lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: GF on windows XP
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-10-2002, 07:32 AM   #1
blueangel4xtc
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: italy
Posts: 6
GF on windows XP

hi everyone...i tried to play GF on windows XP but after clicking "play grim fandango" button in the launcher this disappears and nothing happens... i think that's a directx problem but i don't know how to solve it... can anyone help me?
thanx a lot!
blueangel4xtc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2002, 05:52 PM   #2
Tall Guy
Est. 1985
 
Tall Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,173
make sure you have the latest directx version installed.

try running the game in 16bit color mode.

see if that works first.

Tall Guy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2002, 06:57 AM   #3
blueangel4xtc
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: italy
Posts: 6
the directx version is 8.1b... i also tried to play the game in 16 bit and download the patch but it doesn't solve the problem... i think there's nothing i can do....
blueangel4xtc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2002, 04:21 PM   #4
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
More info needed, when you click play what happens? Does absolutely nothing happen or does it start to load the game and then exit?

Try loading the game by running GrimFandango.exe in your Grim folder instead.

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2002, 06:13 PM   #5
blueangel4xtc
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: italy
Posts: 6
When i hit "play GF" button, the launcher disappears and absolutely nothing happens! The game doesn't start... already tried to play GF from the .exe in gf folder but it's the same!!!
blueangel4xtc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2002, 01:53 PM   #6
lucymc
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: England
Posts: 13
I had the same problem! I have XP and only bought GF about a week ago!

You need to right click the mouse on the play GF icon and then select properties, then click on compatibilty up the top right,
then select it to run in compatibility mode for windows 98/ME.
Then tick all the boxes for graphic options underneath, like running it with 256 colours etc!

Hope this helps! :-)
lucymc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2002, 04:15 PM   #7
blueangel4xtc
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: italy
Posts: 6
Unhappy

thanx for the hint but this doesn't work too!
blueangel4xtc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2002, 07:55 AM   #8
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
Try it without the cd in, does it pop up an error message asking for the cd when using the launcher or grimfandango.exe ?

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2002, 08:08 AM   #9
blueangel4xtc
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: italy
Posts: 6
yes it does! it shows this message: "no disc inserted"...
blueangel4xtc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2002, 09:57 AM   #10
jburton
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1
GF on XP

Hi,

I've tried playing GF on XP and am also having trouble. I have tried playing it in the compatibility mode but all I get is the screen just turning black with the occasional flicker back to the desk-top for a split second and does nothing else.


Jon
jburton is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2002, 06:42 AM   #11
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
Until I replicate this, I cant really help any of you. For the record what graphics card do you have blueangel4xtc and jburton. Other info on your system spec would be useful too.

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2002, 11:30 AM   #12
blueangel4xtc
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: italy
Posts: 6
i have an Athlon XP 2100+, 256 Mb RAM, a GeForce 4 MX 420 video card with 64 MB ram, 80 GB Hard Disk and my OS is win XP professional... hope this can be useful!
blueangel4xtc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-29-2002, 03:43 AM   #13
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
Hmm, another Nvidia graphics card. Thats the only thing ive been able to narrow it down to. Everyone ive spoken to whos had this problem in 2K or XP seems to have an Nvidia card. Unfortunately I cant really help, since I have a Radeon

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-17-2003, 08:23 AM   #14
Soiledslacks
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
I have a Pentium4 3Ghz, 512Mb RDRAM,GeForce4 ti4600 128Mb, DirectX 9.

I get to the bit where u get in the car and drive to the poisoning and at the end of the cinematic it just returns to windows, also every few minutes or so the sound hangs. It just makes an awful repetetive noise of the last sound it was making as it crashed, i have to save quit game and load GF again to get my sound back :S and yes i have the patch

Last edited by Soiledslacks; 02-08-2003 at 03:26 PM.
Soiledslacks is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-08-2003, 03:25 PM   #15
Soiledslacks
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
well..........
Soiledslacks is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-11-2003, 07:27 AM   #16
ZaXeriaw
The cake is a lie!
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 256
...and it's installed correct? With all the *.lab-files?


What'd **** !?!?
ZaXeriaw is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-11-2003, 12:15 PM   #17
Soiledslacks
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
yes
Soiledslacks is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2003, 01:20 PM   #18
Super
Lurker
 
Super's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 7
I believe the problem lays in DirectX 8.1

Here is an e-mail which we recieved:

I managed to get both sound and text going in the cutscenes, after having neither since installing (and re-installing) the game and the patch umpteen times!

It was - surprise oh gee what a surprise - a DIRECTX problem.

DirectX 8.1 DOES NOT WORK WITH GRIM FANDANGO!! It just DOESN'T. This despite MS's claims of "backward compatibility" oh yeah right.

DX 8.1 will allow neither sound nor text in the cutscenes (text installed from the GFUPDATE patch of course).

The solution was (with GF installed and the GFUPDATE patch):

Remove DirectX 8.1 (I used the DXRemove.inf file that Russian dude wrote, its findable on any search engine. This is easier than reinstalling 'doze.)

Install DirectX 7.0a - this was the last version I believe before they made sweeping changes to the DX API.

(At this point had sound but it was very broken up in cutscenes and in the game).

Reinstall sound drivers.

Make sure sound devices in Control Panel -> System -> Devices had DirectSound ON.

Make sure using dxdiag that Direct3D was Enabled so that the hardware video acceleration could work.


Then it worked like a charm!


Huh? Wha? Where am I?
Super is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2003, 04:32 PM   #19
Soiledslacks
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
I have DirectX 9 and im definately not going back to DX 7, i have graphics intensive games that depend on it. I think its up to lucasarts to release some kind of patch if that IS the problem
Soiledslacks is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2003, 04:34 PM   #20
bgbennyboy
Festively Plump
 
bgbennyboy's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,984
LFN Staff Member 
Its also worth noting that XP comes with dx 8.1 and so cant be downgraded.

bgbennyboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Grim Fandango Discussion > General Forums > Glottis' Garage > GF on windows XP

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:29 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.