lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar
View Poll Results: Is Quake 3 Arena the right engine for the job?
Yes! 24 63.16%
No! 14 36.84%
Voters: 38. You may not vote on this poll


Thread: Is Q3A the right engine?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-04-2003, 07:35 PM   #1
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Is Q3A the right engine?

A lot of people are worried that the limitations of the Quake3 Arena engine are too numerous for a "new" game. For example, the graphics are starting to appear a tad dated (comparatively), and Q3A doesn't like huge outdoor areas all that well (I build City of the Ancients, I know ), which could mean that we might miss out on some awesome planetside battles. I know Q3A can be expanded upon (hey, they got a lightsaber in...and EF2 is supposed to feature models with more points of articulation, etc), but...well, what do you think, should they have gone with another engine, or even built their own? I wouldn't have minded waiting another few months if the game at the end was worth it. Is this going to come across as "JK2 in different colors," or what?


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2003, 07:43 PM   #2
CanadianSurfer
 
CanadianSurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 140
Yes it is the right engine.


CanadianSurfer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2003, 09:12 PM   #3
greedo626
Into this "Goth" thing
 
greedo626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The world sucks. It's not even worth dying. I'll just rot in my own misery. I'm incapable of feeling happiness.
Posts: 2,152
I can't think of any other engines right now so I think it's fine


Am I still here?... meh...
greedo626 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2003, 09:48 PM   #4
Taos
Jedi Council Member
 
Taos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Puget Sound, Wa
Posts: 5,725
Current Game: ToR beta & Kotor
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Well, I think it is.......if we want the game to come out this quickly.

Now I've heard something about a Q4 engine in the works......*shrugs* It's inevitable I guess......

Taos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2003, 10:04 PM   #5
Jedi Apprentice
Fallen
 
Jedi Apprentice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SWK Forums, EB and JAF
Posts: 1,323
It did the job for JO and they said for Jedi Academy they did heavy modifications to the engine so I have no doubt it will handle the job great.


WWJD
Video Game Central---Administrator
StarWarsKnights.com
EchoBase Network--News Poster

This do in remeberance of Burrie:
Jedi Apprentice is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2003, 10:14 PM   #6
master_thomas
 
master_thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Is this safe to answer?
Posts: 536
Like Outcast, like "sequel" (though it's not completely a sequel. Katarn is not the main character as you all know)(suggestions for replacement of "Outcast" in that phrase are welcome ). It is the right thing. JK2 was a modified Q3A and so should it's sequel.

I think I heard they helped the engine ease it's problem with big, open, spaces.

About the rest of the series, which I heard Lucasfilm registered sites for (JKIV.com JKV.com), I dunno.


Glow achieved 3/23/03 at 3:20 without any donations.

Current WIP: The Attack on Yavin series.

"Homer Simpson: 'Don't ever say that! Stupid risks make life worth while. Now, you mother is more stable and that's okay in small doses, but I'm always taking stupid risks. That's why I have so many adventures. Now what do you want to do?'

Lisa: 'Well, I would like to go to the museum, but it's closed.'

Homer: 'So breaking in would be a pretty stupid risk. What do ya say, honey? Feeling stupid?"
"Thomas" on MP
master_thomas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2003, 02:29 AM   #7
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
I believe that for what they are doing for the mean-time, the Q3A engine will suffice since they have been able to really find out what the engine can handle out in the modding world, and allows them to tweak it more to their liking, as well as ours. Hopefully though with the success of D3 and UT2k3, a new improved engine will be considered for the future of Jedi Knight series.


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2003, 02:50 AM   #8
HertogJan
Beer is good for you!
 
HertogJan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,583
Yeah the engine is fine:

- They know the engine very well now, so do the modders
- You can port JKII skins/mods/maps etc. easily
- The engine is heavily tweaked, screens look good
- This way, it can be released very soon, I believe the release date of fall 2003 will be met!

But the next JK game should be on the doom III engine, that'll look GREAT!! (even greater than JA)


HertogJan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2003, 05:27 AM   #9
lassev
cryptoscripter
 
lassev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,087
It's no doubt understandable that a few modders and other people who know the Q3A engine very well are a little bit conservative, and are naturally afraid that some of their vast knowledge will go to waste if the engine changes. However, in the big game of evolution to stop changing is the same as dying out.
lassev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2003, 06:41 AM   #10
Darklighter
Bliss Ninny
 
Darklighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Englandland
Posts: 4,507
Current Game: Uncharted 3
10 year veteran! LFN Staff Member 
When it came to making JKII, if I remember correctly, there was some deliberation about whether the Q3 engine would be the right one to use, and look how that turned out: one of the best looking games ever made, IMO (for that time). I think they will have to push the graphics of this game to the very limits, and make absolutely full use of the Q3 engine. It'll be okay, I have faith in LucasArts


"Yeah no one likes a smart ass, but we all like stars,
But that wasn't my intention, I did it for a reason..."
Darklighter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2003, 06:51 AM   #11
Hekx
Republic Mofo
 
Hekx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Where?
Posts: 3,304
Hot Topic Starter 
If most JKII files are compatible with the game, then yes.
I personally like the engine. Since I know how it works and tweak commands.
I don't really want to re-learn an entirely new engine.
So, yes, stick with the good old Q3 engine with funny bots.
Hekx is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2003, 06:56 AM   #12
Proto
 
Proto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Poland
Posts: 116
I think it depends on the scale of improvements to engine. In JO we had some great ones like the saber system, GHOUL 2, all the Force stuff, Icarus, but unfortunatelly the graphical aspects were practically intact. To be honest there were some minor improvements, developed by Raven for Elite Force or SOF2 but still the major flaws of Q3 engine wasn't dealt with. I'm refering to complete lack of dynamic lighting and some outdoor improvements like distance clipping using fog (AFAIK something like this was used in Medal of Honor). Now we'll get some new terrain system from SoF2, which is great and I hope it'll do.
But still, the lack of dynamic lighting (I know, it's hard to fix concerning the need of complete rebuild of the renderer) is the main problem.

