #10
The_One
The Dude Abides
 
The_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 1,543
Quote:
Originally posted by michael_collins
hey jorbo, do the modders know of this site ? cos its really informative
We use it all the time! Check the links page of the site - was the first link I think



Dark Forces: A Mod for Jedi Academy
Webmaster

Maude Lebowski: What do you do for recreation?
The Dude: Oh, the usual. I bowl. Drive around. The occasional acid flashback.
The_One is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Hosted Forums > Dark Forces Mod > Yes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:23 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.