lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: how easy is it to skin>
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-17-2002, 11:19 AM   #1
slimking
 
slimking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hampshire UK
Posts: 127
how easy is it to skin>

i was thinking of trying it? i duno where to start?


"For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son" - John 3:16
slimking is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-17-2002, 02:25 PM   #2
Matt-Liell
Long Haired Freaky Person
 
Matt-Liell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sitting in the back of My VW Microbus - In the Great White North
Posts: 2,646
get Pakscape, notepad and any painting program i.e. paint shop pro 7, adobe photoshop and get a tutorial and you'll be ready to go!


A Native Swampie!


Matt-Liell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2002, 12:23 PM   #3
slimking
 
slimking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hampshire UK
Posts: 127
ok i have paint shop pro 7 and a rocking fast PC, i just need a tutorial


"For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son" - John 3:16
slimking is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-31-2002, 06:25 PM   #4
boinga1
Pimpin' ain't easy
 
boinga1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,931
skinning is easy in principle, but to make superb skins like neomarz...probably not easy.
boinga1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-31-2002, 06:33 PM   #5
Pnut_Man
Existential to the Core
 
Pnut_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 1,061
I got into skinning last month, took me about 2 days to get familiar with the basics..

Best tutorial (in my opinion :P)

http://www.theforce.net/games/jo/skinning.shtml




- Formally hated, praised, and known as Pnut_Man
Pnut_Man is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-19-2003, 08:22 PM   #6
jp-30
 
jp-30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 968
The International House of Mojo Staff 
You like my tutorial, huh?



If you need anything in that tutorial clarified, there are links to the thread where I first posted it linked at the end of each section.

It was written for the absolute beginner, and "holds your hand" right the way through...
jp-30 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2003, 02:15 PM   #7
Classic Luke
 
Classic Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 74
Your Tutorial huh :)

I read that tutorial and it helped me the most out of the numerous tutorials I've read. Layering certainly makes a world of difference, however, I am unclear as to the 'ramp up and ramp down' parts of paint shop pro. Any added explanation would be appreciated greatly. Thank-you for your time.
Classic Luke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2003, 03:25 PM   #8
jp-30
 
jp-30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 968
The International House of Mojo Staff 
I've never used the ramp up / down features in PSP, to be honest.

What it does though, is allows a layer's transparency to not be uniform over the whole layer, but to depend on certain values - ie colour or brightness.

Say you had an image of a sleeve, and also a red-green checkerboard image on a new layer above it, you can use ramping to make just the green component of the top layer transparent, while leaving the red parts opaque.

Or you can set the green transparency level to a different see-throughness value to the red.

ie - you're ramping up (or down) the transparency of certain pixels depending on different parameters (colour / brightness etc...)
jp-30 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2003, 02:33 AM   #9
Classic Luke
 
Classic Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 74
Thank -you for the reply friend

Thank-you much friend for your reply. The thing that really confused me was the arrows, one on top and one on the bottom, which are found on those ramp up/down adjustments.
Classic Luke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 11:58 AM   #10
__CKY__
 
__CKY__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Darkest Depths of hell
Posts: 502
I Keep getting an error about not have a _humanoid mesh or something when i try to open Prisoner in Mod View =/
__CKY__ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 12:00 PM   #11
__CKY__
 
__CKY__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Darkest Depths of hell
Posts: 502
Or any others =/ Can anyone help me with that?
__CKY__ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 04:03 PM   #12
jp-30
 
jp-30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 968
The International House of Mojo Staff 
From this tutorial; http://www.jediknightii.net/edit_mpskins.shtml


Extract the _humanoid.gla and animation.cfg following the same instructions as above (extract into the GameData/base folder and the files should appear in the directory: GameData/base/models/players/_humanoid - remember to have “use folder names” checked when you extract).


Do you have a GameData/base/models/players/_humanoid directory? If so, what's inside it?





If that doesn't work, there are a few other things to try.