Anyway all I want is much bigger scale of the levels. I think the map achitecture was the main problem in JO, and the reason why I still prefer JK and MotS single player to JO's one. Which doesn't mean that JO wasn't great .
Proto is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2003, 07:23 AM   #13
T-Dogg
 
T-Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 181
It sure is the right engine. Raven's got a lot of experience on working with the engine and they know it inside and out by now. They know how to make it work right and look good at the same time. Sure, some newer engine would make the graphics nicer, but learning to work with that engine would take a lot more time than just a few months (some new Unreal or Doom engine weren't made with lightsabers in mind, you know. I know, neither was the Q3 engine, but now that Raven got lightsabers to work in it, why change it?) Besides, gameplay is the key-issue, not some fancy moster with way too much bump-mapping.
T-Dogg is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2003, 07:42 AM   #14
leXX
Forum Mum
 
leXX's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9,200
10 year veteran! Hot Topic Starter LF Jester LFN Staff Member 
There is absolutely nothing wrong with the Q3 engine imo. Worked fine for JK2 and with all the improvements they are making to it, I'm sure it will work fine for JA too.


Being human totally sucks most of the time.
Videogames are the only thing that
make life bearable.
- Anorak's Almanac, Chapter 91, Verses 1-2

Add me on: XBL | PSN | Last.fm | Steam
leXX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2003, 08:24 AM   #15
Agen
The Spoon Guy
 
Agen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: A house
Posts: 5,216
Like, i've said before, the older the engine the more people have access to it meaning a bigger community.
It didn't do jk2 any harm and i don't really bother much about eye candy.
Agen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2003, 08:47 AM   #16
Bilbo Skywalker
 
Bilbo Skywalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Mid
Posts: 703
at least with this engine we can still strafe jump, i think with all the diehard CTF'rs like me it would be sorely missed.


For all your current and upcoming Star Wars needs come too...

[size=big]echonetwork[/size]

Check out my CTF guide for JA Here
Bilbo Skywalker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2003, 10:16 PM   #17
Finalnight
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 12
From what the makers are saying, they are probably gonna go back after JA and make a real JKIII with the DIII/QIV engine. COME ON...WE WANT RAGDOLL TECH!
Finalnight is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2003, 05:45 PM   #18
Silent_Thunder
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere Out There...
Posts: 439
Well... They were able to add lightsaber combat into it... and pretty complex lightsaber system at that. judging by that alone, it seems to me they can make pretty much anything they want out of the Q3 engine... I'm just worried about the things they don't change.

Maybe it's just the way they made the game... maybe they wanted to make it that way, but JO just seemed to be lacking in certain aspects... which I (falsely?) acuse the Q3 engine of. I think the physics seems totally off. The way lasers connect with their target just feels wierd. Too many hits are missed, even when it appears that a laser struck the target dead on. Especially when firing with a fast weapon. Second, everything just feels kind of "floaty". What I mean is, when you run, or strafe you seem to glide for a bit after releasing the key. I'm sure everyone notices it when they strafe in third person. Next, the movement physics seem to not be too flexible. I wish I could make a more concrete acustation, but I can't. In JK1 I felt like I could manuvier in much more fluid ways... in JKII (the force jump covers this up a bit) I feel like if I can't reach a certain the first time, I'll never reach it no matter what I try. Lastly, the physics engine in JO seemed very primitive. The most we have in terms of manipulating of the environment is in the form of exploding walls, cielings, and boxs that can 'slide' when force pushed. Even Old Obi-Wan for the PC was going to have a very advanced physics engine. Heck, even JK1 had better physics with 'force debris'.

I don't know... I just hope JA is the last game in the Dark Forces/Jedi Knight series to use an engine that isn't homemade.
Silent_Thunder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2003, 05:53 PM   #19
Agen
The Spoon Guy
 
Agen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: A house
Posts: 5,216
yeh, JK used the xwing engine for physics but it actually made it better physics.
Agen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2003, 06:29 PM   #20
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally posted by Finalnight
From what the makers are saying, they are probably gonna go back after JA and make a real JKIII with the DIII/QIV engine. COME ON...WE WANT RAGDOLL TECH!

With the game at 60% completion and their fall release date, it would devastate the overall opinion for them to have to go back through the game to convert the scripting and and ICARUS to a new engine, plus the Raven team, seeing how well the Q3A engine went, decided to go with it since they better learned what they could do with the engine. However, I do feel that once the Doom3 engine hits the market and Raven possibly can play with it, they might be able to get their hands on it to tweak it for even better gameplay and map designs, and better support overall.


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-06-2003, 06:36 PM   #21
Agen
The Spoon Guy
 
Agen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: A house
Posts: 5,216
I think, that he meant do a jk3 with a kyle katarn to be done with the unreal engine.
If Raven were to do it it would probably be the D3 engine like Andy says since they always use Id's engines it seems.
Agen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Academy > Is Q3A the right engine?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:04 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.