lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Doors...
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-01-2003, 10:58 PM   #1
fattysbox
 
fattysbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 67
Doors...

Maybe a dumb question:

I have two rooms connected by a hallway and two doors. from either room both doors open simultaneously. WHy does this happen, and how can I uncouple them.

As you can tell I am a noob...
fattysbox is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-01-2003, 11:47 PM   #2
bengar
 
bengar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 56
Hi fatty

I suggest checking out Richdiesals tutorials.

Here is the link on the doors.
http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.co...br201lsn5.html


Here is the link for his other tutorials
http://richdiesal.jedioutcastmaps.com/tutorials/
bengar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2003, 01:08 AM   #3
Obsidian-Jovani
 
Obsidian-Jovani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Onderon
Posts: 223
Hmm...

How long is your hall? Maybe both doors open at the same time because the doors are too close together. Jest a thought.


Binary Sunset Studios

WIP: A SP Project entitled "Resurgence"
Obsidian-Jovani is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2003, 01:09 AM   #4
"Atrocious"
 
"Atrocious"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sillyville
Posts: 49
I don't know the answer to your question.
"Atrocious" is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2003, 01:37 AM   #5
fattysbox
 
fattysbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 67
Yeah, they are pretty far apart. About 500 grid untis...

Oh well, since Im kinda new at mapping, is there a forum where noobster-type questions can be answered?

Did the Rich Diesel tutorial, but he does not explain things well. Such as lip key. What values represent what? I know I got some Z-fighting cause my map looks like ****e. Arrgghh, cant wait to get good... Kinda like learning the DFA... Get your ass kicked for a while but then slowly you end up doin' the ownage!!

Thanks anyways fellas!

Jay
fattysbox is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2003, 10:34 AM   #6
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Hmm...

Didn't you select the two doors at once when you made them into func_door accidentally? Easy to check: select one of the doors. If the other door becomes selected too, then you made ONE door only in real. In this case press right mouse button, select Ungroup Entity, then remake the doors one by one.

Or perhaps your doors have the same targetname so the trigger opens both of them.

Lip
Normally a door will move as many units as it's width in the direction of the movement. So if your door is 100 units wide then it will move 100 units when opens. The lip value tells the door how many grid units it has to "leave visible". The defualt lip value is 8, so the door will move only 100-8=92 units.

If you give the door a bigger lip value it will move less. If you give it a lip value bigger than the width of the door then it will move towards the opposite direction. You can use negative values for lip of course.

Playing with lip makes the func_door more powerful than it is for the first sight. You can make even elevators and horizontally moving platforms with func_doors if you want.


Btw. I think this is the forum where you will get answer for almost any (including noob) question.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2003, 11:04 AM   #7
Mix_Master2k
 
Mix_Master2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: [OmNi]
Posts: 182
also too, if they are double doors, and you entered a "team" value, that you don't have the same value for both of the doors. I.e, if you have they key team and value 1 for both of them, they will open at the same time. So one set of doors will have "Team : 1" and the other set of doors would have "Team : 2"
-Mix Master


______________________________
I see your Shwartz is as big as mine...
Mix_Master2k is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2003, 01:35 PM   #8
fattysbox
 
fattysbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 67
And the winner is Mix Master...

Yeah checked my doors all were set as Team = 1, reset it and it worked great

As for the Lip Leslie, thanks for explaining it. That makes much more sense now.

More noob type questions will pop up from me - JKRadiant is a great program for designing levels - the less user-friendly the more sophisticated...

Here is a general question(s): Will JK always use a Q3A engine and are there other engines out there? Does anybody know any resources that describes different engines?


Thanks again fellas
fattysbox is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2003, 09:35 PM   #9
Fragmaster-B
 
Fragmaster-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 51
Leslie Judge and mix master
i just wanted to say ty for that explanation ... learned alot ..


Age is a very high price to pay for my maturity. If I can't stay young, I can at least stay immature!
Fragmaster-B is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Doors...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:59 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.