Maybe you haven't properly extracted the assets from the assets0.pk3 file.

Either you didn't extract all the files, or didn't re-create the directory structure properly.

Oh, if I recall correctly there is an issue with the path length of the filenames in certain circumstances. If the first sugestion didn't work, let me know, and we can try a few other things.
jp-30 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 06:26 PM   #13
__CKY__
 
__CKY__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Darkest Depths of hell
Posts: 502
:| Let me go try all that lol.
__CKY__ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 06:31 PM   #14
jp-30
 
jp-30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 968
The International House of Mojo Staff 
I have the feeling once you make a directory

GameData/base/models/players/_humanoid

and extract the relevant files from assets0.pk3 into it, everything will work fine.

jp-30 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 06:50 PM   #15
__CKY__
 
__CKY__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Darkest Depths of hell
Posts: 502
So I have to make a new directory folder in my blah blkah blah folder lol and put in the files in the humanoid thing
__CKY__ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 06:59 PM   #16
__CKY__
 
__CKY__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Darkest Depths of hell
Posts: 502
Um There's already a Humanoid folder in the players folder so should i just reextract everything?
__CKY__ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 07:12 PM   #17
__CKY__
 
__CKY__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Darkest Depths of hell
Posts: 502
Bah im not smart enough for this lol
__CKY__ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 07:24 PM   #18
jp-30
 
jp-30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 968
The International House of Mojo Staff 
What files are in your \_humanoid\ subdirectory?

Also, what is the full path of your \models\players\ subdirectory?

ie.

C:\Program Files\Lucasarts\Jedi Knight ii Jedi Outcast\base\models\players\

Something like that?
jp-30 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 07:42 PM   #19
__CKY__
 
__CKY__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Darkest Depths of hell
Posts: 502
umm hmmmmm let me see if i can find them.
__CKY__ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 08:15 PM   #20
__CKY__
 
__CKY__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Darkest Depths of hell
Posts: 502
C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\players

Humanoid files are:_Humanoid.gla and Animation.cfg
__CKY__ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 08:16 PM   #21
__CKY__
 
__CKY__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Darkest Depths of hell
Posts: 502
C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\players

Humanoid files are:_Humanoid.gla and Animation.cfg
__CKY__ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 08:26 PM   #22
jp-30
 
jp-30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 968
The International House of Mojo Staff 
Hmm. All looks to be in order.

You've got me beat.

What's your exact error message Modview is giving you? It happens on ALL the models you're trying to examine right?


// confused //

EDIT: I'm away from my home PC at the moment, but I'm wondering if there shouldn't be a further \models\ subdir in there somewhere. But even still, I dunno who Modview would be so picky about the directory structure...??
jp-30 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 09:12 PM   #23
Some 1 guy
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 7
I used jp-30's tutorial a week ago, and it really helped me. Here are all of the skins I made, thnx to jp-30's tutorial: http://www.geocities.com/donkeydude84/




The Lightsaber is my Shield and the Force is my Tool.

Form III learner
My Site: Yarael Poof's site. You can also get my skins here.
Skin: Yarael Poof Model

Zone Name: JO_Yarael_Poof
Fomer name: Plo Koon & Anakin Solo
Former Zone name: _PloK00N__ & _AnakinSolo
E-mail: hoot_rules@hotmail.com
Some 1 guy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 09:18 PM   #24
jp-30
 
jp-30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 968
The International House of Mojo Staff 
LOL.

Your "Jedi Pilot" bears more than a passing resemblance to the "New Republic Pilot" that I used as the example throughout the tutorial!



Nice work...
jp-30 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 09:25 PM   #25
__CKY__
 
__CKY__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Darkest Depths of hell
Posts: 502
R_LoadMDXM: missing animation file models/players/_humanoid/_humanoid for mesh model.glm is what it says
__CKY__ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 09:33 PM   #26
jp-30
 
jp-30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 968
The International House of Mojo Staff 
Hmm. As I thought a little earlier.

Modview is looking for a file in;

models/players/_humanoid/_humanoid

But according to you, you extracted everything to

C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\players\

No \models\ subdirectory.


What you need to do is make a new folder off

\gamedata\base\ called \models\

then copy or drag your \players\ directory into your new

C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\models\

directory.

So you will hen have a tree that looks like this;

C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\models\players\

and in that \players\ directory will be \_humanoid\ , \prisoner\ , \luke\ , \jan\ etc...



Fingers crossed that this works!
jp-30 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 09:41 PM   #27
__CKY__
 
__CKY__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Darkest Depths of hell
Posts: 502
Holy Jesus that is alot of stuff
__CKY__ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 09:45 PM   #28
__CKY__
 
__CKY__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Darkest Depths of hell
Posts: 502
Do you have MSN or soemthing Forums keeps non loading on me if you do add CE_JediSith@msn.com to ur thing
__CKY__ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 09:47 PM   #29
jp-30
 
jp-30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 968
The International House of Mojo Staff 
No it's not!

It's making a new directory, and copying an existing directory into it.

How hard can that be?


Anyway, very first section of the tutorial clearly says to make the \models\ subdirectory.

http://www.theforce.net/games/jo/skinning_1.shtml

Quote:
Make a subdirectory off C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\ called models C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\models

Launch your UNZIPPING program. I suggest using pakscape, as you'll need to be familiar with this program later when you complile your skin.

Click "open" (in the file menu, or the open folder icon)

Click through your directory structure until you get to this directory; C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\
Find the file

assets0.pk3
(etc...)
jp-30 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 09:48 PM   #30
__CKY__
 
__CKY__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Darkest Depths of hell
Posts: 502
so is C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\models\players\_humanoid correct? the humanoid thing is emtpy though lol
__CKY__ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-02-2003, 10:02 PM   #31
__CKY__
 
__CKY__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Darkest Depths of hell
Posts: 502
YAY It worked thanks alot dude i owe you big time for all your help You are the 0wner of uber 0wnage lol thank you so much
__CKY__ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-03-2003, 02:29 PM   #32
Some 1 guy
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 7
It's supposed to jp. I made it while reading your tutorial. I had no idea so I made that. The other skins I made though were requests by friends.




The Lightsaber is my Shield and the Force is my Tool.

Form III learner
My Site: Yarael Poof's site. You can also get my skins here.
Skin: Yarael Poof Model

Zone Name: JO_Yarael_Poof
Fomer name: Plo Koon & Anakin Solo
Former Zone name: _PloK00N__ & _AnakinSolo
E-mail: hoot_rules@hotmail.com
Some 1 guy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-04-2003, 06:37 PM   #33
__CKY__
 
__CKY__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Darkest Depths of hell
Posts: 502
May I ask when week 5 is coming out
__CKY__ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-04-2003, 10:12 PM   #34
__CKY__
 
__CKY__'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Darkest Depths of hell
Posts: 502
Is it possible to put a pic of perosns face on a Skin i get off the internet? Cause I wanna make Shagrath from Dimmu Borgir and i found a awesome pic of his face but i dont knwo if its possible to put it on my skin.
__CKY__ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-06-2003, 08:24 PM   #35
jp-30
 
jp-30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 968
The International House of Mojo Staff 
> May I ask when week 5 is coming out

I've finished the tutorial. Week 5 has been up for a month or so. Maybe you have a caching issue.

Anyway, here's a direct link.

http://www.theforce.net/games/jo/skinning_5.shtml



As for photos, yeah, piece of cake. Just paste them on a new layer over the existing face image, and stretch the photo so the eyes and nose & mouth line up.

In reality it's never that easy, due to shadows on the photo, crooked angles etc, and you have to blend the photo edges into the face below & match colours... but you can get a pretty good likeness with a little trial and error.
jp-30 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > Showcase forum > Skinning > how easy is it to skin>

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:27 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.